We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metro Hotel Miranda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic all round”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We expected a bigger room and balcony or at least an opening window for what we paid for a superior room. We questioned the size of bed but were assured it was a queen so would have to say it was definitely the smallest queen bed we have had in any accommodation! There is a shortage of convenient power points to charge phones etc as well as bench space in the room and bathroom to put bits and pieces. Overall the superior room was quite cramped. Other family stayed in standard rooms, also overpriced for what they were; old and tired looking although they did have a balcony for fresh air, even if it was shared with other rooms on that floor. Every family member in the standard rooms felt the beds were too hard and they all heard the lifts going up and down, and even some early morning calls for staff to report somewhere. Key cards in the lifts and rooms were a continual problem. After advising staff they weren't working, we were told you can't put them next to your mobile phone, keys or coins so basically you have to have a pocket or place just to keep your key card. Either advise guests of this on arrival or improve the programming on the key card! One of our key cards was kept in our room the whole time and it wouldn't work after day two, so don't know how that one can be explained! Although not Metro's problem, the taxi service for this area is shocking and guests should be warned that booking a taxi does not guarantee you one at the time you want, allow an extra 30 to 40 minutes to be on the safe side and hopefully you won't miss most of the wedding you travelled here for! I have given Metro Miranda two stars; one for Dale the night manager who was helpful enough and seemed to have her hands full dealing with a few other situations, and the other star for good housekeeping. No stars for value for money, but given that accommodation in this area is rather scarce, don't expect that's going to change.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplejuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Before staying at any accommodation it is always advisable to read the Hotel description as we clearly state the superior floor have amazing views however all rooms have air cons, we never advise that that these rooms have balconies.
The bathrooms have 2 shelves, so for a night or 2, I would have thought that was adequate.
These Superior rooms are not cramped, it is possible you should have booked one of the apartments, which would have have given you 2 rooms.
All the beds in the Hotel are brand new, they are SEALY BEDS made to a MEDIUM standard HOTEL Commercial. In the feed back I have received they are very comfortable.
Our key cards are causing some issues with guests but we are so concerned about the security and my guests safely until the lift company can change the system this is what we have to use, however if these keys are used correctly they are are an excellent system, only a small percentage of guests have problems with the system. I am aware of the Hotel / Motel prices in the Sutherland shire and METRO HOTEL MIRANDA is actually very reasonably priced for value for money. Happy travels to you I hope you will find accommodation in the future that suits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    140
    46
    15
    6
See reviews for
98
92
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

room key cards kept causing greif, we came back one night and the card wouldn't unlock our door. The after hours lady blamed us by having our phones too close when I have had my phone in my pocket and key card separately in my handbag/wallet the whole time. Also the rooms are average for the price you pay. However the Polish cafe underneath was great and I would return there, but not to this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you had a problem with the keys, however if your key in your bag was by your mobile it is possible to wipe the data on the cards.
The Hotels offers 3 .5 star and 4 star accommodation, the choice is yours of course. As for the rate for the room provided it was a bigger room as you had 3 people in the room and at $65.00 per person for the first night, It was not over priced. The 2nd night was based on week end rates it was again your choice to move to a smaller room and pay a reduced rate for a balcony queen room. I do agree the cafe is excellent thank you. Happy travels to you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Compared to other options nearby, this hotel is pretty good value. We stayed in one of their non-renovated rooms, which was clean and fine but very tired. We didn't want to spend $160+ for a 'renovated' one, which frankly just doesn't seem good value. Why they don't take enough pride in their establishment to renovate all the rooms (which, based on the pictures, doesn't look like more than a lick of paint), I don't know. Their electronic key system is rubbish, the person at reception laughed and said that everyone has problems with the system - which I would think should encourage them to fix it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TazzieDevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. You begin your review with the prices at this Hotel being reasonable, and you are correct in this statement, how ever you are incorrect in the rates that you quoted.
At Metro Hotel Miranda we offer guests a choice on accommodation between 3.5 star and 4 star, why should every room have to be identical, that would stop my guests having a choice in room type and price. Actually the top floor took a little more than a coat of paint it was a totally new floor to this hotel with amazing views over Sydney with modern facilities and decor.
The key card system in the lift can for some guests be difficult to understand if you remove the card to quickly it cannot read all the data on the card which I assume you have may have done.
The key card system is serviced on an regular basis and does not have to be fixed.
Thank you for staying at Metro Hotel Miranda, Happy travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berry, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Booked to stay two nights.. We had a room on the second floor, which was very dated and in much need of an overhaul. The room was on the corner of the building and as such was close to the Kingsway. The road noise was a problem as we had to keep the balcony door open. The airconditioner whilst it worked, was more like a 737 in the bedroom so that was of no use. The most uncomfortable nights sleep I have ever had at any hotel I have stayed in. I travel regularly within Australia and overseas. We left our key at reception (was not open when we had to leave the hotel) and couldn't face staying another night. Two nights accommodation paid for only one nights stay. Im sure other rooms are in better condition (by reading other reviews). Just make sure you get one of those if you decide to stay here and make sure its on the quiet side of the hotel. Very disappointing!

Room Tip: Stay away from the Kingsway and make sure the air conditioner is in good order (quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb2535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest ,Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry you did not find Metro Hotel suitable to your needs. Unfortunately you did not speak to myself or my staff to voice your concerns, I am contactable 24 hours, all my contact details are in all rooms. If you do not communicate with me, I cannot assist and resolve your concerns. My reception is not 24 hours as this is not required at this Hotel however reception is open 14 hours a day. The Hotel is located on a busy road, however there have been major road works over the last few weeks due to West field makeover.The air conditioner has been checked it was adjusted to fan mode and this was vibrating, if you had contacted me I could have corrected this for you. Once again I am very sorry you did not contact me and very disappointed, you just departed and did not notify myself or my staff. If in the future you need accommodation in this area please contact me and I will personally look after your reservation. Happy travels to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel was OK, but no more. Paid 160$ for one room with one double bed and one single bed, for Saturday night. Bed was comfortable, room was clean. But room key cards kept not working, and lift was also temperamental (also room key card operated) - would not stop on lobby floor for us or others. Cathy on reception was friendly and helpful but a bit stretched with so many things not working. Breakfast would have been 20$ each (pretty steep) and although there's a McD round the corner, you cannot get into it till 10am Sunday. Parking was on rooftop, included in room rate, OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t4g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at Metro Hotel Miranda, and taking the time to write this review. At Metro Hotel we do offer 3.5 star and 4 star accommodation. The $160.00 rate on a Saturday is based on Occupancy there fore we would have been fully booked over the week end you were in Miranda. You do have the option of the 4 star accommodation which are rooms on the top floor and only 18 months old. The breakfast that you mentioned in the cafe are priced from $6.95, the most expensive breakfast which is the big breakfast is $16.95 and is massive and delicious.
The key card system we use in the Hotel can be a little tricky at times however it is usually the guest not using the card system correctly, usually pulling the card out of the reader in the lift to quickly so the data on the card cannot be read .It is also a shared lift with other businesses at this location which can sometimes confuse our guests. Once again thank you for staying at Metro Hotel Miranda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I booked in to stay for two nights whilst i attended day sugery at a nearby hospital. The room was a little dated on level 1 but very clean,tidy and comfortable. The television had a number of channels to watch, including foxtel. The staff were friendly and accomodating. Off street parking was a bonus as parking in the area can be quite restricting.Ideal location, close to railway station and shopping centre.I would like to stay there again but possibly in a room on the higher levels.

Room Tip: Level 1 rooms that faced east were directly above carpark.Request rooms that are on the higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for you kind review. The rooms on the 1st floor are very comfortable and you still get a nice view towards Sydney and Botany Bay. The most important comment you made in your review is in regard to my staff. I thank you for your comments.
On behalf of the staff at Metro Hotel we hope you are fit and well again and on the mend.
Thank you for staying with us at Miranda, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Having returned to Sydney for business meetings it is ideal once again for me for location and close to amenities. There is now a cafe on the ground floor for breakfasts which is great.
Also they have obviously upgraded their television network and Foxtel is now available with movie channels. ( I Love my movies )

My compliments to the Manager and the staff on good service and friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Must stay on the 4th floor it is very nice neat and tidy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Metro Hotel Miranda and posting your kind review. The cafe is a hit with our guests, all enjoying the meals that the cafe offers. Foxtell has been upgraded recently and the movie cannel and sports 3 has been added to our foxtel channels.
My staff here at Metro Hotel Miranda all do their best to make our guests feel welcome and all enjoy their stay with us. Once again thank you for your kind words and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miranda
3.1 mi away
Eventhouse Cronulla
Eventhouse Cronulla
#1 of 2 in Cronulla
51 reviews
5.9 mi away
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
#1 of 1 in Brighton le Sands
1,842 reviews
7.5 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cronulla
71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abcot Inn
Abcot Inn
#1 of 1 in Sylvania
92 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caringbah Hotel
Caringbah Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caringbah
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Miranda

Property: Metro Hotel Miranda
Address: 522 - 524 Kingsway | Cnr Jackson Avenue, Miranda, New South Wales 2228, Australia (Formerly Metro Inn Miranda)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Miranda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Miranda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: 45 minutes south of the CBD, the Sutherland Shire is one of Sydney's Best Kept Secrets. Comprised of several suburbs, this beautiful part of the world has something for everyone. From the beach to the shopping centres to the restaurants all travelers can experience a wonderful holiday without even leaving the city. Comfort, service and value for money are what every guest will experience at Metro Hotel Miranda. Whether for the business traveler or a family on holiday, the Metro Hotel Miranda has a room suitable for every guest. Additional bedding can be added to some room types providing even greater value for money. Situated on the highest point of Miranda, the Metro Hotel Miranda boasts spectacular views over Sydney City and Botany Bay. Providing a home away from home atmosphere for all, the Metro Hotel Miranda has 52 well-furnished guestrooms. Each of the well appointed rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, television, radio, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, hairdryer, telephone, microwave, toaster and en-suite. Complimentary wireless internet access is available in each room. A lounge is also open for all guests to enjoy with tea and coffee making facilities, comfy couch, television, computer, dining room table and a bbq on the balcony. Laundry facilities also available. A cafe is located below the hotel, which is open daily for meals at affordable prices.There is also a Fitness First gym below the hotel which guests can use for a nominal fee.The Metro Hotel Miranda has a strict non-smoking policy in the rooms, however many rooms have a balcony that guests can smoke on. Enjoy a visit from the Cockatoos which visit regularly. For the shop-o-holics, Miranda's Westfield shopping centre, one of Australia's largest shopping and entertainment centres, is adjacent to the Metro Hotel Miranda and is easily accessible from the hotel. Renowned for its warm and friendly service, the staff at Metro Hotel Miranda will ensure your stay is a pleasant and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Hotel Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miranda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing