We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a terrible place! AWFUL” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel
Ranked #11 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Manly
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a terrible place! AWFUL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

WORST HOSTEL EVER . The randomness of the pictures directly reflect the vibe of this place. RAMDOM AND UNNERVING . It is strongly vacant in its own self respect. The whole place is like a hopeless self loathing creature sitting in a sweat and food stained vest while shouting obscenities with a false confidence. The hostel is not cool! And it does not know better! It is drunk on its own wrongdoings, as if it has something to be proud of. I felt unwelcome in this play group of backpackers. A few glimmers of life from some who gazed upon the distant dream of seeing the world, only to be sharply brought back to the beer stained , un cultured reality that is board riders . My room was a squat with people taking beds while I pay thirty a night! ..... and trying to relax in the living room of these self defensive aggressive click of unwelcoming introverts seemed a Herculean task. Let me not convince you of not staying here but if you want cleanliness or friendliness, a cheap room that still offers that little bit of comfort a traveller needs, a fair deal where everyone's in the same boat and a hostel that comes within distant sight of the environment backpackers need .... DONT STAY HERE

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jonnybayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toyus e, General Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I am very disappointed about your comment. At Boardriders we strive to make sure all of our guests are happy and comfortable.We will always do our absolute best to rectify any situation that may arise. We also have great feedback by most of our guests and we do appreciate everyone's feedback, so we can improve in the future. Unfortunately most of what you have said is not true. I would like to suggest, next time maybe booking a private room, if you do not like staying in dormitory style rooms with other travelers. also approaching reception or managers on duty if you are unhappy about your room and or facilities, due to these all could have been fixed on the spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    24
    11
    15
    62
See reviews for
5
22
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

What a hole.

Myself and my girlfriend booked a 6 bed dorm (shared bathroom) for 3 nights through Hostelbookers.

When we arrived to check in at around 3pm we found reception closed with a sign saying 'Back in 10 minutes' - 30 minutes later a staff member showed up and started to check us in.

He then informed us they don't actually have any 6 bed dorms available despite taking tr booking but they had an 8 bed dorm available for the same price ($32 a night per person, rip off as are all Sydney hostels), we sighed thinking no big deal and took the room and paid.

We took the lift (which smelt of sick) to the 2nd floor and down a corridor to the end room by the common area.

I put the key in the door which pushed open without being unlocked, turns out it was broke. Entering the room was difficult as the door was being blocked by a cesspit of rubbish from the dorm. There were 4 bunks in the room and no available floor space due to all the clothes, boxes, food and plates on the floor. We looked around trying to find the two free beds. One turned out to be a mattress with a pillow, with no sheets or duvet. The second bed was a top bunk with the mattress lent up against the wall to make place for a mountain bike.

We immediately turned around went back to reception to ask to be moved rooms.

When we told he guy on reception he smiled, then shouted over our shoulders at a bloke who had just walked in, asking him to move his bike off the other bed, the guy said he would, the receptionist then looked at us and said "sorted".

Not by our standards, we told him we weren't stopping in that room so he offered us the "only available room" which was a private family room for an extra $30. We took it, feeling robbed.

This room was fine, downside was it's window looked onto some sort f surfboard treatment area which meant early morning sanding and loud talking.

The hostel kitchen was also a tip, even for a hostel. Flies and mess everywhere the other backpackers just didn't understand how to use hot water and a sponge.

Would not recommend. Look elsewhere for accommodation or make Manly a day trip

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toyus e, General Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Firstly i would like to apologize for your experience at Boardrider Backacker and Budget Motel.
The bike on the bed was not satisfactory and we take full responsibility for this, thus why the upgrade to the private family room. We do not allow bikes into our rooms period, so this issue has been dealt with immediately. Due to the inconveniences about the bike on your bed, you where offered a family private room with a 70% discount off the normal rate. so your comments about feeling robbed and picking on things that aren't even true is not satisfactory at all. You also where happy with the room that was presented to you at the reception desk. The courtyard outside the family room wouldn't have had anyone sanding there boards due to no body can access this yard accept managers on duty.
All of our facilities are cleaned several times daily, we take pride in keeping the hostel clean with over 100 travelers at a time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manly hotels

Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Boardriders has the best location of any hostel i have been to in sydney, the place has great vibes and lots of entertainment. I stayed in a dorm room for 2 weeks, the room was spacious and the people were friendly, the recpetion staff also got me work for a few days - would %100 reccomend to any sydney travellers :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blake s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toyus e, General Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
thank you for your comment Blake, We hope to see you again soon in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The place is not very clean, it is not very tidy, it is nothing special in itself! But I believe that there is a positive energy! And sometimes this is more important than all the rest. Do not come here if you want to sleep, do not come here if you want a perfect place with everything in the right place. Please come here if you want to meet a lot of people from different countries; come here if you want to understand how young travelers are today! Please come here if you believe that flowers arise from manure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hostel has an absolutely incredible location. Since it's right on the Corso, there is easy access to the transportation (just 2 minutes walk from the ferry and buses), and it's just meters away from all the Manly nightlife, shops, banks, grocery stores, and beach. It's a very social place to stay -- if not working, travelers are usually hanging out either on the balcony that overlooks the Corso, watching TV, playing ping pong, or drinking on the roof, and everyone I met here was really friendly (including the staff). The one thing to keep in mind is that because there are a lot of long-term travelers, it can get a bit messy with people unpacking and attempting not to live out of a suitcase for months. If you're a girl, I'd recommend staying in an all-girls room, as they tend to be cleaner. But overall, it's a really fun hostel with an unbeatable location and cool vibe... Oh, and free wifi :)

Room Tip: If you're a girl, request an all girls room - they're cleaner :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We chose to splurge on the Deluxe Ensuite room, which fit the description of a basic motel room; tea/coffee, private bath, and nearly $200AUD per night. When we arrived the beds were made and towels were fresh but the room was filthy. The ensuite was the most appalling with the shower walls and floor covered in mould and mildew; however the dresser drawers were also moldy, walls were stained, mirrors were smudged, and dust and hair was built up in corners, just to recall a few issues.

When we spoke to reception we were reassured the room would be taken care of. The next day things had been moved around but nothing appeared cleaner. So we went back to reception and asked again. A different receptionist was very apologetic and made the same promise as the first one but nothing improved in 5 days. Maybe that's fine at a cheap backpackers but a $200/night room ought to be clean.

I sent a follow up email after we left Manly and explained our frustration but never received a response.

You will pay a high price for the perfect location of Boardrider, however you will be paying to sleep in a rubbish heap.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinzayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toyus e, General Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I am not sure what room you may have stayed in, but unfortunately your statement is false, we have never charged $200 per night for any of our rooms types. also all of our rooms have had a refurbish and upgrade before this review. but your suggestions will be taken into account.
My cleaning staff have been notified about this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The location is probably the best in Manly, 80m from the beach and 5min to the Wharf, the staff was also very friendly..

Our room was really dirty, there was stuff everywhere so I had to sleep with my bag on my bed. I didn't even have a pillow so the first night I had to sleep without one. The lock was broken, which they didn't even tell us when we checked in.
There were signs saying that it had to be quiet after 11pm, people did not respect this at all, it got quiet at about 5am. The front door was supposed to be locked after reception had closed, although other people kept it open by putting a shoe between the door.

So if you are in Manly to party and sleep as little as possible this is the place to be! If on the other hand want to have a good night sleep because you want to do things during the day choose another place!

Room Tip: Try do avoid rooms on the second floor, since the common room is there it's very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissGelinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manly hotels
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
Manly Guest House
Manly Guest House
#3 of 12 in Manly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Manly
Manly Bunkhouse
Manly Bunkhouse
#1 of 12 in Manly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel

Property: Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel
Address: Shop 63 the Corso, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!!!BREAKING NEWS!!!! I would like to introduce myself: My name is Laura and I am the new manager of the Boardrider Backpacker & Budget Motel!! I would like to welcome everyone from all over the world to come & stay at our backpackers based in Manly Beach (literately a 1 minute walk from the main beach, YEW.) We have been and still are very busy UPGRADING our services on EVERY level! The surf is pumping & jobs are coming in daily so come and check it out ----> HAPPY DAYS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardrider Backpacker And Budget Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing