We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel let down by noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Parramatta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good hotel let down by noise”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The hotel has been recently refurbished and looks good. I have a had excellent meals in the restaurant. The rooms are comfortable and the beds are excellent. It was a pity that the guest room doors are set to slam closed, the plumbing can be heard from other rooms and the air condnitioning is very noisy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Rydges Parramatta. We are very glad that you enjoyed your meals and our 'Rydges Dream Beds'. We feel it is very important for us to hear your comments and have the opportunity to rectify any deficiencies, and work towards providing improved service standards and product, so thank you again for your feedback.
Rydges Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    233
    115
    58
    24
See reviews for
101
137
31
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Only stayed here as it was the recommended preferred place of stay for the conference I attended at Rosehill function centre. The rooms were very tired looking, bed saggy,the air-conditioning did not work on the first night (the same day it reached 39C outside) and the noise from the traffic on the busy James Ruse drive was awful. The air-conditioning was repaired on the 2nd night, but it sounded like a jet was taking off. The tariff was very expensive as well as the in room goods eg they were asking $7.50 for a litre bottle of water in your room. Luckily you can walk around the corner to Woolies and buy 1.5 litre bottles of water for 72 cents. Internet was also being charged at 75 cents a minute, although you could get free wi fi at reception. On the morning the conference ended everybody wanted to checkout at the same time and only 2 staff were on the desk to deal with this. Check your bill as I was going to be charged extra for drinks I didn't purchase at the bar as well as food I didn't take from the mini bar. My colleague also found that on one of her night's stay she was being charged more than a $100.00 than what her original quoted price was. The staff did fix up these errors. I definitely wouldn't stay here again unless I was absolutely desperate for accommodation. I felt that Rydges knew the demand for accommodation at the time so tried to take full advantage of companies/people's money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdnilAustinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges Parramatta. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and upon check out. We are very sorry for the loud air conditioning issues and the mistake on your account. Your feedback has been passed onto our Maintenance Manager and Food & Beverage Manager for their follow up. The charge for in-room broadband is 75 cents per minute, however as well as having free wifi available in our foyer, as you have mentioned, our Rydges Priority Guest members [a free membership program] also receive 50% off their in room internet. At Rydges Parramatta, we appreciate all feedback provided to us by our guests and genuinely thank you for taking the time to do so. It is very important for us to hear your comments, have the opportunity to rectify any deficiencies and work towards providing improved service standards and product for our guests.
Rydges Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rosehill hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Staff were all very friendly from check in to check out.
Rooms were clean and comfortable, especially the bed. Had issues with the air-conditioning though as it was very noisy and had to get out of bed during the night to turn it off.
Room service dinner was also great. Will be back when I am in Sydney again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here Rydges Parramatta, and found the staff to be friendly & efficient, as this is something we pride ourselves on. Your feedback regarding your room service dinner has been passed onto our Executive Chef. The comments about the air conditioning unit were addressed with the Maintenance Manager for follow up. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, as we do appreciate all feedback provided to us by our guests, and we use this information to develop our service and product standards.
Rydges Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Leonards, Australia
Level Contributor
538 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Very comfortable, handy to Parramatta CBD. Nicely appointed rooms with a luxurious bed. Room service was prompt and affordable whilst the restaurant provided an excellent menu selection. Great stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Parramatta. We are very glad to hear that you had a great stay here and enjoyed the use of our many facilities and services.
Rydges Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goulburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I enjoyed a fantastic day at the Melbourne cup function held at the hotel. It was extremely organised and the food was fantastic! The atmosphere was great too even though I didn’t back a winner in the cup! Will definitely go again next year but will book in advance to get a great table.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
We are very glad that you enjoyed our Melbourne Cup function. A fantastic day was had by all. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Parramatta in the near future.
Rydges Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This was my third time here :) I love it - Rooms are great, location is too :) Some of the staff are not that friendly :S Room Service wasn't the best but the breakfast Buffett was amazing :) Will always stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caddybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed our delicious breakfast buffet. Your comments regarding room service and staff have been taken seriously and passed onto our staff for their development. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Parramatta in the future.
Rydges Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights for work - running training in a conference room. I must say the staff are just soooooo good here - every single person I spoke to was just wonderful. Ben helped us with our workshop, and he genuinely made sure everything was good - checking with me, even when I didn't seek him out. Even the bar staff - I think she was the manager - in the Winning Post Bar remembered me each night - even though I only had half a glass of wine each night! Very classy work. Staff are just great. Morning Tea, lunch and afternoon tea were just great for our workshop. But....room service meals at night were poor - in no way consistent with everything else. First night I ordered the curry of the day and sent it back. Second night had a burger - pretty lack lustre. Third night I had a steak - much better option - really good. I wonder if there is a change over of kitchen stadff in the evening? - room service meals were so out of keeping with everything else.
This is a great place to stay, and do training - as long as you don't eat dinner there via room service. Very strange that this one aspect falls down.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SampaulMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here Rydges Parramatta, and found the staff to be friendly & efficient, as this is something we pride ourselves on. Your comments regarding your room service meals have been passed onto our Executive Chef. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, as we do appreciate all feedback provided to us by our guests, and we use this information to develop our service and product standards.
Rydges Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosehill
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 11 in Parramatta
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 11 in Parramatta
1,126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments George Street, Parramatta
1.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Church Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Parramatta

Property: Rydges Parramatta
Address: 116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Parramatta Rosehill
Rydges Parramatta Hotel Rosehill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing