We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, but clean and close to everything and free wifi!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Hotel Miranda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metro Hotel Miranda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic, but clean and close to everything and free wifi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights in a twin room on the third floor.
The location of this hotel is probably the best thing going for it. Its only minutes from the train station on the cronulla line, so if you're coming to sydney by plane, you dont need a taxi or hire car to get there. Its across the road from miranda westfield, and there's heaps of restaurants within walking distance. Highly recommend the thai place next to the cinema.
If you're fastidious about such stuff, you wont like the worn features of the bathrooms, but as for the rezt of the room, it was clean, neat and had comfy beds.
There is free wifi, and foxtel (some channels).
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. You get a fair bit of road noise from the kingsway sideof the hotel. We also found that the room got a bit stuffy overnight if we turned the aircon off, but, the aircon is very loud.
The swipe cards to the rooms were a nuisance and would take up to a dozen tries to open the door.
overall, I would stay again, its just a great location hanxy to everything.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Octagonal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Metro Hotel Miranda. We offer our guests a choice of 3.5 star and 4 star accommodation. While the 3 .5 star is clean and tidy all rooms have balconies. All the rooms have new beds all bathrooms have been upgraded.
Location is a plus at Metro Hotel Miranda as we are very convenient.
We are looking at changing the key card system in the lifts to make it easier for guests to use.
Happy travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    99
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
66
65
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Narooma
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

While the rooms were tired looking (and in need of updating), the rooms and complex itself was clean and staff were friendly and efficient. It is very close to everything you would need for a 1 night stay/stopover and is only 10 minutes (drive) from the beach.

Room Tip: Top floor is sans balcony, it does have the upgraded rooms. Third floor and below have the joy of vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryEscardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write a review during your stay at Metro Hotel Miranda. I agree the location of the Hotel is excellent. My house keeping staff work to a high standard and we do our best to keep the Hotel clean and tidy. We do have a choice of 3.5 star or 4 star rooms available to our guest while the 3.5 is an older style the rooms are very clean.
Happy travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emu Plains
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed recently. We booked a top floor room as they have been recently renovated. It was a perfectly squeaky clean room, the King size bed (and pillows)were very comfortable, bathroom was also very nice, the staff were helpful AND it was located close to station and Miranda Westfield. We had no problem with the key card (listened closely to instructions/tips on use of card). We would choose to stay here again. Great value for money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at Metro Hotel Miranda. Your review was very kind, thank you. I agree the Metro is a great place to stay, the location is great close to every thing, shops, train, restaurants, hospitals and doctors. I am very happy you enjoyed the top floor, great views and nice rooms. Once again I appreciate your thoughts. Happy travel's to you both, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My family recently stayed at the Metro Miranda for 2 nights. While the room was very basic and a tad outdated, it was clean, average in size and great value for what we paid for The highlight for our 7 year old son was hand feeding the wild cockatoos and rainbow parrots that lob on our balcony each morning.

One minor issue (And it seems to be a common problem with our guests comments) was the access card we were issued with would not access our room. The lady at the reception was very helpful and professional. She took time to reprogram the card and came up our room to ensure that the card worked (it did) and the whole issue was sorted in less then five minutes. We were impressed by this level of customer service.

The cafe attached to the motel was absolutely brillant. I believe it is run and owned by a Polish Australian lady. She was fantastic. Very friendly and a pleasure to talk to. The Polish scrambled eggs were to die for (Even got the recipe of this extremelly nice lady). Scrumpcious as and plenty of them. My wifes eggs benedict the same and our son loved his raison toast. The food was very reasonable priced and I really enjoyed the large cappuccino. If you stay at the motel, do yourself a favour and shout yourself some breakie at the cafe, you won't regret it.

All in all, great value and location to Westfields, Miranda train station and Cronulla, with good service as.well. The only feedback I suggest to improve peoples stay is, please get your access card issue sorted out.

Mark and Vanessa
Taree

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor. I believe the motel's fourth floor has been completly updated. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Mark and Vanessa, Thank you for your kind review. Your comments in regard to my staff and the cleanliness of the Hotel rooms are appreciated. We are upgrading all our bathrooms on 3 levels at present, we are constantly try to improve the standard of the Hotel.
The bird life is amazing and often surprise our guests with a visit. I think our biscuits are a favorite with the birds. I agree with your comments in regard to the cafe, The ladies are so friendly and the food is delicious, I am very happy to suggest to my guests to visit the cafe for breakfast.
Once again thank you for your kind thoughts. Happy travel's to your wife and son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here in December while moving house. We stayed in the apartment which is very well equipped and great for a family. The apartment and rooms are very clean and the staff are very helpful. Will definitely recommend this place to others. Don't expect 5 star luxury, the rooms are a bit old fashioned, but squeaky clean. A credit to the staff there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 276Ngaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the apartment at Metro Hotel Miranda. The apartment is ideal for families,and for guests who need a longer stay, the apartment with the kitchenette is ideal and with the 2 bathrooms it works for families. I appreciate your kind review especially in regard to the cleanliness of the Hotel as my housekeeping staff all work very hard to keep up the standard.
Thank you for staying with us at Metro Hotel Miranda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed here recently in one of the 4th floor renovated rooms, so I can't comment on the older rooms...

Spotlessly clean room and linen, great bathroom with good hot shower, comfortable bed, best hotel pillows I've had in a while, and a good sized TV. Easy free parking, location right next to huge Westfield. Our room was literately right next to the lift, and we didn't hear a thing. We were warned very clearly by staff at check in regarding the issue with mobile phones and the keycards, however we didn't have any issues.

The room wasn't huge, but big enough for myself, my wife and our baby. If you need any more room than that, pay up and get an apartment style room rather than complain about your studio room! Given the lack of other options in the area, the price was reasonable.

Getting a cab was a little difficult, but hardly the hotels fault. Not many taxis in the area at all.

Will happily stay here again any time we need accommodation in the area.

Room Tip: 4th floor renovated room worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pdearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review.
My staff and I appreciate your thoughts and I agree with your comments. It can be very difficult at times especially when we all work so hard to make our guests feel happy and secure at Metro Hotel Miranda. My house keepers are a good team and in my opinion, clean and service the Hotel rooms to a high standard, thank you for your comments in regard to the cleanliness of the Hotel.
All the very best to you happy travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We expected a bigger room and balcony or at least an opening window for what we paid for a superior room. We questioned the size of bed but were assured it was a queen so would have to say it was definitely the smallest queen bed we have had in any accommodation! There is a shortage of convenient power points to charge phones etc as well as bench space in the room and bathroom to put bits and pieces. Overall the superior room was quite cramped. Other family stayed in standard rooms, also overpriced for what they were; old and tired looking although they did have a balcony for fresh air, even if it was shared with other rooms on that floor. Every family member in the standard rooms felt the beds were too hard and they all heard the lifts going up and down, and even some early morning calls for staff to report somewhere. Key cards in the lifts and rooms were a continual problem. After advising staff they weren't working, we were told you can't put them next to your mobile phone, keys or coins so basically you have to have a pocket or place just to keep your key card. Either advise guests of this on arrival or improve the programming on the key card! One of our key cards was kept in our room the whole time and it wouldn't work after day two, so don't know how that one can be explained! Although not Metro's problem, the taxi service for this area is shocking and guests should be warned that booking a taxi does not guarantee you one at the time you want, allow an extra 30 to 40 minutes to be on the safe side and hopefully you won't miss most of the wedding you travelled here for! I have given Metro Miranda two stars; one for Dale the night manager who was helpful enough and seemed to have her hands full dealing with a few other situations, and the other star for good housekeeping. No stars for value for money, but given that accommodation in this area is rather scarce, don't expect that's going to change.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplejuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Before staying at any accommodation it is always advisable to read the Hotel description as we clearly state the superior floor have amazing views however all rooms have air cons, we never advise that that these rooms have balconies.
The bathrooms have 2 shelves, so for a night or 2, I would have thought that was adequate.
These Superior rooms are not cramped, it is possible you should have booked one of the apartments, which would have have given you 2 rooms.
All the beds in the Hotel are brand new, they are SEALY BEDS made to a MEDIUM standard HOTEL Commercial. In the feed back I have received they are very comfortable.
Our key cards are causing some issues with guests but we are so concerned about the security and my guests safely until the lift company can change the system this is what we have to use, however if these keys are used correctly they are are an excellent system, only a small percentage of guests have problems with the system. I am aware of the Hotel / Motel prices in the Sutherland shire and METRO HOTEL MIRANDA is actually very reasonably priced for value for money. Happy travels to you I hope you will find accommodation in the future that suits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miranda
3.1 mi away
Eventhouse Cronulla
Eventhouse Cronulla
#1 of 2 in Cronulla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
5.9 mi away
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
#1 of 1 in Brighton le Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
9.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
2.7 mi away
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cronulla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sutherland Motel
Sutherland Motel
#3 of 6 in Sutherland Shire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Miranda

Property: Metro Hotel Miranda
Address: 522 - 524 Kingsway | Cnr Jackson Avenue, Miranda, New South Wales 2228, Australia (Formerly Metro Inn Miranda)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Miranda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Miranda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: 45 minutes south of the CBD, the Sutherland Shire is one of Sydney's Best Kept Secrets. Comprised of several suburbs, this beautiful part of the world has something for everyone. From the beach to the shopping centres to the restaurants all travelers can experience a wonderful holiday without even leaving the city. Comfort, service and value for money are what every guest will experience at Metro Hotel Miranda. Whether for the business traveler or a family on holiday, the Metro Hotel Miranda has a room suitable for every guest. Additional bedding can be added to some room types providing even greater value for money. Situated on the highest point of Miranda, the Metro Hotel Miranda boasts spectacular views over Sydney City and Botany Bay. Providing a home away from home atmosphere for all, the Metro Hotel Miranda has 52 well-furnished guestrooms. Each of the well appointed rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, television, radio, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, hairdryer, telephone, microwave, toaster and en-suite. Complimentary wireless internet access is available in each room. A lounge is also open for all guests to enjoy with tea and coffee making facilities, comfy couch, television, computer, dining room table and a bbq on the balcony. Laundry facilities also available. A cafe is located below the hotel, which is open daily for meals at affordable prices.There is also a Fitness First gym below the hotel which guests can use for a nominal fee.The Metro Hotel Miranda has a strict non-smoking policy in the rooms, however many rooms have a balcony that guests can smoke on. Enjoy a visit from the Cockatoos which visit regularly. For the shop-o-holics, Miranda's Westfield shopping centre, one of Australia's largest shopping and entertainment centres, is adjacent to the Metro Hotel Miranda and is easily accessible from the hotel. Renowned for its warm and friendly service, the staff at Metro Hotel Miranda will ensure your stay is a pleasant and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Metro Hotel Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miranda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing