We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Sebel has changed for the better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Manly Beach
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Manly
London
Level Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“The Sebel has changed for the better”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed in the Sebel five years ago and absolutely hated it. I wrote a scathing Tripadvisor review at the time.
We only had one night in Manly on this occasion and thought we would give the Sebel a second chance. I have to say that the experiences were night and day. This time they gave us an excellent seaview room, which was spacious, comfortable and very well-equipped. All of the staff in the hotel were charming, and we met one of the managers, who I suspect has been an important catalyst for change.
The only downside is that the restaurant/wine bar is not managed by the hotel. It appears to be a magnet for under-dressed and slightly inebriated young ladies at the weekend. Some readers may consider that a plus point.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    255
    93
    46
    33
See reviews for
147
273
27
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
East Dean,Chichester United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights at The Sebel which we booked through Trailfinders as it's a hotel they seem to use a lot. It was the most expensive hotel on our itinery and we expected a top notch hotel. I asked three weeks before we arrived whether we had a sea view, but apparently this was not made clear to them at the time of booking so in fact we had a north tower room with a view of the service road! The room was very clean but tired! We have such great budget hotels in the uk now that these supposedly 5star hotels have really got to pull their finger out and do something to keep up as to be honest, I've stayed in better Premiere Inns! No breakfast is included in the room price but the hotel is very well situated with plenty of eateries within spitting distance. Expect to pay £20-25 for breakfast for two people, but you get a great breakfast and we tried three separate places all excellent! Fabulous position right on the beach with parking underneath. Parking cost £12 a night! No free wifi in the room so unless you want to pay quite a lot for connection, there is free wifi in the lobby! Not great for face timing etc! The wifi was down on our last morning which I expect where we live in the UK but not in the hubbub of Sydney! Staff were great and always very helpful. To get to the North Tower where we were, you have to go through the very loud wine bar and along the service road. It rained two days out of the three we were there so this is really awkward! Free laundry room if you're staying at the hotel which was fab and iron and board in the room completed the job.

Room Tip: Get a room in the south tower to avoid the dreaded service road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH0lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The location is right on the front opposite the Beach with the Manly Winery bar/Restaurant attached to the hotel, we used this for breakfast and drinks and enjoyed it. The hotel was value for what we paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank amanda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

After reading some bad reviews about the south wing I was pleasantly surprised by how good it was. Sure its not as good as being on the beach front but for $100 less the room was great. We had a room on the top floor that had partial beach views and views over Manly. Check in was seemless and the service was very good. The hotel is in a great spot at the southern end of Manly beach and only a short stroll to the Corso and Ferry. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If looking for the cheaper option of staying in the South Tower ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pparko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed at Manly Sebel for a weekend, and after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor realised that there are certain categories and not all with a view of anything at all, except maybe a wall or a car park ... so be aware.

I however booked an ocean view room (a studio), and got upgraded - because its who you know, to a one bedroom suite. It was lovely, clean, had a soft referbishment. But once again not all rooms have had this, so be aware. The rooms are very pricey, but it is summer in Manly on the beach .. and you are paying for the view (as the room was nice but nothing extra ordininary).

The Wine Bar restaurant next door is the best. Has breakfast, lunch and dinner and just drinks or coffee so you didnt need to stray far and it was beach front and very relaxed Sydney beach style ... so much so that lunch turned into late afternoon drinks. This has to be a plus for the Sebel.

I got my deal from Wotif but even so, this was still quite pricey for an ocean front room.

Room Tip: Rooms in the south tower had little if no view, they are cheaper and still close to the ocean and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Whilst visiting family that were staying in Manly also (at another property), we stayed that The Sebel Manly Beach. We were located in the South Tower of the complex (detached from the main building), which was quiet and easily accessed (I can see how it may be confusing or pose problems if there was bad weather, but were happy with our room). The Reception Staff were extremely friendly and obliging to our requests. The room was very clean & large with a king size bed (pillows were a little hard and high for my liking, but that is just personal preference), huge shower and light and airy with a balcony looking towards the beach. We had a partial view of the beach (but we didn't request this, as were weren't spending much time in the room). We had left my partners reading glasses in the room on departure, and the staff were extremely efficient in locating the glasses and sending them Express Post to us at no charge (we received them the next day). Couldn't be happier with our stay. Will definitely return. Many thanks.

Room Tip: If wanting a beach view, ask for a room in the NORTH TOWER.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
601 reviews
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 174 in Sydney
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Manly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Manly Beach

Property: The Sebel Manly Beach
Address: 8-13 South Steyne, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Manly Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over looking Sydney's famous Manly Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Manly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Manly Beach Hotel Manly
Sebel Manly Beach Sydney
Sebel Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing