We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service - yummy food”
Review of Mira Japanese

Mira Japanese
Ranked #42 of 299 Restaurants in Manly
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Manly
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fabulous service - yummy food”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch on a Saturday - waiter was exceptional (extremely welcoming of our 15 month old), food was great - shared a number of the entrees inc: gyoza's, takoyaki, chilli chicken and squid skewers - a bonus that the restaurant is byo - $3.50 pp. Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quality Japanese restaurant by the sea!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Mira and the small Italian trattoria next door are welcome new additions to the fast growing food scene in manly. Both are in lovely small venues across the road from the ferry terminal and both are delivering quality food at reasonable prices. In Mira there is an excellent array of traditional Japanese/Korean dishes and some interesting creations (try the Aburi mix of lightly torched salmon, tuna and wagyu or the wonderful chilli salad and rice dish). The days of having to resort to pub meals in Manly are over!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smithjp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were a group of four mates and we take it in turns to decide and book BYO restaurants for quarterly get-togethers.

One of the other guys booked Mira and I can't say that I was terribly impressed on entering. Fairly basic and uninspiring.

We ordered two large plates of assorted sashimi to begin and my impressions changed immediately. The sashimi was superb and the servings generous. Next came tempura prawns and vegetables which, whilst not as impressive as the sashimi, was still very good. This was followed by a assortment of mains which were also very tasty with generous servings however I don't recall the exact dishes (possibly because we were on wine bottle no. 4 by this stage :)

Service was friendly and faultless and I don't think there was any corkage.

Can't wait to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the food!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Food was great!!! Service was good too! A little pricy otherwise we will go more often. Location is good too. We went after work and it was just nice

We will go again!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Acpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Realy good!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Great food, good service and many choices for vegetarian. I loved that. The atmosphere is rally nice and relaxed. Thank you guys

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mira Japanese also viewed

Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Seaforth, Manly
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Mira Japanese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing