We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed here recently for 2 separate one night stays, the rooms were adequate and the staff could not have been more helpful. Macdonalds and KFC next door which made up for the lack of a restaurant.

The bunk bed in the triple rooms is very small, it would definitely not suit an adult, however they were kind enough to upgrade us to a family room with 1 queen and 2 bunk beds

The hotel does serve a continental breakfast in the mornings and a shuttle is available to go to both the domestic and international airports.

Will stay again when next in transit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hommar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    564
    721
    327
    261
See reviews for
556
622
430
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sawtell, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Room a bit on the small side but clean and all you need for a stopover\as close to domestic airport and quite easy to get shuttle to international airport. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed for one night after arriving in Sydney on a late flight. We were hiring a car from Sydney airport the next morning.
We had quite a comfortable stay though if you're super-tall the beds may not be long enough for you. I'm pretty sure it was standard queen-size in width but I'm sure it had been shortened to fit in the narrow room. Hubby's 6"2' and his feet were well over the end of the bed.
We ate the breakfast at the hotel and it was quite adequate. There were some fast-food places very close.
We walked from the airport to the hotel in the dark and found it easily enough once we worked out whether to turn right or left once we exited the airport (for the record it's right!)
We would definitely stay there again if we were catching an early international flight.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed here at the beginning of May 2012 for one night before my international flight. I was a bit worried because I had read some scary reviews but honestly I had no problems at all. Keep in mind that I have been living in hostels for a year so I have seen some pretty ugly places. Room was clean, no bugs, no cockroaches. Bed was comfortable enough. Room was air conditioned and I was a bit cold so I turned it right up to 28 degrees and slept like a baby. My room was overlooking the Krispy Kreme and I didn't hear any air traffic at all. No noise from other guests. The Krispy Kreme, Macca's, and KFC are very conveniently located right next to the hotel. I didn't bother with the $12 brekkie that the hotel offers, I went to Macca's instead. Also went to Macca's the night before for the free wifi.

The shuttle bus to and from the airport was very convenient costs $12.

All in all - great location, good enough for people looking for somewhere to lay their head for a night before a long flight.

Room Tip: $89 winter special on wotif.com if you aren't pleased with your room than ask for another. my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 618EmilyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This motel is within walking distance of the Domestic Terminals 2 & 3 (10mins)
There is no fridge, tea or coffee making facilities & no hair dryer.
The room is very basic & the bed is okay for 1 night however I certainly would not sleep here for any length of time.
McDonalds, KFC & Krispy Kreme are right next door.
Continental breakfast is available for $9
Airport transfers are also available to either domestic or international.
There is outdoor parking via boom gate entry.
We overnighted here on our way to & from Ayers Rock & will do so again when we fly to Fiji in August.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer section
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzybee736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed here as a cheap option before flying o/s. It was walking distance from the domestic terminal and there was a shuttle at a cost $9 i think to the international terminal.

The hall and room smelled like damp and the breakfast was an absolute RIP OFF!! there is a McDonalds just up the road about 50m so that would be a better option (although it was crowded for dinner and had crap for)

The bed was fine and it seemed clean enough except for the ants in the bathroom.

It was a place to sleep for a night but i wouldn't stay here again. It cost $99 presumably for the location but it was probably more to a $50-60 quality i have been to better backpackers accom and this is the worst F1 i've stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mascot hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing