We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yuck! Would never come back!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manly
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterside Holiday Apartments
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yuck! Would never come back!”
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

Rooms were not clean, very old & dated and with no maintenance! Expensive for what you got. And unfortunately was asked to pre-pay before arriving! After 2 nights of no sleep due to dripping air conditioning unit and paper thin walls, asked to be moved or refunded. Rude staff that basically couldn't see what the problem was! Moved to better option on 9th floor, so sleeping improved but still disgusting in terms of cleanliness & just old, tired & tatty apartments! For $200+ a night there are WAY better options! Never again!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NeensG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    4
    1
    8
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had a one bedroom apartment for 8 nights. We were really happy with the apartment. It was a large roomy one bedroom apartment - very clean and well stocked. The position in Manly is perfect and close to everything. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with. We certainly did not find the apartment noisy - quite the opposite and we were facing the main street with all the cafes and bars. Have booked there for our next trip and would recommend this for those looking for a clean, tidy and not too pricey Manly option.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bligit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Great location for Manly - walking distance form the ferry and the beach.

Apartment was as expected - very spacy 2 double beds with balcony - large bathroom with jacuzzi. Resort manager also arranged for me to have an early Sunday morning check-in which suited flying all the way from london. Room was spotlesly clean with a well appointed kitchen. Cleaner came in once a week.

Could get problem with noise from drunk neighbours returning to their rooms late at night as my room was right next to lift. Did occasionaly here some bumps in the night ;) from room next door and also if a toilet was used.

Overall recommended just don't expect 100 % serenity.

Room Tip: Get a room away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rattlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed in a deluxe studio at Waterside Apartments for 8 days. Our apartment on the 4th floor was clean, comfortable, and well equipped. The location was excellent, being close to ferry and buses. There are plenty of cafes, bars and pubs a short walk away. Interesting shopping at The Corso, the beach is one block away. In the complex there are 3 laundries, a good little gym, and although it was winter, the pool and hot tub looked clean and inviting. Although the walls are thin and there was noise around for various reasons, we found we got used to it very quickly. We would return to Waterside again. Ask for an apartment on the upper floors due to street noise, and we recommend www.manlyapartments.com.au. They were very easy to deal with and handled a small problem for us quickly and effortously. I believe they have a higher standard of apartments too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My family travels quite often and usually stay in one of the large chain hotels where the standards are consistent. We had to go to Manly for a family wedding and when researching the hotels for the particular weekend we needed the prices were very high (much higher than the city) and the TA reviews for these properites weren't particularly good.

So we had to make a leap of faith and go with a holiday rental. This was a big ask for us!

The Waterfront Apartments are a block of units of which are made up of private residential and holiday lettings. The holiday lettings are through various places eg. Stayz, Turn Key basically whoever the owner has chosen to go through. We booked our apartment through http://www.manlyapartments.com.au/ . The service was great, very honest and the descriptions were spot on. We chose a deluxe apartment to give us some more space.

We had a late arrival which was no problem (we had to pay a fee). The management met us outside of the apartments and were polite and courteous. I could not fault the apartment that we had at all - I tried but there was nothing wrong with it. The bed was lovely had white clean sheets, the bathroom was very clean and modern. The apartment had everything that we needed. There was a patio with chairs and tables but this is not shown in my photos as it was dark when I took the photos. The airconditioner was a box style one which I expected to be old and rattly but it wasn't and it had a remote which you could use from the bed.

It was a very very short walk to the Corso and the beach (one hundred meters or so). There is a convenience store on the next corner, lots of banks, hairdressers and cafe's around.

I am sure that other apartments in this block which are not managed through Manly Apartments would not be up to the same standards - please read the comments on TA with this in mind.

A great weekend and a fantastic apartment.

Lou

Room Tip: Ask for apartment 414 which we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lou_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We rented our apartment for a 2-week stay while visiting family in Manly. It was conveniently located within a 3 minute walk of the Corso pedestrian mall and 5 minutes away from the beach and the Sydney harbor ferry wharf.

The 1-bedroom apartment was clean, spacious and full equipped for an extended stay. In fact, the kitchen had two refrigerators. There was a bakery, convenience store and plenty of other shops and restaurants just around the corner from the apartment building to make it very easy to stay here.

The rental company and their staff were very helpful in answering questions before we rented online and helped us at several different times during our stay. Their offices were in a building right across the plaza.

I would highly recommend this location for anyone wanting to stay in Manly for an extended period and will plan to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We are a professional couple moving to Manly. We decided to rent a studio short term for 2 months whilst looking for a long term lease. Staying at these apartments was the worst decision we made. Staying for the 2 months of August and September meant that we received a rate of $420 per week. For a reason unknown to us, the management seemed to feel that they had done us a favour by reducing the rate - I think they need to be schooled on the idea that we were the customer and they were trying to win our business for those two months with that rate! Because they felt that we were paid the favour they treated us rudely, disrespectfully and simply unprofessionally. (It must be said that throughout most of our stay we had no contact with the management - it was only the beginning and end of the stay) We would never recommend this complex to anyone and we regret ever having to deal with such "customer service". Please take this review into account if you are planning to stay here whilst looking for somewhere to live.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brett205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manly hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manly hotels
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Manly
Manly Paradise Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Holiday Apartments

Property: Waterside Holiday Apartments
Address: Short Street Plaza, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Waterside Holiday Apartments Hotel Manly
Waterside Holiday Apartments Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing