We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if can't find anything else in the area”
Review of Metro Inn Ryde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metro Inn Ryde
Ranked #1 of 4 Ryde B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a basic notel - don't expect anything else. We had to find somewhere in this area at 5pm at night. The room was clean (ish) but the bedding was terrible. Due to the terrible fabric of the blankets, the under and over sheets kept sliding off. My son said the same thing happened in the sofabed. We needed an early breakfast so decided to take up the $10 breakfast offer. Absolutely dreadful - not a single piece of bread other than basic while loaf, tinned fruit, yoghurt and four cereals. Plus plastic cheese slices and strange looking ham!! There is a coffee shop across the road that we didn't notice in time. The noise from the traffic outside woke us at 6.00am but that was expected given the location. I wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabellaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydeInn, Front Office Manager at Metro Inn Ryde, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you IsabellaCanberra for taking the time to review our Hotel.
Firstly, thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of your room. We take great pride in providing spotlessly clean rooms for all our guests.
We are sorry to see that you didn't completely enjoy your stay here with us. Our $10 Continental consist of 6 breakfast cereals, Yoghurt, Fresh Fruit, Fruit Salad, Orange / Apple Juice, Coffee & Tea, Toast (White, Brown & Multi-grain), freshly sliced ham & sliced tasty cheese. It would appear that the morning you had breakfast with us the staff member overseeing breakfast failed to re-stock the breakfast items as required, please accept our apologies for this. This matter has been addressed with the staff member involved.
As you mentioned, we are located on a main road however the majority of our rooms are not affected by road noise at all.
Thank you again for your review and we hope you will reconsider & stay with us again so you can enjoy the improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights as he was working in Sydney. Our accommodation was booked thru his work and I have to say I wasn't really looking forward to it when I read the reviews, but I was very pleasantly surprised.
The hotel is dated but it is still clean. Our room was spotless and had nothing wrong with it. (No bad smell as mentioned in other reviews).
It is situated near a busy road, but we weren't annoyed by the road noise.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The free wifi was fast and didn't lag or cut out.
There is a supermarket, small shopping centre and train station 1 km down the road. It's less than 10 minutes to ikea, which was handy for me. There was a bus stop right outside the hotel. I didn't use the buses, but it seemed to have regular buses.
I have to say the best feature was the food in the restaurant. It was really good. We ate there on the 3rd night and it was so good ended up eating there for the duration of our stay. All the meals were decent sized portions and excellent value for money. I highly recommend eating there!
I would definitely stay here again if we went to Sydney.

Room Tip: Although there is no lift the rooms upstairs had a balcony with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwieire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydeInn, Front Office Manager at Metro Inn Ryde, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you kiwieire for taking the time to review our property.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We take great pride in ensuring all our rooms are spotlessly clean for all our guests. We are thrilled you enjoyed our recently refurbished rooms including new: carpet, beds, curtains, lighting, LCD TVs, art, updated furniture & completely refurbished bathrooms. Thank you for also mentioning our Wifi that we provide free of charge for all guests.
Your praise for the meals you enjoyed in our restaurant is most appreciated & has been passed on to our restaurant staff.
Thank you for also mentioning the great team of staff we have here, we really pride ourselves as a friendly, helpful home away from home. We look forward to the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were looking for a place in Sydney for just 1 night. This was a good find. Relatively inexpensive, clean and neat and a restful night. The staff were friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was great value ($10). Free parking is a bonus, it is easy to find and provides great access to this part of the city, e.g.a short drive/walk to railway and shops, and is on Victoria Rd a main city route. We had no problems with smell, noise etc. Pool would be good to use in warmer weather.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jono13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydeInn, Front Office Manager at Metro Inn Ryde, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you jono13 for taking the time to review our property.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We take great pride in ensuring all our rooms are spotlessly clean for all our guests. We are thrilled you enjoyed our recently refurbished rooms including new: carpet, beds, curtains, lighting, LCD TVs, art, updated furniture & completely refurbished bathrooms. Thank you for also mentioning our ample free parking.
We are definitely conveniently located as you have pointed out, with buses, trains & ferries all within walking distance of the Hotel.
Thank you for also mentioning the great team of staff we have here, we really pride ourselves as a friendly, helpful home away from home. We look forward to the next time you visit.
Thanks again for your review & we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have stayed here for one night last weekend, and about 4 other occasions over the last 6 years. It is an ok "go to" hotel when your in a jam ie. just need a cheap sleep over or other hotels are booked out within the near region.

It does need a good revamp in most rooms as furniture is out dated. I too get that smelly odour, however on this recent stay the smell was minor and I always have a can of Glen 20 to spray around. Hotel is out of the way and has limited facilities onsite.

Noise in the corridors can be a nuisance if you have people walking or talking In the hallway, particularly early morning risers, but generally most of visits here I had got a good night sleep.

Overall its a cheap hotel that has its purpose. No doubt I will stay there again when situations demand it

Room Tip: Avoid the road side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelman2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Apart from the room smelling like wet dog, and overlooking a construction hazard in the parking lot, and seeing dead possums squashed under my balcony window, this was horrendous! These things just added to the horrendousness of it!!! Revolting!! The rooms smelt so bad.

Walking into reception it looked like someone could rent the couch out by the hour from the amount of stains on it!!

The dining room smelt so much even to walk past I wouldn't dare eat in it!

The service was rude, and we accidentally left items in the room with our need to exit so fast and those items just disappeared!!!

The staff are rude and dishonest, and rooms are overpriced so much!! I would equate this room to something one would rent out by the hour, and even then you would be paying too much!!!

Atrocious!! Have talked to numerous others that have stayed here and they reported the same thing! Avoid this place like the plague that it is!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MummaD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in January 2014. We found the price very reasonable, the rooms were quite large including the bathroom. Everything worked and it was very clean. The $10 for breaky was very reasonable. Ample tea and coffee supplied with the rooms serviced daily. Beers by the pool was very relaxing. It was an easy 1km walk to Top Ryde shopping centre and also an easy 1km walk to the Ferry or Train Station. I will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kooties66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed over night and paid for breakfast. Check in time is 2 pm but we showed up at 1.30 pm and it was not a problem. Our room was clean and tidy. Newly renovated bathroom. Small but clean,with the shampoo and conditioner dispenser. Hair dryer etc. New carpet. 2 single beds pushed together. T.v bar fridge and a little table for 2. Only problem is that there's no restaurants near by and communication with staff is limited.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank milena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
1.4 mi away
Red Star Hotel West Ryde
3.1 mi away
Meriton Suites North Ryde
5 mi away
Best Western Twin Towers Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Quest North Ryde
Quest North Ryde
#2 of 6 in North Ryde
1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Ryde
Royal Hotel Ryde
#4 of 4 in Ryde
2 reviews
0.6 mi away
Studio 8 Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inn Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inn Ryde

Address: Corner Victoria Rd & Bowden St, Ryde, New South Wales 2112, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range: £50 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Inn Ryde 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're only 20 minutes from the centre of Sydney, at the Metro Inn Ryde, in one of the city's most lively and interesting suburbs. Metro Inn Ryde offers well-furnished rooms, with air conditioning, clock radio/alarm, direct dial phones, colour television, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities.Enjoy excellent meals at our licensed restaurant, serves breakfast and dinner, with room service also available. Guests can enjoy a barbecue and relax around the swimming pool. For guests attending the various events, sporting contests and conferences at Olympic Park and Homebush Bay, we are only 7km away. Approximately 10-15 minutes in a taxi or a five minute walk to Meadowbank train station, just change at Strathfield for trains to Olympic Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Inn Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Ryde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing