We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice little surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Metro Hotel Miranda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Dunedin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“a nice little surprise!”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

On most occasions you get disappointed by a hotel. In this case I had simply booked as it was walking distance from a morning meeting. the out side of the hotel is a bit run down and you prepare yourself for the worst. Even the lobby is a bit shabby (like a hostel) but nonetheless I knew that they had charged me a very fair rate so I sent ahead. I had paid a little bit more for the superior rooms (4th floor) and on leaving the lift I was actually surprised. The room is small but clean, modern and very functional. It was quite and the trimmings were more than expected. This hotel keeps reminding me that it IS the small things that matter - very friendly (helpful) staff and a hot chocolate before dinner. Next time I have a meeting in Miranda I will stay here!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the top floor. it gives you a desk and is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigsmithdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.
Your kind words are appreciated. I am so pleased Metro Hotel Miranda was, " a nice little surprise". and the Hotel suited your requirements.
You are so correct, its the little things that make all the difference and hot chocolate is definitely one.!!!
Thank you for staying with us, hopefully we may meet again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    118
    42
    13
    6
See reviews for
82
78
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2012

External parking very cramped, undercover parking almost impossible to get into with anything but a small car due to tight bends.
Bathroom very tired, broken tiles with black stains in grout. Lifts and passages quite dirty.
Would comment on the breakfast ordered but it failed to be delivered.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelongnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Car Parking at Metro Hotel Miranda is always very busy however there are 3 levels of undercover parking under the building which is very easy to access. The top 2 car parks are the closest to reception which is why most of my guests choose to park at that location.
Always check with reception as in Sydney, Parking is always at a priority.
Lifts at this location are used by 8 businesses one being a Gym, the lifts are cleaned every day.
Bathrooms in our balcony queen rooms are being upgraded how ever I can assure you they are all very clean.
I do apoligise in regard to the breakfast not being delivered, if you wish to contact me I will personally look into this for you.
I am very sorry we did not meet your requirements if you wish to stay with us again please call me direct and I will personally look after your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. I loved the fact that there was a microwave and fridge and tea kettle in the room as I stayed there for 10 nights. The hotel was very convenient to the train and right next to the mall. There were also several restaurants within walking distance that I ate at which were pretty good. I especially enjoyed the Irish Bakery. I stayed in an older (un-renovated) room with the queen and single beds. I was going to upgrade to a superior room, but it didn't make sense as the room I had was perfectly acceptable. The only problem I had was that a lot of people slammed their room doors which was super annoying especially when I was trying to sleep. Several guests were also very loud in the hallways even though there are 10 millions signs asking people not to be considerate! All in all, I enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Also thank you for your kind words, my staff and I appreciate your feedback. I have tried to make all the rooms with in the Hotel user friendly, as many guests are here for work, all the added amentites are appreciated.
The Hotel doors are heavy doors due to being Fire Rated, I have, as you mentioned requested all guests to consider all my other guests however, I am very sorry to say this dose not always happen.
Yes I agree the Irish Bakery is excellent.
Once again thank you for your kind words, I look forward to meeting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel and paid a rate of $160.00 for a double room (queen bed and a single). We were on the second floor which I am guessing is one of the floors that has not been refurbished. While the sheets and towels and room were clean, the bathroom was extremely run down with chipped tiles, mouldy grout and a vent / fan thing in the wall that was covered in dust and very noisy. The door to the balcony and the window did not seal properly and therefore did not block out the general street noise, it was like sleeping with the door and window wide open. I honestly would not have cared about these few little issues if I had been paying around $100 per night but for $160.00 per night it is a rip off. I stay in Sydney in various locations at least once or twice a month and generally pay around the $140 - $160 rate per night and this is by far not worth the $160 they charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColourMeSurprised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to add this review.
The rate of $160.00 is a week end rate, so not mid week as our mid week rate is from $115.00.
The hotel rate is subject to occupancy, therefore the rate does alter due to occupany.
The Hotel is a great location and is a very popular destination.
Please contact me as you mention you travel for business which I would assume is mid week, as my corporate guests can request a speical rate.
The house keeping issues you mention have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

First impression? Grungy lobby.
Second impression? Grubby lifts.

The hotel is very "tired" and even the updated rooms are not much better than barely average, which wouldn't be so bad if the daily rate was more than a tad lower. There is scarcely anywhere to hang/store clothing and the bathroom was not at all well- designed - in fact I found it necessary to go into the main room to get sufficient light to shave by and my wife had similar issues when trying to put on makeup.

TV channel choice? Don't get your hopes up!

All in all, a disappointment.

Room Tip: The "better" (more expensive) rooms have no balconies, nor can you open the windows to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brisbanepete001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Guest,
The guest rooms and bathrooms in the superior rooms where you stayed are excellent, there is a stainless steel hook on the back of the door and a wooden shelf in the bathroom. All rooms have a double glass wardrobe with shelves and a area for hanging clothes. The rooms have huge windows all these rooms are so light and open. Our rate over the week end you stayed here was justified as the hotel was fully booked. Please note the rate is subject to occupancy. I am aware, you have stayed here in the past, perhaps your requirements have not been meet by this Hotel, I thank you for your business in the past and wish you good luck in finding accomodation that suits your needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My partner and I stayed at Metro Hotel Miranda on the 22nd of September, room 408. The room was immaculate with great city views. We arrived after hours as we came after attending a wedding and the service was still great. The manager came straight down to greet us and give us access cards to the lift and our room. After a big day it was a comfort to be greeted so well and with such quick response at such a time. Thankyou to the Metro Hotel Miranda team. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Metro Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our after hours check in, is part of the service we offer at Metro Hotel Miranda. Thank you for your positive feed back in regard to room 408. I do remember your arrival, you were both so tired after your big day. Once again Thank you, I appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miranda
3.1 mi away
Eventhouse Cronulla
Eventhouse Cronulla
#1 of 2 in Cronulla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
5.9 mi away
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
#1 of 1 in Brighton le Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
9.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Mascot Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sutherland Motel
Sutherland Motel
#4 of 6 in Sutherland Shire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cronulla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
6.1 mi away
Engadine Motor Inn
Engadine Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Engadine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Miranda

Property: Metro Hotel Miranda
Address: 522 - 524 Kingsway | Cnr Jackson Avenue, Miranda, New South Wales 2228, Australia (Formerly Metro Inn Miranda)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Miranda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Miranda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: 45 minutes south of the CBD, the Sutherland Shire is one of Sydney's Best Kept Secrets. Comprised of several suburbs, this beautiful part of the world has something for everyone. From the beach to the shopping centres to the restaurants all travelers can experience a wonderful holiday without even leaving the city. Comfort, service and value for money are what every guest will experience at Metro Hotel Miranda. Whether for the business traveler or a family on holiday, the Metro Hotel Miranda has a room suitable for every guest. Additional bedding can be added to some room types providing even greater value for money. Situated on the highest point of Miranda, the Metro Hotel Miranda boasts spectacular views over Sydney City and Botany Bay. Providing a home away from home atmosphere for all, the Metro Hotel Miranda has 52 well-furnished guestrooms. Each of the well appointed rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, television, radio, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, hairdryer, telephone, microwave, toaster and en-suite. Complimentary wireless internet access is available in each room. A lounge is also open for all guests to enjoy with tea and coffee making facilities, comfy couch, television, computer, dining room table and a bbq on the balcony. Laundry facilities also available. A cafe is located below the hotel, which is open daily for meals at affordable prices.There is also a Fitness First gym below the hotel which guests can use for a nominal fee.The Metro Hotel Miranda has a strict non-smoking policy in the rooms, however many rooms have a balcony that guests can smoke on. Enjoy a visit from the Cockatoos which visit regularly. For the shop-o-holics, Miranda's Westfield shopping centre, one of Australia's largest shopping and entertainment centres, is adjacent to the Metro Hotel Miranda and is easily accessible from the hotel. Renowned for its warm and friendly service, the staff at Metro Hotel Miranda will ensure your stay is a pleasant and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Hotel Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miranda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing