We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all sure why the property has such glowing reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metro Hotel Miranda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Certificate of Excellence
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Not at all sure why the property has such glowing reviews”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

First impression? Grungy lobby.
Second impression? Grubby lifts.

The hotel is very "tired" and even the updated rooms are not much better than barely average, which wouldn't be so bad if the daily rate was more than a tad lower. There is scarcely anywhere to hang/store clothing and the bathroom was not at all well- designed - in fact I found it necessary to go into the main room to get sufficient light to shave by and my wife had similar issues when trying to put on makeup.

TV channel choice? Don't get your hopes up!

All in all, a disappointment.

Room Tip: The "better" (more expensive) rooms have no balconies, nor can you open the windows to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brisbanepete001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Guest,
The guest rooms and bathrooms in the superior rooms where you stayed are excellent, there is a stainless steel hook on the back of the door and a wooden shelf in the bathroom. All rooms have a double glass wardrobe with shelves and a area for hanging clothes. The rooms have huge windows all these rooms are so light and open. Our rate over the week end you stayed here was justified as the hotel was fully booked. Please note the rate is subject to occupancy. I am aware, you have stayed here in the past, perhaps your requirements have not been meet by this Hotel, I thank you for your business in the past and wish you good luck in finding accomodation that suits your needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    130
    43
    15
    6
See reviews for
88
85
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My partner and I stayed at Metro Hotel Miranda on the 22nd of September, room 408. The room was immaculate with great city views. We arrived after hours as we came after attending a wedding and the service was still great. The manager came straight down to greet us and give us access cards to the lift and our room. After a big day it was a comfort to be greeted so well and with such quick response at such a time. Thankyou to the Metro Hotel Miranda team. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Metro Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our after hours check in, is part of the service we offer at Metro Hotel Miranda. Thank you for your positive feed back in regard to room 408. I do remember your arrival, you were both so tired after your big day. Once again Thank you, I appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The room was just what we required, we loved the bird life who were accustomed to the balcony, walking distance to great shops and general locality, staff seemed genuinely interested in any room concerns and happy to help.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Metro Hotel Miranda. I am very pleased the Hotel suited your needs on your school trip.
The location is excellent great shopping and I love the cheeky birds too.
Thank you for your kind words in regard to my staff. This is so appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The pictures on the Internet are of the updated rooms only.... So we were a little disappointed when we saw our 1980's room. Great security with internal hallway access to the rooms. The mattresses were thin but still an okay sleep. The shower was tiny with the corner cut out. The room had everything we needed inc microwave and crockery. Would definitely stay again as it was great value

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodieG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. Metro Hotel Miranda offers Balcony Queen rooms which are 3.5 star and Superior rooms on the top floor which have a selection of room types from Superior suites to King and Queen rooms, also disabled rooms. A selection of photos from all room types were sent to all websites which offered both Balcony queen and the Superior floor room types. All photos should be showing, I apologise for any mis understanding.
The Balcony Queen rooms are 3.5 star and are clean and comfortable, It can be difficult at times when booking accomodation on websites, however I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
All feed back is good, you have brought this to my attention, I will certainly be checking all website to confirm all room types are offered at Metro Hotel Miranda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had booked two rooms and due to an accident we had to cancel the booking on the day of arrival. I contacted the Metro Inn and they explained their cancellation policy which I was already aware of.

When I explained the circumstances they advised a refund would be given only if they were able to "sell" the rooms.

I followed up with an email two days later and attached a certificate from the hospital verifying the circumstances of the no-show. Metro Inn not only responded very promptly to my email and my request for a refund; they did so with much courtesy. If this is the level of service they provide on the phone and via email then I can only assume that the same care will be extended to their guests on arrival and during their stay.

Given the opportunity we would certainly book with Metro Inn again.

Special thanks to Susan (Senior Receptionist)!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank peonyrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Firstly, I hope you are feeling better, and are in good health.
My congratulations to you, as you did every thing in the correct manner.
We were only to happy to refund under the circumstances.
Thank you for your kind words, my ladies all do their very best to look after all our guests.
Hopefully we will meet in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundanoon, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have used the Metro Inn at Miranda twice for business trips, and will use it again if working in southern Sydney. It is an easy walk to the rail station, and there are abundant eateries and other shops across the road. Views from the top floor rooms are great - looks east so you get the sunrise and can see Botany Bay and Towra Point wetlands (of international significance). No noise issues even though there is a busy road below. The top floor rooms are modern and relatively well appointed, with a very good tv, and a high quality bathroom. Breakfasts are basic but good value.

Room Tip: I've only ever used top floor rooms at discount rates through Wotif
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Metro Hotel Miranda, the views are wonderful I agree. The feed back from the 4th floor has been very positive, I value your comments. Once again thank you for your kind words, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miranda
3.1 mi away
Eventhouse Cronulla
Eventhouse Cronulla
#1 of 2 in Cronulla
44 reviews
5.9 mi away
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
#1 of 1 in Brighton le Sands
1,817 reviews
7.5 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cronulla
71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abcot Inn
Abcot Inn
#1 of 1 in Sylvania
89 reviews
6.1 mi away
Engadine Motor Inn
Engadine Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Engadine
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Miranda

Property: Metro Hotel Miranda
Address: 522 - 524 Kingsway | Cnr Jackson Avenue, Miranda, New South Wales 2228, Australia (Formerly Metro Inn Miranda)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Miranda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Miranda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: 45 minutes south of the CBD, the Sutherland Shire is one of Sydney's Best Kept Secrets. Comprised of several suburbs, this beautiful part of the world has something for everyone. From the beach to the shopping centres to the restaurants all travelers can experience a wonderful holiday without even leaving the city. Comfort, service and value for money are what every guest will experience at Metro Hotel Miranda. Whether for the business traveler or a family on holiday, the Metro Hotel Miranda has a room suitable for every guest. Additional bedding can be added to some room types providing even greater value for money. Situated on the highest point of Miranda, the Metro Hotel Miranda boasts spectacular views over Sydney City and Botany Bay. Providing a home away from home atmosphere for all, the Metro Hotel Miranda has 52 well-furnished guestrooms. Each of the well appointed rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, television, radio, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, hairdryer, telephone, microwave, toaster and en-suite. Complimentary wireless internet access is available in each room. A lounge is also open for all guests to enjoy with tea and coffee making facilities, comfy couch, television, computer, dining room table and a bbq on the balcony. Laundry facilities also available. A cafe is located below the hotel, which is open daily for meals at affordable prices.There is also a Fitness First gym below the hotel which guests can use for a nominal fee.The Metro Hotel Miranda has a strict non-smoking policy in the rooms, however many rooms have a balcony that guests can smoke on. Enjoy a visit from the Cockatoos which visit regularly. For the shop-o-holics, Miranda's Westfield shopping centre, one of Australia's largest shopping and entertainment centres, is adjacent to the Metro Hotel Miranda and is easily accessible from the hotel. Renowned for its warm and friendly service, the staff at Metro Hotel Miranda will ensure your stay is a pleasant and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Hotel Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miranda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing