We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lean and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Mascot
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lean and Clean”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This Formule 1 hotel is great for its purpose. I spent the night prior to an early morning flight.

I parked my car in the hotel lot and walked just a few steps to the lobby. Check in was fast, friendly and efficient. My room was small, clean and well-deigned. I felt like it could have come from IKEA. All I needed was a good sleep, a hot shower and proximity to the airport. I got all three.

A TV was well-placed for viewing from the bed. There was a small desk, reading lights, and a place to hang my clothes for the next day.

The room was surprisingly quiet given it is almost located on a runway!

I did not get to use the breakfast area or laundry, but it was nice to know they are available. My only qualm was that I thought wireless Internet access was priced too high.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetalcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    575
    725
    330
    262
See reviews for
563
629
432
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hobart
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I have stayed at the Formule 1 Sydney airport on a number of occasions now.
It certainly takes the worry away if you are flying into Sydney for an international departure the next day.
There is no need to worry about weather or airline delays and you get to sleep in longer on the day you head off overseas.

Its basic as all Formule 1 are but clean, well positioned and not expensive by Australian standards.
Charge about $aud6 each for transport to the international terminal which I think is a bit high and also have to pay for breakfast if you want that.
Easy to walk too from the Sydney domestic terminals..all flat.
Fast food outlets next door if you are inclined.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed for one night last week, rooms are very basic but clean, good shower, friendly helpful staff. Did get lost trying to find it, arrived by train to the Airport and directions we were given were not helpful hence we ended up on wrong side of a very busy road. More signage would be good. Overall we were happy staying there and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We booked this hotel as we had an overnight stop (arrived 10pm Friday night) and flew out at 9am the next day.....You can walk from the domesic airport (10min easy), and they have a $6pp suttle bus to international airport. We had a quad room (queen bed and bunk) between 4 adults, and it was quite spacious (enough room to lay out suitcases). The bathroom is quite small and basic however, for a quick stop over, a highly recommended hotel! Krispy Kremes and McDonalds are just next door. So close to the airport, and we didnt have any aeroplane noise.

Room Tip: We were close to the elevator - it dinged everytime the door opened, so maybe best to ask to not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara_smith53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

We booked two rooms to accommodate our party of 5, 2 adults and 3 children for an overnight stop over between our international and domestic flights. Check in was very promt which was great given it was just after 10pm. We were tired and hungry upon arrival and the friendly staff directed us the fast food outlets which were right next door.

The rooms were small but more than adequate for our very short stay. They were nice and clean and the staff provided us with extra towels and soaps without us even asking. The beds were comfortable and our rooms which were next door to each other were very quiet. The bathrooms were very small and the floor got very wet when showering, but the shower was good and the bathrooms clean.

Check out was fast and friendly and we were able to walk to the domestic terminal which was great. Breakfast can be obtained from the hotel or at the fast food outlets next door. This was a great cheap option for a quick overnight stop over. Would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sgtpeewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We travelled as a family of 4 with 2 aged 5 and 4. Arriving in Sydney domestically at 9:30pm, it was a short ten minute walk to the hotel. Check-in was super fast.

The rooms are VERY basic but that is what Formule 1 is. We had a comfortable double bed and the kids were fine with the bunk, although their beds needed to be made - linen folded on top. The bathroom was very basic but fulfilled needs.

There was a fair bit of noise into the evening until about midnight. Then the other early risers with flights woke us from 4am on, us rising about 5:15am to get to the international terminal for a 7:30am flight. A taxi phone at the desk allowed us to order our ride the night before and was faster and cheaper than the shuttle for four of us.

It is not somewhere I would choose if I was staying in Sydney but was fine for our transiting needs.The cost of the room was much less than the increased cost of our airfares to fly without an overnight transit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Ibis Sydney Airport
#7 of 10 in Mascot
1,784 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing