We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sydney Airport stop over hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mascot
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Hotel is 10 minutes by shuttle from the Domestic terminal. The shuttle to the hotel can be a half hour wait at the International terminal. Shuttle will cost A$6 each way. Hotel places this on your bill. Get a transport voucher at check out for the shuttle.
Room was clean and tidy and had a French press Coffee plunger and coffee, for me that was a great plus to be able to have a real coffee in my room. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbwno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pirodoi, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear lbwno,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experience with us, you have included some great tips for other travelers and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the fresh ground coffee that is available in our King rooms only, certainly a great added feature.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Brenden van Blerk
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here on my way home to Austin. For $300 a night, there was so much so wrong.

First off, for a $300 a night Holiday Inn Airport hotel, one should expect a complimentary shuttle, but alas, it is $6 each way.

When one checks in after 5 PM on a hot muggy day, you would expect your room to be at least as cool as the hallway, but alas, it will be extremely warm. No problem you think, you set the AC down to very cool and head to the restaurant for a meal while your room cools down.

Unfortunately, the motion sensor in your room shuts everything off, including the AC, 5 minutes after you leave your room, so when you return from your meal, your room is just as hot and uncomfortable as it was when you first arrived.

Dinner at this "Full Service" hotel is at the NO SERVICE restaurant called Baddies Bar where you stand in line to order your meal & beverages, then go pick up your meal and beverages. Want a refill on your beverage? Get up and get it yourself. No one brings anything to you in this so called "Full Service" Holiday Inn.

Anyway, it takes ALL night for your room to cool down (I don't know why they bother with blankets since you just lie there in bed perspiring) so when you head down for a $25 breakfast buffet (which dry and crumbly scrambled eggs) and come back, you find your room hot again.

That's OK, because the Internet did not work in my room for all of the night, so I had to go to the lobby to get some work done. That's right. Internet wired or wireless, no go in this so called "Full Service" Holiday Inn for $300 a night.

When I called down to ask why the internet would not work (the wireless access point was right outside my door), the front desk asked me to pick up the phone as the speaker phone did not work in this $300 a night "Full Service" Holiday Inn.

The next day the WiFi was working, but the hotel was upgrading their system, so I was asked to come down and settle my bill before 11 AM even though I had an extended checkout. This caused my WiFi code to expire 12 hours early.

Anyway, I decided to leave early and head to the airport where I could get some work done at the airport lounge where the AC and internet are reliable.

Bottom line, for $300 a night, it's a total disappointment. I have had better service back in the states for half the price at a "Full Service" Airport Holiday Inn where the "FREE" shuttle runs every 30-15 minutes instead of some convoluted schedule.

Save your money and don't stay here. The budget ibis down the road is better and cheaper. At least you know it's a budget hotel, so you are not disappointed when you spend $300 and the hotel does not live up to normal business traveler expectations.

Four Thumbs Down - I won't be back.

Room Tip: The best room is at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Traveler_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pirodoi, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear The_Traveler_2013,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced with our internet service, the service in Biggles Bar and the AC. We have taken note of your comments and these will be shared with our management team to be looked into.

I would like to speak with you about your experience so I get some additional details to ensure that these items can be address immediately. you can reach me via either phone or email +61 2 9330 0600 or brenden.vanblerk@ihg.com

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future, and I sincerely hope to hear from you at your earliest convenience.

Kindest regards,

Brenden van Blerk
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel really exceeded my expectations. Walk distance from Mascot station, clean, very nice staff. The staff gave us all recommendations we needed for New Year`s Eve period and we also could manage to make an early check-in after a 27 flying. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here one night, prior to return flight to the US. Despite being near the airport we had a great sleep due to room darkening drapes and really nice bedding. Room was a nice size with good amenities. The staff is really courteous and helpful, there are two coffee shops and a couple of convenience stores within two block walk and a train station three blocks away. We took a direct train (no transfers) down to the Circle Quay for one last lunch before leaving -- 15 minute ride each way. Also, the airport shuttle has a published schedule which makes planning departure much easier.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie48070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

As a business person that travels the worst thing that can happen is no internet in your room. This trip was Personal / Professional in that my family was with me but I needed to check in daily. We checked in and our room would not connect to the internet, after two calls to the front desk and two restarts still nothing, so we went our for a while. Upon our return we were asked to call the help desk for internet and they told us we should change rooms (after about 40 minutes on the phone at midnight). Not sure that a property should ask the guest to call an outside service. The following day we changed rooms and the problem was solved. Hotel was decent but not great. The staff that helped us change rooms was very accommodating. Just wished we had spent the money to stay someplace different. As a business traveller internet is essential. This day and age should not have to change rooms to achieve this. Food at the hotel was OK not great not bad. Just OK. Will do if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 9th floor for us for internet service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Heather B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the issues with the internet prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see the staff was attentive to resolve this concern and we appreciate the high score for Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My mum and i had an early international flight, and rather than getting up at 4am to get organised and to travel the 3hr trip to the airport in Sydney from where we live, we opted for a stay over at the Holiday Inn in Sydney so that we wouldn't be rushed.
We caught the train to Mascot station, and unfortunately there was no sign pointing toward the Holiday Inn, but there is a map at the train station so we were able to find our bearings and head in the right direction (to the left of the station, if you have your back to it and your facing the road). There is no large sign on the rear of the Holiday Inn building so we just kept walking until we found a small sign at the drive way. Probably about a 10-15mins walk with a 72yr old pulling our wheelie bags.
Check in was easy, the rooms more than comfortable and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bar restaurant had reasonably priced food, which was satisfying and all we needed. We paid extra for the buffet breakfast which was mamoth!
There was no air traffic noise despite being able to see planes descending to the airport, though i am not sure if we were close to the International or Domestic airports.
There was a shuttle to the airport of $6, which was well worth it. But make sure you are down in the foyer, paid and ready to go so you don't miss out on a seat.
If ever i have an early flight out of the country again, i would most likely stay at this hotel, provided i got a good rate on lastminute.com.au or wotif.com.au.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Enjoyed our one night stop-over. A pleasant reception and helpful staff made us feel welcome.

Our status as Platinum Members was recognised without prompting and though we booked this as a reward night we were upgraded to a corner king room without having to ask.

This is a pleasant Holiday Inn Hotel and is clean and tidy as you would expect. The corridors are rather bland, magnolia paint work and no pictures or decoration to break the monotony of the corridors or even to give an incling of where in the world you were.

The bar "Biggles" was a little sterile and though the service was good the coffee machine had been turned off by 10:00pm and the bar itself closed at 11:00pm.

All in all we enjoyed our stay here and will return should we need a stop either after or before a flight. There is a shuttle service coach to both the International and Domestic terminals running at about half hour intervals at a cost of $AUS 6 though the taxi fair was only $AUS 12. I was warned by reception that the taxi drivers can sometimes take you for a ride and that claims of $30 are not unheard of.

Rooms ending 06 are corner rooms with a window on two walls with views of the airport. Soundproofing if very good and we heard nothing of the planes or vehicle noise.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gallimaufry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.4 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Pullman Sydney Airport
#2 of 12 in Mascot
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
0.1 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Ibis Sydney Airport
#9 of 12 in Mascot
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Airport

Address: Corner O'Riordan Street & Bourke Road, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mascot
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mascot
Price Range: £89 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently positioned, Holiday Inn Sydney Airport is located only minutes from Sydney Airport's international and domestic terminals with regular airport shuttle transfers to and from the hotel. Situated in the heart of the growing Mascot precinct of restaurant, cafes, bars and shops - you'll never feel to far away from anything. A two minute walk to nearby Mascot Train Station will have you in the city within 15 minutes to view the well-known Sydney attractions. All 250 guest rooms have views towards the city skyline or airport and have been custom designed with guest comfort in mind. Standard rooms come equipped with a choice of soft and firm pillows, double-glazed windows, flatscreen TVs, high speed internet access and ensuite with dual pressure showerhead. Enjoy a delicious dinner in Sirocco Restaurant with a menu inspired by the flavours of the globe or enjoy a more relaxed atmosphere and socialise with friends or colleagues in Biggles Bar for tasty bar bites and refreshing drinks. Holiday Inn Sydney Airport boasts a 24 hour gymnasium, sauna, business centre, 5 flexible meeting spaces, secure underground car park and VIP Lounge. Experience the relaxed, genuine and friendly service at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport for your next Sydney stopover, perfect for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport Hotel Mascot
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing