We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised me!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sebel Manly Beach
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Surprised me!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here on business but would return for a relaxing break. Staff were very pleasant. Garage is tiny, but you can street park in the evening after the crowds have left. My room was in another building, I could hear the waves, which I love, but a view would have been even better, and I think worth paying extra for. The block I stayed in had been renovated, and was a bit ordinary, but clean and comfortable. Only a kettle, no other self contained bits. The early morning here is sensational, sunrise, people walking and swimming, relaxing just to watch. Its as beachfront as you get. You can walk to the Manly Ferry, shopping and plenty of places to eat. But don't whatever you do miss the restaurant in the hotel, its great. I hope I get a chance to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can stay in a room with a clear view of the ocean, pay the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatung01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel M, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I'm glad you had a nice surpise. Thank you for sharing your experience at The Sebel Manly and I will make sure our team receive acknowledgment as well. The Hotel really is in a great location and the early mornings along the beach are lovely. There is always something happening in Manly. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon..
Kind regards
Nikki Little
The Sebel Manly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    263
    93
    50
    33
See reviews for
152
281
27
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Whilst visiting my brother in Sydney it was our wedding anniversary so we spent one night in the Sebel on Manly beach. They were so lovely to us. Although we had one of the cheapest rooms it had a sea view. It was a very large room with massive bed and sofa and coffee table. Large balcony where we drank the bottle of sparkling wine they presented us with. Manly has a wonderful beach and it was just a few steps to be on it. We definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanMary27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel M, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay and so pleased you enjoyed the Sparkling.. And the great location, Manly Beach is a fabulous beach and the Hotel is in a great spot to enjoy the beachside. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay and perhaps for your next anniversary...
Kind regards
Nikki Little
General Manager, Sebel Manly Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for weekend. Rooms are huge but take note that south building has no water veiws but veiws of the alleyway. The rooms are huge and not luxury but well appointed. The wine bar part of hotel had excellent food & drinks & we found it hard to leave. Hotel is right on beach and you don't need a car as walk to everything. Ferry stop is a 5-10 min walk if you need to go to the city.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cid05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel M, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
It is always lovely to receive positive feedback and its great to know you enjoyed the space of the rooms. Whilst most of the rooms in South Tower don't have water views they are lovely and quiet and of course the beach is just across the road. Manly Wine is located onsite and offers a great contemporary menu as well as a huge selection of wines and cocktails.. but yes it can be hard to leave..
Kind regards
Nikki Little
General Manager, The Sebel Manly Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staplehurst, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights late May 14 when visiting daughter and found location to be near perfect. Five minute walk to Ferry wharf or 5 minutes around the corner to Shelly Beach. Booked online at Accor website as they had a flash sale and also got a free upgrade to seaview so overall excellent value. Wonderful view over bay. Only issue was Manly wine bar next door was a little noisy at the weekend when sitting on balcony admiring view but couldn't hear it with patio door closed. Cant comment on food as ate out every day at various locations or bought muffins for breakfast. Mini kitchen area with sink, kettle and fridge but no cooking facilities in room.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 302 had lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel M, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your great feedback and pleased we were able to upgrade you to an Ocean view studio during your stay. The view is lovely and the location is easy with lots of cafes and restaurants close by. Manly Wine can get a little busy on the weekends but it is great to have a vibrant restaurant onsite and the light breakfast in the moving as your sitting overlooking the sea is a good way to start the day. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and let us know if we can help with making your booking.
Kind regards
Nikki Little
General Manager, The Sebel Manly Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We chose the Sebel for the sea view and were glad we did. We had a wrap around view over Manly and the beach and the light in our apartment was fantastic even on a dull day. Check in was smooth but actually getting to our room a little complex as our key cards had not been programmed to go past the lower floors. This wasn't explained to us so very jet lagged and meeting the same wedding guests every time we went up just one floor led to a little sense of humour failure on my part.
After a good nights sleep, all was forgiven for that view!
The room was spacious and airy, with plenty of storage space, but not too many hangers...
I agree with previous reviewers that it was a pain that there was just one fridge for the mini bar and your own provisions, but we managed.
There was some noisy building work during the day time which we were not warned about when we booked, they did stick to between 9 and 5, but this can be a bit tiresome if you just want to read or be quiet in your room.
Staff were friendly and helpful and we loved the atmosphere in Manly Wine, the music choice in there was fab!
All in all I would definitely go back, but only for another sea view apartment!

Room Tip: A higher floor for the view over the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasco421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel M, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback and that your enjoyed the view from your apartment. I am very sorry that there was difficulties with your key and that we didn't explain how this worked well. But it does sound like we were able to get this sorted quickly for you. We do only have the one fridge in the room and there is a mini bar available. However, if you find there is not enough room for your things, please let us know we can always remove the mini bar for you to free up some space. I will certainly share your positive feedback with our team and with Manly Wine. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Nikki Little
General Manager, The Sebel Manly Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrickville, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

While the sebel is a very nice hotel, considering it is 4.5 star and the price, it lacks any wow. It was especially disappointing that they had no car spaces left, meaning we had to drive around for half an hour to find street parking which I then had to wake up early sunday morning to move the car because the half hr timing started at 8am. I then came back to bed and then moved the car for a second time because there are only 2hr car spaces near by.
The staff are nice and the room is clean but it's not worth the price and the rating is misleading.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FelicityandMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel M, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us although I am sorry we did not reach your expectations. Car parking can be challenging in Manly and our team will always try and assist with solutions especially if our two car parks are at capacity. It was good to hear though that you found our team helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great location, front desk staff very helpful and informative except when our key cards would not work late at night when returning to hotel. Front desk manager rekeyed card for us but no apology or sorry for inconvenience. As we were staying in South Tower it did involve a bit of a walk back to front desk. Also it appears as though our room had been double booked as someone tried to access room with key that worked - luckily for us it was during afternoon when we were just sitting watching TV. Suspect this was why our key did not work when we returned to hotel that evening. We also had to request for the room to be made up late on Saturday afternoon when it had not been done during the day.
A covered walkway between the two buildings would be helpful as you do need to brave the elements between main reception, restaurant and south tower rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
639 reviews
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 178 in Sydney
1,174 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Manly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Manly Beach

Property: The Sebel Manly Beach
Address: 8-13 South Steyne, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manly
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Manly Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over looking Sydney's famous Manly Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Manly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Manly Beach Hotel Manly
Sebel Manly Beach Sydney
Sebel Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing