We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 2014”
Review of The Outback Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Outback Lodge
Ranked #10 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Manly
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed for 5 nights. We received a warm welcome from Bonita who showed us our room. We stayed in the room with double bed and sofa bed, separate kitchen and bathroom with shower.
The room was adequate for myself, my daughter and grandson. Very spacious, gorgeous high ceilings and comfy bed. Very clean, fluffy towels. Full kitchen facilities. Bonita was the only staff member we saw but she was lovely and so helpful. Location excellent, 5 mins to beach, 10 mins from Manly Wharf. Cafés, restaurants shops easy walking distance.
Downside, there are no windows apart from a door which opens onto a storage area and you cannot go outside the door. However for the time of year we were staying it didn't matter as it wasn't too hot. Fan in room anyway. There are laundry and drying facilities on site which is very useful.
Also, even though there are kitchen facilities there's nowhere to eat, the kitchen is big enough for a small breakfast bar which they should consider.
Would we go there again, definitely, loved it. Jacki x

Room Tip: Couldn't rate on pool or fitness facilities as there aren't any at the lodge. Biggest tip, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed eight nights and were very happy with the booking. Brilliant location - three minutes to the beach (walk back in your togs), ten minutes to the main shopping area and ferry, two minutes to Stilitano's dairy just around the corner. Quiet suburban street - we drank our coffee on the front steps and watched the skinks in the sun. Pleasant garden area where you can sit and watch the honey eaters at dusk and then watch the bats fly over. The accommodation is definitely budget accommodation but the bed was super-comfortable, there was abundant hot water and the staff were friendly. And our back unit was very quiet. We were pretty happy with it and will go there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed one night before flying home and paid an extra 15AUD to use a parking permit. On checking in we were asked for credit card details as security for not returning keys or permit which we did the next morning. On checking our bank statement we noticed they had charged us 100AuD on arrival and then charged another 100AUD a few days after we left. We had discussion with the Lodge who at first denied the transaction saying the second was a refund but now agreed but have still only had refunded 100 not 200 AUD. Our argument is that they should not make the charge in the first place before non return of items. So beware of this practice.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzybarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutbacklodge, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Unfortunately, mistakes do happen, however, when we requested from the guest proof that they have been overcharged and they refuse then we certainly are not going to refund them monies back into their bank account just because they threaten us with putting up a bad review - do the right thing, send us copies of your bank statement and credit card details so we can resolve this matter in a dignified manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The scam artists that run this place take $15 off you and give you a Manly Council parking permit. They then direct you to an area behind the buildings and tell you to display the permit in your windscreen and "you'll be fine". No you won't. This is an illegal parking area and you'll be fined $101 every day you're parked there. The rangers love it. The only legal parking is on the street. If you wait about 6 hours you might get one. If you complain to the managers you get A) an aggressive sociopath who won't let you speak, or B) a mild mannered one who pretends that she got booked as well and is going to call the council to have the fine cancelled. The accommodation is rubbish too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutbacklodge, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Anyone who knows the Manly area is well aware that there is just no free parking whatsoever in the area even for the locals. Parking permits are provided to guests for a small fee allowing guests to park anywhere in the designated areas without having to move their vehicle every two hours - if guests do the wrong thing and park in neighbours driveways, parks, foothpaths then beware, you will be fined.
We were advised by Manly Rangers that there is confusion amongst some of their rangers in issuing parking fines - some will turn a blind eye to vehicles parking at the back of The Outback Lodge and others will fine vehicles whether you have a parking permit or not. This is not the responsibility of The Outback Lodge but each guest must show common sense, parking is an issue in Manly for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed at the Outback lodge for three nights with my wife in early 2014. We stayed in an “executive 1 bedroom apartment”, which I think is a ludicrous name for what we stayed in.

1. The photos on the website look absolutely NOTHING like what we stayed in. The photos we looked at when we booked showed a nice clean-looking spacious apartment, what we got was a tiny, dirty apartment.

2. To use wifi you have to sit on the lawn. When I checked in I asked about wifi in my room, this was something I was assured would be possible when I booked, and it was the main reason I booked this place over others. It even still says wifi is available in rooms on their website. “Sorry we’ve changed the way we do wifi, now you need to sit on the lawn” I was told – no apology.

3. On their website one of the features listed for our room was a courtyard, it sounded really nice. It turned out to be a thin lane way with a tall fence on one side and the exterior wall of our apartment on the other. There were a few bins and an old mattress leaned up against the fence and pieces of rubbish lying about. It was awful.

4. There was a clump of someone’s hair left for us in the shower, along with mould.

5. Along with the shower not being clean, the toilet also wasn’t clean, there was a ring of god knows what around the water rim in the toilet bowl.

6. The accommodation is placed on a street that is used by loud drunk people at night. Our heads were literally about 3m away from the footpath while we slept at night. Every person that walked past woke us.

7. It’s also placed on a street with noisy screaming kids during the day. We woke up feeling tired and couldn’t sleep during the day either. It was horrible.

8. Our last night was on a Sunday night, so thankfully there were no noisy drunk people. Instead though there was a breeze that resulted in branches hitting the roof of our apartment loudly every few minutes for about 6 hours.

9. Walls are paper thin too! Imagine being able to hear your neighbours shower conversation clearly, like they’re sitting next to you while you eat your breakfast.

10. It doesn’t feel safe! The dinky lock on the front door just needed a good go over with a screwdriver to open the place up. I didn’t feel comfortable leaving the premises everyday. And there was a perfectly good deadlock on the door which for whatever reason isn’t used.

11. Rubbish and cigarette butts were left right by our front door.

The state of the accommodation, lack of care from staff and misleading information on their website really ruined what could have been a great trip to Manly. I have no doubt that there are much better places to stay in Manly for the same price.

Room Tip: Seriously, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lucas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutbacklodge, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

So sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at The Outback Lodge - most of our properties were built late 1800's and the one you stayed in was built 1915 right on the boundary allowing only a very small pathway down the side of the building - the fence was put in place to provide privacy and security - we have never had any issue with any guest feeling unsafe. We do however, acknowledge that the apartment may not have been cleaned to our standard let alone the guests, due to casual cleaners used at that time due to one of our full time staff members being in hospital. The mattress in question was dumped at the front of our property and this was removed from the street frontage and stored in the courtyard - again we do appreciate this was an eye sore but it was better being stored there than right in front of the property.
The apartment you booked is exactly as the photos show a small 1 bedroom apartment with a seperate bedroom with mirrored built in robe, ensuite bathroom, combined sitting room/kitchenette - we do offer over 20 apartments all different configurations, prices and style - these are clearly shown on our website - we would have gladly upgraded you to a much larger apartment if you had approached us at our office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Good location, found a park for the car OK and staff had ensured that we were able to access our rooms. Good communication re requiring an extra bed. Rooms quite well appointed for the size and cost but could do with a thorough clean especially the shared bathroom - not filthy but not spotless. Unfortunately the fire alarm went off at 6:30 am leading to everyone making lots of noise. If the doors had better locking mechanisms the whole place would be alot quieter.

Room Tip: Don't choose #1 upstairs. Although it has its own bathroon, it is very noisy and light, right ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutbacklodge, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Yes the upstairs apartments have large windows overlooking a beautiful park and trees - so if you like plenty of sunshine, light and a view then book one upstairs otherwise the apartments downstairs are a little more shaded. Noted that the door locks are a little noisy especially when guests slam doors and dont shut them quietly but turning and holding the door handle!!!! Common problem in most hotels, guest houses, however, we will put up some signs to try to prevent this disturbance happening, so appreciate the feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here in May, 2013, and had a great experience. We paid extra for the one bedroom cottage, which I definitely recommend. The cottage is detached from the main lodge house and has its own entrance and small front yard; it is basically a small home that the lodge has procured for its visitors.

My fiancé and I loved it- from the outside, it was very charming, and the inside was just as nice. Clean, hardwood floors- nice, comfortable couches (one two seater, and one three seater) and living room furniture. The bedroom was spacious, and though the bed was a bit old, it was still very comfortable and there were lots of blankets, which was great, as it was a cold night. The full-sized kitchen was well stocked with silverware and dishes and we used the oven, which worked well. There was a TV/DVD player set up in the living room, which was also nice. If I had to nitpick, my only real complaints were the bathroom size (it was quite small and only included a shower, no bath tub) and the fact that there wasn't any sort of table to eat at (we ended up bending over and eating on the coffee table- a bit inconvenient).

The location was also excellent- just a 5 minute walk to the beach and about a 15 minute walk back to the Wharf. There are also plenty of restaurants and convenience stores nearby, as well.

We had a perfect experience here and would definitely stay in the cottage again the next time we are in Manly.

Room Tip: The cottage is worth the extra money if you really care about having a nice room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutbacklodge, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your comments with our readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manly hotels
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Manly
Manly Guest House
Manly Guest House
#2 of 13 in Manly
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outback Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outback Lodge

Address: 5 Smith St | P.O Box 734, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Manly
Price Range: £58 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Outback Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Outback Lodge offers a selection of studio, 1-2 bedroom apartments all with modern ensuite bathrooms and mini kitchens. Also selection of bedsits with mini kitchens and shared bathroom. The lovely "Cottage" is a 1 bedroom cottage house will full kitchen, lounge/dining area, polished timber floors and is most suitable for those wanting something quite special. Short or long stays available, close to beach and transport. We cater for families, mature persons, groups, singles, couples wanting more than back packer style accomodation at an affordable price. Free unlimited Wifi use on the common area, laundry facilities with coin operated washer/dryer and tea/coffee in each apartment. Travelling with your PET then contact us direct as some apartments are pet friendly, additional charges apply and is at discretion of the manager. A number of our apartments are now air conditioned. We can also offer backpacker/student/share accommodation in our newly acquired 2 bedroom apartment on Pittwater Rd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Outback Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing