We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst pub in Sydnye”
Review of Hotel Steyne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Steyne
Ranked #8 of 9 Manly B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is the worst pub in Sydney... horrible service/drinks/ security/atmosphere. The service was horrible, the security were arrogant and rude, the drinks were at a sub standard level compared to the market. It was like they were treating everyone as their joke/toy and it was not a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Worst experience of my life...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank x x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Steyne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

I'll keep this short and to the point. Overpriced. On weekends, no point in trying to sleep until after 3am... Packed to the brim with loud, obnoxious, belligerent drunkards. Note: would be tolerable if you yourself were to be incredibly intoxicated.
Service, non-existant.
Shared amenities. No hot water (on the nights I stayed anyway).
Gaping hole in the roof of the shower cubicle.
Room was tiny... Had to keep window closed as it was unscreened a directly adjacent to busy pub courtyard (rooms look
Great in the pictures mind you).

Fantastic location... Right on the beach.

Tea, coffee, milk available in rooms. Beds were clean and comfy.

Should really halve the nightly fee as I am sure there are cheaper alternatives that are superior.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Prime Location, pity The accomadation side of things is so lacking, almost an afterthought.
Apon check-in The quoted price I'd recieved was promptly ignored, The room itself would have been fine in a backpackers, sparse and clean, but on closer inspection the pillow case's hadn't been changed and had blood from The previous guest. The WC was unmistakablely on the floor, One heard The dripping shower, but it had hot water which other guests informed me was not The norm. The cleaning Lady, when I finally saw her, had to be asked if she could change The bed-sheets, and replace a tiolet roll that had run out 2 days before, She then carried on as though she had been doing this everyday which was clearly not The Truth.
The noise was to be expected, loud, but an ever-changing Duty Manager pointed out The fact that I'd signed a contract which stated this fact two days earlier.
Apon complaining by check-out, The next Duty Manager promised to refund some of the money, 3 week's later still waiting.
Overall very poor and well over priced for what one got, which is very sad, it's a great location and there is so much potential.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcyennik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Visited several times with friends as a handy place to meet. Great location, good selection of drinks and food was sometimes very good to average. They have a specials board which has not always been great value.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I worked at The Steyne Hotel back in the 90s, so booked four nights for sentimental reasons. I stayed one. I knew it would be noisy in a pub ... voices in the beer garden, a jukebox, live music, etc. What I didn't expect was the TAB speakers in the ceiling of the bar below and, consequently, in the floor of the room. Volume was about twice as loud as what you have the TV at home, and NOT the background noise of a bar. This was "Agony's Bay is paying $7.60 for a win in New South Wales, $7.40 in Queensland, $34 for the quinella, and $652 for the trifecta". Until 1am. Absolutely impossible to sleep through. Communal showers offered only a dribble of water. The only good thing I can say is ... when I complained, and there were no others rooms available, they agreed to give me my money back. As sentimental as I was about The Steyne, I think I worked there in her heyday - which was now two decades ago.

Room Tip: Stay at Manly Boardriders instead ... 50m around the corner, much cleaner and quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarolynTimarkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I am aware that this is a very cheap hotel and you generally get what you pay for in these kinds of places, although this was horrible!
My boyfriend has really bad asthma so we asked for a fan in the room because it was so hot although they didn't have one, nor was there any air con so he had to lay in the hall way in order to breathe and get some kind of rest. The window looked into another room which was above the beer garden and was noisy until around 3am, which was to be expected in a pub but i didn't think that we would be situated directly above the noisiest area.
The shower is communal and although you cant see directly through the window, it is right next to some kind of balcony and could be opened quite easily making it very awkward to feel comfortable in the shower.

The only positive is its location.

The accommodation cost $85 for the one night. I have paid less than half that in a Hostel and received better service, accommodation and nights sleep that I did here.

If you're planning to stay here, you have been warned!

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I have never stayed at the Steyne as this was my local pub when I was growing up. I have watched this pub evolve over the years (for the better) and, whenever I am back at home visiting, I always go for a beer or two and sit watching the surf whilst tucking into a nice steak.

Yes, i am slightly biased but you can't beat the location for a drink and a good quality meal if you are ever in Manly. As for the rooms well, read the other reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John_O_28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
Manly Paradise Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Steyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Steyne

Address: 75 The Corso, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manly
Price Range: £56 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Steyne 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple pub accommodation in a simple, seaside pub. Prime location on the corner of the Corso & Manly Beach - Family Rooms / Deluxe Rooms / Pub Rooms / Budget Rooms. Ensuites & Shared Bathrooms + Tea & Coffee Facilities + Corso & Ocean Views + Balconies available. Please keep in mind when booking accommomodation that Hotel Steyne is a busy venue, with live music every Thursday to Sunday & late hours of trade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Steyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing