We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you want in a B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manly
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Manly B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Everything you want in a B&B”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Ivanhoe House and everything was wonderful. We stayed in the verandah room. The balcony with little table was perfect for a meal and a glass of red. A quiet peaceful place at the top end of the Ivanhoe Botanic Gardens. It was a short walk down the hill to everything you needed and the Manly Ferry, which we took advantage of to go to the city. The little things like cupcakes and banana bread in the fridge made us feel at home. It was a mini break. Thank you.

Room Tip: The verandah room was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi there
Thank you for your great comments and suggestions here and in our visitor book. We put another mirror in the room - great idea! Loved meeting you and hope you will visit us again.

Cheers

Julie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    17
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
72
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkenberg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stay at Ivanhoes guesthouse for 4 nights in an verandha room and we like it very much. Roger and Julie is wonderful and helpful guesthouse owner. The place is located in an quite area. This is an oas in Sydney (Manly) We will absolutly stay here again. We will recommend the breakfast and you can enjoy it in an wonderful nature. Go thrue the park and the hill will almost disappear.
Lars and Agneta from Sweden

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 908LarsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hello there
Thank you so much for your lovely comments in our visitor book and on TripAdvisor. It was great to meet you both and we are so glad that you had such a good time in Manly and at Ivanhoe House. We hope you can visit us again in the future.

Cheers

Julie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Julie and Roger were great and extremely helpful from the start. My room was perfect and the fridge was very useful. The vehrandah was also great. Manly itself was beautiful and made all the better for my stay at Ivanhoe. I would recommend them to anyone and if and when I return I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 2014clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello there
It was great to meet you and hear of your life in London and of your travels. Glad you enjoyed the verandah room and hopefully Enmore was a great experience too. Do come and visit us again if you come back to Australia. Good luck with your future travel plans. Cheers Julie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Verandah Room for a weekend, enjoying a surprising mini holiday in Manly. The location is close enough to make walking to dinner easy but removed from all the noise of Manly nightlife. Wonderful breakfasts on the verandah overlooking the treetops. Julie and Roger really do try to think of everything to make your stay perfect. We will go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JBandJ O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello there. Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed staying in the Verandah Room. We really enjoyed meeting you and hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future. Cheers Julie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Julie and Roger made us really welcome for our short break between our hectic work schedule, the room is really nice, really clean and nothing better than opening the french doors to let the early morning sunshine in.
The location is good, just a short walk down through the park and gardens into manly (watch the sprinklers coming back though, they come on about 10.30pm and make you very wet very quick!!!!!!!) We really enjoyed our stay and if we get a chance will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NeilHems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi there Neil
Thank you for taking the trouble to write this wonderful review, we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ivanhoe House. It was so interesting to meet you both and hear about your amazing work and travel experiences. We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Manly and Australia.
Regards Julie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyster Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

What a beautiful place to stay, an easy walk to Manly and the beaches. The Garden Room is lovely and secluded with a small private area and filled with little personal touches to make you feel welcome from the minute you walk in. Julie and Roger are wonderful hosts who deliver a great breakfast the night before for you to enjoy when you like, and the coconut cake is a delight! We would definitely like to stay here again and will be recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RobynG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi there Robyn
Thank you for this wonderful review, it was kind of you to take the trouble and it means so much to us that you enjoyed your stay at Ivanhoe House. It was really great meeting you and hope to welcome you again the next time you visit Sydney and Manly.

Regards Julie and Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatura, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a great little BnB in Manly. Located at the top of Ivanhoe Park you are only a few minutes stroll from the heart of Manly, but in a private oasis. Julie the host is wonderful and the quality of the breakfasts (fresh fruit, juice, yoghurt etc) was wonderful. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hello there. Unfortunately we didn't get to see very much of you but it was lovely to meet you both. Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review, it is much appreciated. Hopefully you will come back and visit us again.

Cheers

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10 Birkley Rd, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique B & B is a friendly place to stay. We have been welcoming guests from around the world since 1997. Ivanhoe House is located in a quiet cul de sac facing Ivanhoe Botanic Gardens. Wake to the sound of kookaburras and enjoy breakfast on your private patio or verandah. Manly's beaches, ferries, shops and restaurants are just a five minute stroll away. You can choose the Garden Room on the ground floor or the Verandah Room on the first floor. Both are Queen sized rooms with their own private entrance. We offer a non smoking environment with...FREE Wifi FREE parking Private ensuite TV/DVD, radio, books Fridge, Tea/espresso machine and egg making machine. A breakfast basket filled with your menu choices is delivered to your fridge, the evening before so that you can have breakfast whenever you are ready. Our Menu includes:Fresh fruits in season Natural or fruit yoghurt toasts, muffins, crumpets, boiled eggs, fresh fruit juices, tea /coffee "Ivanhoe House Peaceful, Private, Perfect" Maria & John, Sheffield, UK ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing