We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & compact - great for O'N stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mascot
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the ibis budget as we were flying internationally the following day. Be careful if you take a taxi here - ours dropped us at the wrong ibis! It's only a 10 minute walk away but with backpacks and children who had spent a good part of the day on the train it wasn't the best start!

KFC, Krispy Kreme & Maccas across the car park.

We stayed in room 309 which faces the main road but we didn't hear any road noise at all. We were woken at around 11pm by the fire alarm but I don't hold ibis responsible for that - there is a sign on the bathroom door that clearly states to close the bathroom door when showering!!

Yes - the rooms are small although I really don't know why you would want/need tonnes of space for an overnight stay which this place seems to be aimed at.

The bathroom is small and I did spot some mould on the ceiling which should be taken care of from both an aesthetic and health point.

We took the shuttle bus organised by the hotel - $6 per person. I think if you were travelling with any more than 3 people it would be cheaper to get a taxi. Takes around 15 minutes from hotel to international via the domestic terminal.

Overall, this place delivers exactly what we expect from a $100 per night hotel in Sydney - a hot shower, a comfy bed, telly to watch and that's about it. I'm amazed by the expectations of some reviewers when staying in clearly BUDGET accommodation!!

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,116 - 1,122 of 2,222 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

It was a place to stay close to the airport, nothing else. The room was musty, made me cough & irritated my eyes a little. There was three booked for the room, we had to ask for a third towel & make the bed.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jaffa2050
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is my favourite hotel in Sydney. Initially we stayed there because it is close to the airport - only a genuine 10 minute walk for oldies to the domestic terminals. It would be our prefered stay in Sydney for any reason. No only does it have Crispy Creme next door, then McDonalds and KFC but you just have to go through security at the domestic terminals for a great selection of places to eat. You get a good bed, a TV, a shower and that is just about all but it is great value. Enroute to Sydney via Dubbo and return we got ripped off $165 and $168 basically for a TV, bed and shower. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BOURKE2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Cheap accommodation located in a noisy position. If you can get to sleep with slamming doors, aircraft noise, traffic and noise from the local McDonalds and Krispy Kreme drive thru you will have no problem staying here. The rooms are very small, in fact I had trouble laying my open suitcase on the floor. My room was clean although the chipped paint around the window did detract from the rooms ambiance..lol. I was booked in here without my input, I wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank nerney1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank woodsy604rfs
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0 mi away
Mantra Hotel at Sydney Airport
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Airport
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Ibis Sydney Airport
#10 of 12 in Mascot
1,861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range: £64 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing