We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location for a casual lunch”

Manly Wharf Hotel - Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 300 Restaurants in Manly
Price range: US$0 - US$43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Osaka, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely location for a casual lunch”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Located on the Manly Wharf - where once an amusement arcade stood (my childhood memories there)... The Manly Wharf Hotel is a very pleasant place to have lunch and relax. Not particularly a Hotel... nor a restaurant.. more like a cafeteria style bistro.. where you pre-order at a counter.. then get given an electronic device to let you know when your order is ready. Very open, airy and bright - this place has such an enviable location with a huge amount of passing trade. Food was surprisingly good and a reasonable selection of seafood, salads and other meals suited to the alfresco dining atmosphere. The seating is either bench type seats or some lounge chairs... I guess that reminds me most of a hotel type of arrangement. This would be a hint on the type of visit you might make here.. as its designed to have people get in.. fed... and on their way... although I suspect many just drop in for a few drinks... but would be very tempted to order a snack or two while there! The price was not unreasonable for a high tourist trade location... but not exactly budget either. Will consider returning for sure!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lord K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    170
    47
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Great pizzas but why is Chur Burger so terrible now!?”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I come to the Wharf Bar fairly regularly and often with my team from work for lunch and drinks.

It's a great spot for drinks and the pizzas here are all exceptional including the new Mexican - although a Mexican pizza should have heat and spice and sadly this one fails to deliver, all be it the flavours are great.

Inside the Wharf Bar you can also get a Chur Burger, the first time I had one it came highly recommended to me and I wasn't disappointed (nor were the other 3 in the group) at all.

That said 2 months on and this time 4 of us got various Chur Burgers and ALL of us were very disappointed, not only was the service poor (it is for some reason a sperate little bar you need to order at which was unnamed for several mins) but what really matters was the burgers were very poor...

Just a lack of care had clearly gone into the preparation of them this time, all the buns were very soggy and unpleasant, as though they sat there for 5 mins before calling them ready and they used to have great pickles, yet this time I had a slither of a pickle at best.

Shame as it used to be a great burger. I mentioned this last night to my friend who first refereed me and she said "yeah I know, several people have told me how bad it is now".

Hopefully they take the feedback and get it back before people stop coming.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manly, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Waterfront beers”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great to have a beer on the water watching the Manly ferry come in.
Great atmosphere
Really good pizzas, especially the prawn pizza....yummo

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Top spot for a drink & cheap eat in Manly”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Always a fun atmosphere, food fairly priced and service friendly. Especially welcoming after returning from city on fast ferry, step off and have a refreshing beverage. Lively crowd and atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walacia205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrific food and view”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Prices were good and service good. It was busy too. Great size meals too. Good selection. Great atmosphere. All ages too. Not child friendly though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kaz_harding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manly Wharf Hotel - Restaurant also viewed

 
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Manly Wharf Hotel - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing