We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mascot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Good location close to the airport with shuttle bus to terminals ($6 charge). Really comfortable rooms, friendly service at the front desk and a nice pool. One point off for not providing complementary internet (a bit pricy too). Would stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Slejpner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thanks for posting a review.
It is always great to read that our guests have a most comfortable stay and find our facilities convenient and our service friendly. We have however noted your constructive comment regarding internet prices in which we will review accordingly.
Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,779 - 1,785 of 2,551 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Checked in late at night which was done with minimum of fuss. Room was very clean, beds comfortable and absolutely no noise.
We ordered our meals through room service and we did not have long to wait. Food was very well presented.
Certainly a good hotel to stay at overnight as we had an early flight out of Sydney. We caught a taxi to and from the hotel as we did not want to wait for the shuttle bus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zmaragdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thanks for posting a review.
We are most pleased you found the services and facilities up to standard and your stay was comfortable, especially for that early morning flight!
We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for one night only. Arrived around 10.30pm by shuttle bus. 10 minutes wait at reception to check in. Reception appeared understaffed but polite. I was requested to pay $100 bond which i found most unusual.
The rooms are average size and my room was certainly sound proof even though directly facing the airport. Very poor mini bar which offered beer and wine at high prices but no spirits. Only one small bar of soap in the bathroom.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.
The hotel itself is showing its age and in my opinion would be hard pressed to rate 4 stars.
I have not stayed at any other Sydney airport hotel so am unable to compare value for money but the Stanford appeared overpriced to me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thanks for posting a review.
And thank you for choosing to stay with Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport. We have noted your constructive comments regarding mini bar items and extra soap in which we will review accordingly. In relation to the $100 bond, we advise this is common practice with the majority of hotels, not only in Australia, but worldwide. This is a form of security holding and is refunded upon check-out.
We are also pleased to advise that we are undergoing many upgrades around the hotel, including our lifts, pool/spa area, rooms, restaurants and bar.
We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forwarding to welcoming you back and showing you our "improvements" in the near future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a pleasant stay at the Stamford Plaza for a recent business meeting. The bed was very comfortable and we could not hear any aircraft noise, despite being so close to the airport.
Breakfast buffet was adequate, but some of the dishes were unavailable and required a 10 minute wait. I requested poached eggs which were cooked to order in a couple of minutes.
The lunch menu was excellent, particularly the steak and the barramundi dishes.
Dinner buffet was good with lots of delicious desserts to choose from.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thanks for posting a review.
We are most pleased your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed the facilities we offer, including the delicious food! We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to your return in the near future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Well,this was my 2nd visit here, but I didnt have a great experience.The main problem is lack of information about the parking there.I found it very hard to actually get into the garage after 10pm.
There were no signs telling me what to do,and no-one around,once I had arrived at the closed gates. You need to know that you have to use the driveway on the Right, and use your room pass to open the gate(not your parking ticket).I was not the only one stuck.
So,this took ages to figure out and therefore put me in a bad mood judging the rest of the hotel.My other problems are--walls very thin.I could hear conversations going on in the next room,if my TV was off.Also,being short(ish),the room spyhole was way above tippytoe height,there was no auto room light on opening the door so you had to fumble around in the dark for a light switch,in order to turn on the shower,you need to stand under it( cold water of course), the globes were broken,the light switches were buried.But the bed was comfy and the room large but tired-looking.Breakfast Ok. I think the management needs to spend a night here.
The room had no free Wifi and it didnt work in the lobby anyway.

Room Tip: I enjoy watching the airport comings and goings,(and the huge traffic jam that night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 557jill557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thanks for posting a review.
We are most sorry to read that your 2nd visit was not satisfactory. In regards to your comments regarding car parking, we do advise that there is visible signage informing guests of after hours access using room key only. We have however updated our website to advise guests that they need to check-in first and receive their room key prior to entering the car park after 10.00pm.

We have also noted all your constructive comments and will review these accordingly. We appreciate your valuable feedback and do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Stamford for two nights, arriving after 10.30pm on the first night from the airport.
There is no one to help with luggage, you cannot get a drink at the bar - it's closed and the only food available is the room service menu with about 6 selections all overpriced. We ordered toasted sandwiches (cheese) and the cost was $20 each!!!!They were also inedible.
We ate lunch the next day in the restaurant, the food was again over priced and very ordinary.
The following night (Saturday) we returned from a wedding at approx. 10pm again the bar was closed and we were directed into the Avaitor Bar next door, ordered a drink and were told that's it!!!!!
The problem is there is nowhere close to eat and I heard 2 groups asking where they could get a meal at 10pm!!!! They were told to go to the city by cab, just what you want when you arrive from the airport....
The 2 minute shuttle bus to the airport is $6 and you can walk the distance in about 10 minutes.

The reception staff are serious and just doing their job and no more.

On the up side the beds are very comfortable and the rooms are not noisy at all.

Have stayed at many Stamford Plaza's in the past and was very disappointed, maybe the management should go and stay at the Stamford Plaza Auckland were the service is fantastic!!!!

Room Tip: Very close to Domestic Airport - within walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LIZ11GC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thanks for posting a review.
Firstly, our apologies for the "ordinary food" and lack of service you encountered during your stay. This is certainly not indicative of the high standards to which we aspire and as such have addressed these matters and further training will be provided for the relevant staff members.
We also appreciate your constructive comments regarding our prices and closing hours of the Food & Beverage outlets in which we will review accordingly.
Thank you for your valuable feedback and we do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

First time to stay nearby SYD airport, so not sure how this compares to the competition... so:
- it seems when the Holiday Inn is full, this is the second choice (next time I'll try the 1st choice)
- location and surroundings are... well, nearby an airport, not much to say...
- Lobby is oldish, needs a renovation, but rooms have been refreshed for sure, both room and bath are spacious, flat screen, pillows of various shape and height
- Like all hotels in Australia, TV choice is awful, Murdoch-world... no HDO no CNN no BBC only foreign channel is China's CCTV !!
- in-room internet is a rip-off 20 AUD/day !!! in lobby wifi is only free for 30mins. 3 desktop PCs in business centre with a ultra slow connection and IE from 6 years ago.
- again in the rip-off category, transfer to/from terminal is 6 AUD. Yes it's not much, but it's for the principle. First time I pay for van transfer to give my business to a airport hotel, shame.
- if you get a room facing the airport, beware there are railroad tracks at the foot of the hotel (literally) with heavy traffic incl at night (unlike the airport which is closed at nigh), so either get high high floor (hotel has 12 if I remember correctly) or the other facing.
- sound-proof is not good either, no door-stopper and water sounds from the pipes...

Room Tip: if you get a room facing the airport, beware there are railroad tracks at the foot of the hotel (lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frog_Singap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thanks for posting a review.
We appreciate your feedback, however regret that you were not totally satisfied with the hotel. We are pleased to advise that we are currently undergoing many upgrades around the hotel and this includes our lifts, rooms, pool/spa, restaurants/bar to name a few.
We have also taken onboard your constructive comments regarding TV channels, Wifi and PC's in which we will review accordingly. In relation to the shuttle service, we advise that all hotels in the airport precinct do not operate their own shuttle bus, but is privately run by a third-party company.
Again, thanks for your comments and we do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to experience our newly upgraded areas.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mascot hotels
1.2 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Pullman Sydney Airport
#2 of 12 in Mascot
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Hotel at Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
0.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Address: | Corner O'Riordan & Robey Streets, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mascot
Price Range: £93 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's Best Airport Hotel as awarded for seven consecutive years by Skytrax. Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel is your best luxury accommodation in Sydney. Located directly opposite the Domestic Terminal and minutes from the International terminal. It's the ideal business base for you to meet or discover all that Sydney has to offer - just 20 minutes drive from the Central Business District, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Sydney Opera House and the Royal Botanic Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel Mascot
Stamford Plaza Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing