We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub with good live music”
Review of Ivanhoe hotel

Ivanhoe hotel
Ranked #36 of 302 Restaurants in Manly
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Manly
Description: The Ivanhoe Hotel, a much-loved local pub, is located in the heart of The Corso in Manly on Sydney's Northern Beaches. Offering a refreshing, timeless and sophisticated setting, The Ivanhoe Hotel has a strong emphasis on food, quality and produce. Behind the magnificent heritage facade, The Ivanhoe Hotel's interiors channel a Hamptons-inspired coastal beach vibe while retaining the welcoming and relaxed atmosphere of Manly and a local pub. Boasting 16 indoor and outdoor, relaxed all-weather spaces over three floors, including two of Sydney's most impressive rooftop bars, The Ivanhoe Hotel's spaces are perfect for lunch, dinner, drinks or a night out on the town. The variety of different areas throughout the pub allow guests to tailor their own experiences; whether it is casual large lunches with the whole family, afternoon cocktails in the sun with friends in one of the open-air courtyards, quiet corners for a quick bite to eat or late night celebrations in the surf clubhouse-style second floor bar and open-air rooftop, The Pines. These spaces are also perfect function spots for intimate groups right up to large events of 900 guests. The Ivanhoe Hotel is also home to a boutique bottle shop as well as a dedicated sports bar, situated next door to the main pub, offering one of Sydney's best venues for watching sport with full TAB facilities.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Pub with good live music”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fully renovated pub, great atmosphere and sat night was live music on the ground floor, got to watch a great live band Kotahi Groove there this last sat night. Lots of good music and dancing

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binny111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    119
    24
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great on offering”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a 2 day weekend in Manly with my partner and stumbled across this renovated pub on the Friday eve. A tasteful renovation has resulted in a pub that was nice to enjoy a drink or two in. There are several spaces to enjoy. Actually was that impressed we returned the following eve to watch the waratah's game, have a bite to eat and to stay on to listen to the live music. Food was nice and fresh, and we had a great eve listening and dancing to the band.

Helpful?
1 Thank CazG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Much improved, however still just another pub meal”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A group of us recently had lunch at the Ivanhoe recently.... The new modern decore is great... much improved from the old grotty pub of old... and this certainly seems to attract more customers now.
Outdoor seating is available, however, the verandah or side patio area not great in winter, as far too cold to sit there, as limited sunshine there....especially if eating as food gets cold too quickly.
The food was really like a lot of pubs in SYDNEY.... Plenty of it, but nobody in our group was bowled over by the quality.... my steak was not a very good piece of meat... I hate fat and grissel in my meat. The dished are larger, so there is plenty.... prices, same as most pubs and clubs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gro05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I came to the Ivanhoe with four friends, it was 8:50 so we had to order from the late night menu. One of the guests ordered a burger with chips and pizza. 15 minutes later one of the bar staff came over and said we have closed the grill and are only serving pizza even though the menu stated burgers and pizzas till 11pm. He then said I can give you a small pizza or you will have to pay for a medium or a large, even though it was their mistake and had been a substantial amount of time before they came over to notify about their grill being closed.
So after paying the difference we had to wait another 20 minutes after our other two friends meals came out because of their mistake. The pizzas were not very good at all. None of us will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouagadougou
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Takeaway with style and great flavour”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

After checking out the offerings along the Corso and wanting something more than a burger in keeping with the holiday theme I chose a Moroccan lamb pizza (also available in a burger), chips (seasoned nicely) and a green salad. It was so good I made a special trip another day just to have it again. The other offerings were also intriguing ... maybe next time! Takeaway was significantly cheaper than eating in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Polinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ivanhoe hotel also viewed

 
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Ivanhoe hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing