We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silence near the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mezwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zac H, General Manager at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were really disappointed with the Q Station having booked a week stay as part of our long trip to Oz.

Our room was in a block that was miles away from the beach, laundry, bar and restaurant which meant many trips on the shuttle bus to be able to get anything done as there are no cars on site and it was quite a walk to get anywhere. Unlike a normal hotel the opening times of the bar and restaurant are fairly restricted and its a quite a complicated business getting back into Manly. As we arrived late at night it meant we couldn't get anything to eat or drink.

The rooms themselves were very bleak and apart from a nice bed were furnished to really basic standard (it resembled the minimum you might get in student halls). We found it all rather depressing. Additionally the balcony wasn't private and provided the main way for everyone to get to and from their rooms and bathrooms - more like an external corridor in effect. The whole thing reminded me of going to a holiday camp when I was little. Very grim.

Additionally the Q Station is a long way from Manly - too far for a regular walk - up a long, quite steep and ugly road.

The staff were helpful and refunded us our money after one night without any bother. We moved to the Novotel on Manly beach which wasn't any dearer, was right in the middle of everything (ferry, restaurants etc) and was much more fun.

We were really disappointed with the Q Station as we were looking forward to its unique history etc but we really thought it was over priced and mis-sold. I wouldn't recommend it at all.

& I think this is the first negative review we have ever written!

Room Tip: I think our message is be very careful which rooms you book - although the website doesn't diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coxmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac H, General Manager at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Coxmorton,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Q Station Manly. I am very sorry for the experience that you encountered during your stay.

Needless to say, this is an unacceptable occurrence that we take very seriously and I will most certainly address accordingly.

I would greatly appreciate it if you could please email me directly at H8773-GM@accor.com so that I can investigate the incident further.

Once again, thank you for your honest feedback, and I apologise for the experience that you encountered.

Kind Regards,

Zac Hope
General Manager
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park – Manly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have stayed here two times now, are planning a night this weekend and have just bought the scoopon voucher for a fourth trip for our anniversary. We have to wait for a special to afford the stay. We love q station, it's a lovely quiet get away at a very small distance from home making it an ideal one or two night escape for busy Sydney siders. It's a delight to enjoy the quiet and the views. On our first trip we enjoyed a room with a lounge room, and ate at the restaurant. It was tasty then but expensive. Last time we had pizza in our room. Both times we enjoyed the choice of in house movies. Breakfast is convenient and decent. The walk up to north heads in lovely. We will keep coming back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Some venues are better but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesleyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac H, General Manager at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Lesleyau,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Q Station. I also believe that our location is beautiful. Q Station and its surroundings have a lot to offer in the way of just relaxing or activities for the more adventurous.

We look forward to seeing you again at Q Station this weekend.

Kind Regards,

Zac Hope
General Manager
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park - Manly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our 4th visit, our first stay was with a group of friends and we hired the big cottage which without a doubt has the best view. On the two visits in between we reconnoitered the area to find the best rooms for views and we came up with rooms 25,26 and 27. This stay was in 26. All three have uninterupted views from the verandah and rooms, 25 has the bed orientated so that if you wish, you can leave the curtains open and take in the view laying in bed. Both it and 26 have internal bathrooms, 27's is outside but it is only about ten steps away and it is undercover to access. The rooms are clean and so are the bathrooms and the beds are comfy.
We were once agin going to try the Boilerhouse for dinner, we had a pretty negative experience on our first visit, just trying to get a drink, and figured that rude/inefficient staff would have been moved on by now, but read some reviews and it does not appear as though much has changed, so can't review the restaurant once again. You can hop a bus into Manly for a few bucks (the last leaves at 4.58pm on a Saturday) and it's $10 in a cab back, and there are heaps of places to eat and a good variety.
Negatives: I may be getting old but I don't think it a place for babies (or even small children). Especially if the parents way of getting the baby back to sleep is by turning the TV on and the sound up at 2am. Also, staying in Hotels can be a bit of a luxury for some who get up early most days of the week and can allow for a bit of a sleep in, small children riding hard wheeled scooters up and down an old hardwood verandah can really just mess that right up. Not the kids or babies fault, but there are a lot of inconsiderate and self centered parents out there.
This was the first time we had encountered small children staying at the Q Station at it was not a positive.
Buffet Breakfast: Cold. That's about it, all cold, eggs, chippolate's, bacon (cold and hard as a rock) The fruit and yoghurt were nice.
Lastly, one of the best rooms at the Q Station is the former Carpenters Shop, which as well a great view, contains a piano, pool table and some lovely big lounges, it did have a small fridge so you could take some drinks down there and have a few games of pool but the fridge has been removed. We went for a game of pool only to find that all of the pool cues had been vandalised, not one was usable. We just scratch our heads at what type of people come to such a place, steeped in history, beautifully maintained and go into a room with such a great atmosphere just to destroy things. We could be scratching for some time.
This may have been our last visit.

Room Tip: If going just as a couple, rooms 25,26 or 27 have the best view. If you get three couples together g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimberBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac H, General Manager at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear TimberBlueMount,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park - Manly.

Thank you for your wonderful comments and constructive criticism in relation to your stay. All feedback is used as a training tool as we are continually striving to improve the service we provide to all of our guests. Our goal is to put a smile on the faces of our guests every day and it appears that our staff has succeeded in some areas but failed in others which is disappointing.

The rich history here whilst operating as a quarantine station for 150 years has been actively promoted to our Hotel guests today - which is something we are very proud of.

Thank you again for your feedback and continued support of Q Station. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Q Station in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Zac Hope
General Manager
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park – Manly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank AussieFamily4008
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zac H, General Manager at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at Q Station during our recent visit. We were in the block overlooking the Sea. Ask for it.

It was a very quiet and relaxing stay however you need a car to go anywhere. The shuttle bus takes you from the lodging to the reception(or vice versa) and then you have to either take a taxi or your own car to go to town. There is one restaurant at the station which is the only choice not unless you drive into town.

So for a quiet place in the heart of Sydney it is worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inder M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac H, General Manager at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Inder M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park - Manly.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the facilities that Q Station has to offer. I will make sure that I thank all of the team for their continued welcoming and friendly service.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Q Station soon.

Regards,

Zac Hope
General Manager
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park - Manly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Garry A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zac H, General Manager at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
741 reviews
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 181 in Sydney
4,451 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#152 of 181 in Sydney
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel

Address: 1 North Head Scenic Dr, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manly
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manly
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
Price Range: £78 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on North Head at Manly, Q Station offers unparalleled sweeping views of Sydney Harbour from Manly back towards the City and South Head. With over 70 buildings spread across 33 hectares, bring your walking shoes with you. We offer a shuttle service on site as no private vehicles are given access - so leave your vehicle at our carpark, jump on board and relax. Whilst here we'd recommend that you visit our Luggage Store Visitor Centre Cafe & Museum, as well as the Boilerhouse Harbourside Restaurant & Bar - both areas are very popular here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q Station Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing