We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service disappointing room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rydges Parramatta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Central coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service disappointing room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

The service at the motel was impecable, however I have to say i was slightly disappointed in the room. I did get a factastic price for the room so really don't want to complain but feel like the standard at which I am use to wih Rydges was not the same! The bathroom ceiling had mould on it, the windows had the rubber coming out of which scared me to allow the kids near it and the airconditioner really did not work. When we looked in the top cupboard we found that the airconditioner filter must not have been cleaned in months.
I love Rydges motels and againI want to say the service was fantastic however I thought the standard of the room was quite poor, sorry to say! Maybe it was because of the price we paid for the room I am not really sure!

Room Tip: Pay more maybe it may make a difference!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell_CCentralcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hi Shell_CCentralcoast,

We love our customers and we love to hear that our customer service was tops! Great work to the team! Thanks!

It is great to hear also that you got a good deal on the accommodaiton. Rest assured that the price you pay does not equate to the quality of our room. I would love to hear from you so that we can look at the room you stayed in and make sure that all the points you raised are sorted out.

Looking forward to seeing you again at Rydges Parramatta.

Thanks Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    231
    115
    58
    24
See reviews for
100
137
31
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed for 6 nights. Room 505 and later 403
We chose this hotel partly to be equally far away to our Sydney sights and partly to be away from the buzz in the city.
After coming arriving to the hotel the 2nd night, the aircon was on the lowest, freezing cold.
Also, the ventilation was making a terrible noise. I asked to change the room, but they only had one available on the 4th floor, 403.
Since it was in the middle of the night, and couldnt bother with packing and changing the room, we decided to stay that night, despite the noise.
The day after we got the other room, 403.
Throughout the whole night, there was a noisy sound, every 20 seconds (exactly like someone else has been writing below!!) that sounded like someone is flushing the toilet just beside you! Very annoying. Since the hotel was full (Race weekend apparently, which we didnt know anything about), we had to stay in this room.
About the race weekend: We came home one night, around 9 oclock, there was mayhem at the hotel. Felt like walking into a night club, with drunk people screaming around. Awkward feeling to come to your hotel and face this tackiness.
Came up to the hotel room, and it was quiet, until the live band started to play. They stopped however fairly early which was a relief.

Look, all in all this is an average hotel, suitable for race weekenders and business travellers on a budget. Would be a 3 star hotel in Europe.
Quite comfy bed, although a bit soft. Wifey liked it though.
Doors are slamming loudly.
Service ok, they did what they could. Free parking a plus.

Conclusiuon:
Not coming back to this hotel, next time in Sydney, we will gladly spend a few more hundreds to get a proper hotel experience.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the back side of the hotel instead of front, which will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Hi Veli,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We certainly appreciate the effort and detail provided. Thanks also for the tips and positive comments. The free parking is certainly a bonus and it is great to hear that the front desk staff assisted as much as possible. I do apologise as the rooms were not up to the standard we expect. We do understand that maintenance problems do arise and try to fix them as fast as possible.

Cheers for the feedback and great tips.

Mieke Kremer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed here for one night recently when in Sydney on business. The hotel has been updated both in public areas and rooms. The room was well fitted and comfortable.

Compliments go to the staff on the front desk who were very friendly and helpful, including a room upgrade on arrival. We ate dinner in the hotel resteraunt which was okay and reasonable value for money.

On the down side there was a running water noise audible in the room which was annoying but did not really keep me awake, secondly breakfast at $29.00 seemed expensive with no option of continental so should you not want a full cooked breakfast this was not great value.

Overall though a good stay and I would stay again when next needing to spend a night in this part of Sydney

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Hi Mark,

Thanks for your review. It is great to see how we are reviewed by a regular TripAdvisor member. A big congrats to our Front Desk staff and their commitment to our guests. A free upgrade is always a great bonus! Talk to us about our breakfast options as the Brekki on the Go sound like a perfect option for you!

Thanks for your review and taking the time to complete so many TripAdvisor.

Look forward to seeing you here again I hope.

Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had water system door behind our bad that makes noise through out d nite every 20 seconds like someone flashing d toilet next to u
Staff wasn't helpful at all they said we have full house what do u want us to do?
Very rude.can't believe they put my family in that faulty room
We hardly got any sleep for 6 days
Awful experience

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mjesec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Mjesec,

Thanks for your review. I recall your stay with us very clearly. Our accommodation was fully booked on the first night of your stay. This did make room moving you not possible. The plumbing in some rooms is louder than others.

For the remainder of your stay there were rooms we could have moved you to. We tried calling and left a message under your door but we never heard from you again. Sorry about the mix up.

We would love to have you here again and provide you with a peaceful sleep that you deserve.

Thanks Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rosehill hotels

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

The staff were friendly but not always accommodating; there is a small fridge in the room which i did ask (more than once) to have emptied so i could put some cold soft drinks in there which i thought was a reasonable request however the only answer i kept getting was that it is hotel policy not to do so. I'm not sure that if they force you to have a full mini bar in the room you will use it which i think is a bit short sighted.

The hotel has more than one bar however during my 7 night stay they all closed at around 9.30 for some bizarre reason (something to do with there being no one in for 10 minutes) & the only place that stayed open was the restaurant where the drinks were very expensive.

I had a pleasent enough stay but not sure if i would go back again if i'm in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the ones on the front face a very busy and noisy main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roque1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hi Roque1,

Thanks for you review and taking to time to put up some great pics of the hotel. We are more than happy for our guests to use the mini bar fridge for their own use. We do not remove it as we are happy for you to place it on the shelf above the fridge and we will replace it once you leave.

We certainly hope to see you here again and bring a colleague or two with you to the bar and we be sure to keep it open.

Cheers, Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I enjoy coming back to this location. It has freindly staff, good clean facilities, and the selection on the menu is great.
Also the location allows for easy access to the freeway and other facilities in the area. The only concern I have is the high price for a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BS-TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Hey BS-TW,

Stocked to hear that you are a regular visitor at Rydges Parramatta. It is such a boost for the team to hear a great review by a return guest!! We have a new Breakfast on the Go menu which gives you some great options. Try the Bacon and Egg Panini is DELICIOUS!!

We can't wait to see you here again.

Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paynesville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Excellent to see you have reviewed your menu to include more vegetarian options - the last stay really enjoyed the selection - I am a vegetarian but quite a lot of our staff despite not being dedicated vegetarians also enjoy a "vege" meal on a regular basis - a couple of comments from others on our staff who have stayed at the hotel - well done! Only comment I do have is that the Rydges Priority Club is slightly misleading - the sign at reception shows 20% off meals etc but when you read "the fine print" this excludes breakfast and room service - don't feel this is appropriate in terms of the advertised benefits and certainly an issue with us as we do have a large number of staff travelling regularly - unsure if our policy of choosing Rydges represents value relative to some of the other hotels with special "packages: that include meals (particularly breakfast). As the National Manager responsible for accommodation and conferencing, I was a little disappointed when I compared the benefits of Rydges Priority Club to some of the other programs we experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Maureen,

I love that we are your first review on Trip Advisor. The vegetarian meal options must have been great! You are right, our menus have changed recently and with more Vegetarians or people with special dietary needs we wanted to incorporate this into our menu. Sounds like we succeeded. Our Chefs are always ready to help and alter meals as our guest’s need.

As part of the Rydges Priority Guest program, we love to get people out of their rooms and into the outlets for their meals. This way we can see how your day has been or wish you a happy day ahead. If you would like to know about more specials then please feel free to contact us direct as we always have lots of new promotions running.

Thanks for you review. Look forward to seeing you again.

Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosehill
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
0.1 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments George Street, Parramatta
1.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Church Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Parramatta

Property: Rydges Parramatta
Address: 116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Parramatta Rosehill
Rydges Parramatta Hotel Rosehill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing