We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up our street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We visited Q-Station for one night in October and really enjoyed our stay. We have glamped at Cockatoo Island where we got a taste for Sydney's historical harbour stays so went looking for a similar experience and weren't disappointed.

Pros:
We took a lovely harbour view room with a separate but private bathroom which didn't bother us. We loved the big, shared verandah and the guest lounge.

It's difficult to find a hotel that sleeps 2 adults and 2 kids without added costs, but the kids were able to sleep on the sofa bed in the suite which is in a separate room to the bedroom.

The kids loved the grounds and the beach is lovely. If you can't handle the stairs back from the beach you can order a shuttle bus although when we were there it took a long time to arrive after it was ordered. We also didn't mind making our way up the stairs.

The history of the place is evident everywhere which appeals to us.

The location is simply beautiful.

Cons:
We didn't like the awful pictures on the shuttle bus windows of ghosts and creepy looking people as we couldn't see the grounds as we drove through them. We didn't take the ghost tours as doesn't make me feel comfortable when a money is made out of the misery of others. I wouldn't mind if it was sold as an historical night tour.

Some of the drivers who are allowed into the area drove around at great speeds, almost hitting me and the kids on the way around a blind corner with his music blasting so loudly he didn't hear us yell. What a shame to allow this when it's otherwise such a peaceful place and where you'd hope kids could run around freely. I think they need to sort this out.

It would be great if breakfast was included in the cost - you have to pay extra for this. Does it really cost that much to put on a simple breakfast for all guests to enjoy?

To summarize: We really loved staying here and in fact are returning soon for 2 nights with our guests from abroad so obviously we would recommend it to everyone young and old. This time rather than driving we will take the ferry on the Eco Hopper from Watson's bay which goes via Manly. When we check out we'll take the kids to Manly waterworks slides and the aquarium. Last time we did a lovely walk in the national park and the walk from Manly to Shelly beach is also worthwhile if you have extra time.

Come and enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view suite. Some have amazing views but we chose the room closest to the beach sta...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotdog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
There are newer reviews for Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

712 - 718 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

I had a recent stay at Q station and It's my second time staying there and my friends 3rd time. While it is a ferry ride to circular quay it feels a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of the city. I stayed in a room alone and although I was at the back of a building and surrounded by nature I felt very safe as a female traveller.
The staff are fantastic and very helpful. The breakfast buffet is delish. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying there to anyone even though there was a lot of business folk there at the time.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms near the dining hall with the view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammileetovanuatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I was here for work, and was really impressed by how well appointed the rooms were and how warm and friendly the staff were. I would definitely recommend Q Station to small groups who are looking to have a meeting away from the office. I was in room P7 and it was lovely. I enjoyed my cup of tea each morning looking out over the harbour!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front so you have uninterupted harbour views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IWG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Didn't happen
We turned up early as advised to look around..Waited around for 4 hrs.Told the
information centre would be open but no. Found out later there was no guide to do the tour. So we were told to go home .....sorry so went home. Not good enough!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank SusanCanham
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 December 2013

With a week-end of activities in Sydney planned I chose Q Station as alternative to staying in another soul-less CBD hotel room.
As a two night stay I was able to use my Accor "complimentary" $20 night.
Check in was quick & pleasant with discounted breakfast offered and a Ghost Tour book for that night.
Park & shuttle bus due to location in a National Park works quite well.
Pleasant dinner in the Boatshed Restaurant. Breakfast at usual Accor standard.
Historic room was clean and well appointed bathroom large and clean.
However some sound transmitted from adjoining rooms is an issue to be accepted given the nature of the facility.
Overall a great week-end.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My family (2 adults - 2 kids) spent 3 night at Q Station and had a ball. Our room was very nice and clean. The kids really enjoyed being able to walk around and explore the property. The kids also loved the bus ride from the car park to our room. We found the staff very friendly. We didn't have a " harbour view" room but didn't have to go very far to see it. They have done a great job restoring these old buildings, wouldn't want to stay in the heat of the summer with no aircon but it was ok when we were there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
696 reviews
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,278 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel

Address: 1 North Head Scenic Dr, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manly
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manly
Price Range: £81 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on North Head at Manly, Q Station offers unparalleled sweeping views of Sydney Harbour from Manly back towards the City and South Head. With over 70 buildings spread across 33 hectares, bring your walking shoes with you. We offer a shuttle service on site as no private vehicles are given access - so leave your vehicle at our carpark, jump on board and relax. Whilst here we'd recommend that you visit our Luggage Store Visitor Centre Cafe & Museum, as well as the Boilerhouse Harbourside Restaurant & Bar - both areas are very popular here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q Station Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing