We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
A TripAdvisor Member
“My view”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

rooms good, I would like to see tea/coffee in the rooms and a kettle it would help to save conjestion in the lobby and kitchenette and would also save people going out late at night for a hot drink. Mothers with babies with a kettle in the room they can heat the babies bottles and the elderly who are at times frighten at going out late at night . I have never had a problem with the service always ready to help. The rooms have always been clean and tidy. Location is great for myself especially when flying in late and have an early morning flight out no taxi fares as the hotel is within walking distances to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    560
    715
    326
    260
See reviews for
552
617
428
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tuggerah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I stayed here because it was cheap, and to my surprise it was actually very good quality, bed was nice room was more spacious than other F1 hotels and the staff were friendly. The place is no 5 star hotel, but for a quick stay over before catching a 6am flight, it was great!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaredHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Formula 1 was meant to be cheap and basic accommodation. So is this hotel. But what else do you need after a 14 hours or longer flight from Europe to Australia than a good bed ?. And that's what you get. Breakfast can be had in the hotel but one minute on the lef when leaving the hotel it's a lot better.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pimvandenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This hotel has great convenience right by the airport. Warning - no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms and they are basic, but very clean and very friendly and helpful staff. In fact I was really impressed by the level of service from staff given the cost of a room, service paralleled that in much higher star rating hotels. Ideal for an overnight when connecting to flights.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Staff were very helpful, room was as expected - budget but adequate. Extra towel was available to suit our numbers. Located close to airport but tricky to get to international terminal by car. Good breakfast in house, also close to Macca's and KFC.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The motel is a fantastic place to stay before going on a flight from Sydney. Only complaint is there are no face washers. The customer service representatives were very friendly and most helpful. The room was a good size for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I have stayed at Hotel Formule 1 three times this year and each time the experience has been a good one. It is hard to find cheap accommodation near the airport and from my experience this is the cheapest I have been able to get.
Everything is clean and streamlined. Certainly no frills, but there is a dining section with microwaves and a fridge.
Being within walking distance from Sydney Domestic Airport means you can walk back to the Airport Food Court and buy some great meals there and reheat them back at the hotel if you wish. I always have an immersion heater and a mug with me so can make my own hot drinks.
For a large building the hotel is very quiet. Everything functions well - TV and plenty of hot water.
The staff are efficient and very helpful.
I will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: Choose one away from the main room although the sound insulation is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing