We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LUV IT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Steyne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Steyne
Ranked #10 of 10 Manly B&B and Inns
AussieTraveller
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“LUV IT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

LUV IT. The Historic Steyne Hotel is a jewel in Manly’s Crown for a most enjoyable experience. Location, Location, Location it doesn’t get any better. We usually come by ferry but last time we drove and the photo shows how we became “Factory Fodder” for Manly Councils predatory “tourist parking revenue” industry.

Room Tip: Remember this is a Historic Hotel so keep things in perspective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KENNY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    18
    19
    13
    21
See reviews for
6
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Could not believe what happened during our stay here.

We had a wedding in Manly, and choices for accommodation were very pretty much non existing so we picked Hotel Steyne, and it was the worst decision ever.

First off, there was no one at the reception to check us in. After waiting for about 20min, I decided to pick up the phone on the table and dialled down to the bar area to get some hotel service. Someone arrived 10min later. Told us that our room has an issue and we can't use the shower and that this was the only room that had this issue. We were able to use the toilet and basin, just not our shower.

At around 2/3am, someone knocked on our door and said it was management, and that they were there because apparently our door wasn't "locked properly" and this alerted them for some reason. Instead of just pulling the door shut, they opened the door and came into our room!!! This was a large invasion of privacy. They had absolutely no right to access our room with us inside, at 2/3am! No excuses. If it was simply just a matter of the door not being locked, then they can lock it themselves. Terrible, terrible

When we complained to the "manager" (same guy who checked us in) the next morning, he said he'll do something about that because that wasn't right. We still haven't heard anything from them regarding this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IW93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manly hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is the worst pub in Sydney... horrible service/drinks/ security/atmosphere. The service was horrible, the security were arrogant and rude, the drinks were at a sub standard level compared to the market. It was like they were treating everyone as their joke/toy and it was not a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Worst experience of my life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank x x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

I'll keep this short and to the point. Overpriced. On weekends, no point in trying to sleep until after 3am... Packed to the brim with loud, obnoxious, belligerent drunkards. Note: would be tolerable if you yourself were to be incredibly intoxicated.
Service, non-existant.
Shared amenities. No hot water (on the nights I stayed anyway).
Gaping hole in the roof of the shower cubicle.
Room was tiny... Had to keep window closed as it was unscreened a directly adjacent to busy pub courtyard (rooms look
Great in the pictures mind you).

Fantastic location... Right on the beach.

Tea, coffee, milk available in rooms. Beds were clean and comfy.

Should really halve the nightly fee as I am sure there are cheaper alternatives that are superior.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Prime Location, pity The accomadation side of things is so lacking, almost an afterthought.
Apon check-in The quoted price I'd recieved was promptly ignored, The room itself would have been fine in a backpackers, sparse and clean, but on closer inspection the pillow case's hadn't been changed and had blood from The previous guest. The WC was unmistakablely on the floor, One heard The dripping shower, but it had hot water which other guests informed me was not The norm. The cleaning Lady, when I finally saw her, had to be asked if she could change The bed-sheets, and replace a tiolet roll that had run out 2 days before, She then carried on as though she had been doing this everyday which was clearly not The Truth.
The noise was to be expected, loud, but an ever-changing Duty Manager pointed out The fact that I'd signed a contract which stated this fact two days earlier.
Apon complaining by check-out, The next Duty Manager promised to refund some of the money, 3 week's later still waiting.
Overall very poor and well over priced for what one got, which is very sad, it's a great location and there is so much potential.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcyennik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Visited several times with friends as a handy place to meet. Great location, good selection of drinks and food was sometimes very good to average. They have a specials board which has not always been great value.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I worked at The Steyne Hotel back in the 90s, so booked four nights for sentimental reasons. I stayed one. I knew it would be noisy in a pub ... voices in the beer garden, a jukebox, live music, etc. What I didn't expect was the TAB speakers in the ceiling of the bar below and, consequently, in the floor of the room. Volume was about twice as loud as what you have the TV at home, and NOT the background noise of a bar. This was "Agony's Bay is paying $7.60 for a win in New South Wales, $7.40 in Queensland, $34 for the quinella, and $652 for the trifecta". Until 1am. Absolutely impossible to sleep through. Communal showers offered only a dribble of water. The only good thing I can say is ... when I complained, and there were no others rooms available, they agreed to give me my money back. As sentimental as I was about The Steyne, I think I worked there in her heyday - which was now two decades ago.

Room Tip: Stay at Manly Boardriders instead ... 50m around the corner, much cleaner and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarolynTimarkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Manly
Manly Guest House
Manly Guest House
#3 of 12 in Manly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Steyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Steyne

Property: Hotel Steyne
Address: 75 The Corso, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Steyne 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple pub accommodation in a simple, seaside pub. Prime location on the corner of the Corso & Manly Beach - Family Rooms / Deluxe Rooms / Pub Rooms / Budget Rooms. Ensuites & Shared Bathrooms + Tea & Coffee Facilities + Corso & Ocean Views + Balconies available. Please keep in mind when booking accommomodation that Hotel Steyne is a busy venue, with live music every Thursday to Sunday & late hours of trade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Steyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing