We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel had everything that we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The hotel had everything that we needed”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I needed one night's accommodation close to Sydney airport as our daughter was return from South America on the last flight and we didn't want to drive the three hours back to Canberra late at night. We booked in around 7 pm then then had some dinner in the bistro and then set off to the airport. The room had a very comfortable double bed and a single bed. We were on the street side of the hotel but the double glazing eliminated all the truck and car noise. Room was very clean and the linen was crisp, clean and new. Our room was smallish and the bathroom "pod" was unusual but perfectly fine. Hotel staff were very helpful and gave us instructions regarding the best route back to the airport. Parking was at the hotel and cost only $14 overnight. I recommend this hotel for short stays when people are travelling etc.

Room Tip: A room not street facing is probably better but not a major issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    559
    715
    326
    258
See reviews for
551
616
428
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed at Ibis Budget in August 2013 while attending appointments in Sydney. Having flown in to Sydney domestic airport, Ibis Budget is fewer than five minutes from the exit doors near the airport's baggage collection area. It is so close it doesn't make sense to catch a cab. To my delight, Ibis Budget is open 24 hours. It is a safe and practical place to stay, offering everything you need from privacy to hot showers, immaculate bedding and quiet rooms. With ample car parking and fast food so close they might as well be part of the hotel's, this hotel makes travel easy and affordable The airport also has an underground station as part of the Sydney rail network so the Sydney CBD is in easy reach. A friend of mine stayed here with her extended family booking two rooms before an international flight and is certain she will stay again. So will I and the same applies to any hotels in this chain.

Room Tip: A great place to stay if you are driving to Sydney too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazznhanoi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayreville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Considering we were arriving pretty late in the evening and heading out for a 630 am flight, something near the airport was a must. Considering I had spent the last several months in SE Asia, hotel prices were major sticker shock and I couldn't 'bring myself to spend 200 on a hotel I would be in for less than eight hours!

This was the cheapest option,and I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews, but I was very happy with my stay here. If you don't have unrealistic expectations that this will be some sort of luxury hotel, you are fine. Our room was very clean, as were the linens, and the bed and pillows were so comfortable. Shower was nice and hot. Could easily book a taxi if you don't want to take the shuttle or you are leaving before it is available. You can walk here from the domestic terminal. There are a few fast food restaurants right next to it if you want to grab some food. There is internet but you have to pay.

Check in was very fast and efficient and we were in our room within a couple of minutes of getting there-just asked for the reservation number and handed us a key card and that's it.
I am transiting back through Sydney in a few months and will book here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelliCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently after a long overseas flight, when we were too tired to travel home. Some booking sites say it is about 1.5 KM from the airport but in reality it is a bit further from that and there are closer hotels.

However, it was clean, close and reasonably priced. The compact bathroom would look at home on a boat cabin, but it was functional and clean. For a quick overnight stay it was very handy. The staff were friendly and the check-in and check-out processes were quick and painless.

There was no free wifi available at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-A-Downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Rooms were very basic which was fine, we arrived very late after a long 7 hour drive hoping to climb into bed for a good sleep before our flight the next morning,
I had to make the bunk beds with blankets that had hairs on them and didn't look clean. Our bathroom was filthy dirty bandaid, something all over our shower curtain and marks in our toilet bowl, reception were very apologetic but we needed to wait until the morning to have it cleaned. We asked house keeping to come in and they cleaned the bathroom straight away and then it was spotless, still had an uneasy feeling about the cleanliness of the room. Paper thin walls could hear everything. Maybe we just had a dodgy room.
On a positive note the gentleman at reception was very helpful and friendly and it was only a 10min walk to the airport. Plenty of fast food next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mascot hotels

Canberra
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our triple room consisted of a very small room, a small double bed with a single bunk bed above. The bunk bed came with a warning to be only used by those aged over 12 years, but the mattress was only big enough for a five year old!
No restaurant and only fast food outlets within walking distance. Still need a taxi to reach the airport. This hotel served a function - a bed before a 5am flight - but I do hope I don't have to stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraAussieMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Missed a late night connecting flight and was off very early in the morning so took a room here for the 5 hours I had.
Room was smelly and "greasy" and for the $120 not acceptable. Only positive was the very friendly staff. Not even a kettle to make coffee. Never again

Room Tip: Forget altogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachsando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing