We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extreme Manly”

Manly Ocean Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.68*
and up
High-Speed Offshore Thrill Ride to Bondi Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Manly Ocean Adventures is the home of the 'Whale Watching Safari,' Sydney's smallest, most personal and most exciting whale watching adventure. Our high speed adventure vessel will get you to the whales quicker than anybody else. Our completely open vessel offers unobstructed views of these majestic animals. Our low position in the water offers you unparalleled, up-close viewing opportunities of the whales, dolphins, penguins and even the occasional seal or shark.
Truro
2 reviews
“Extreme Manly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

THE best way to see Manly. Booked in with Manly Ocean Adventures to get away from the crowded beach for an hour while on holiday.
The boat is very cool, you sit on cowboy style seats with rollercoaster safety handles in front of you and once you get away from the harbour you pretty fly round the headland to get a a beautiful view of the Manly headland and its sheer cliff drops. Little wave kickers threw us round to the Northern beaches and you get the ultimate view all the way up to Narabeen.
Next time - whale watching. Cannot wait!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank seaweedsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    5
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great day, fast and effeciant wale watching cruise, the speed of the boat ment you could get to different locations quickly to find the whales. Captain and crew were first class, would recommend to anyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RGWOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Speed, Sun & Sights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

A great morning on the water was had with Blake on the ball getting us to the whale sightings in his super fast boat. Definitely recommend Blake's ride over any other whale watching group as they all had much larger boats that would have had to stay in similar locations for the trip, where as with Blake's boat we could dart between sightings in time to see the whales moving down the coast.

Was a lot of fun!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrewps87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best way to see the whales and the views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We had Blake as our driver. He was on the ball, friendly and fun. We had an up close and personal experience with a whale. Plus saw 2 others, Absolutely stunning! Considering it is the ocean and they are just in their natural habitat i think they do an awesome job. The boat is fast and fun. Definitely something to tick off the bucket list.

Helpful?
Thank aimz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
303 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Thrills of speed, dolphins & whales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My partner took me on the Manly Ocean Adventures for my birthday. Amazing high speed '"Naval Assault Boat" with 3 x 300 hp Yamaha 4 strokes with a top speed of 50 knots (93 kph) - which is like doing 185 kph on land. 4 rows of 8 passengers with straddle seats and grab handles. We had perfect weather and flat seas with a gentle swell. The boat rides very well, you need warm clothes in winter. Spray jackets are provided to help keep out the wind and any spray if the wind whips up a larger chop.

Blake prefers to find whales away from the other large whale watching boats. The size of the boat means you feel closer to nature. He gives a guarantee of a whale sighting or a free return trip. He offers pick up from Sydney or Manly, Ii was $85 each for 2 hours from Manly. The highlight for us was a huge pod of over 40 very playful dolphins. We followed parallel to a single humpback for 30 minutes. He finishes your trip with a high speed blast in the calm water on the return to Manly. Blake checks in with other boats for locating the whales.. often the whales seem to be more active - when the see is less calm. Great fun.

The previous week we saw 2 whales breaching off Long Reef headland on the northern beaches. The next Sunday we went south to the Cape Solander where there is a whale watch monitor station. 28th June tally by 2 pm was 36. For the season 1546 whales. Peak sightings are usually the second & third weeks of July as whale scurry north. On their return until October the mothers and calves tend to hug the coast and with the boys further out to sea.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank citfancier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manly Ocean Adventures also viewed

Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Manly Ocean Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing