We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Leonards
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We initially booked to stay at Urban St Leonard's for 5 nights and due to the comfort, cleanliness and friendly staff we booked to stay an extra 2 nights.
The room was facing the Pacific Highway but noise was minimal, walking distance to the train station is about 10-15 mins where there is also a number of cafe's, a Coles supermarket and banks on route
In the event we returned to Sydney, Urban St Leonard's would be our first choice

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Emma M,

We're so proud to be your first choice next time you visit Sydney – thank you!

Our number one priority is to make our guests as comfortable and happy as possible, so it's lovely to see you stayed an extra two nights as a result of your experience at our hotel.

I really appreciate you taking the time to leave such positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you next time.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    177
    47
    15
    4
See reviews for
57
99
33
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here due to the location and price. Rooms are a good size although the bathroom is small it does the job.
Breakfast is reasonable from the cafe.
Staff were nice and prompt.
I stayed on the road side. It wasn't noisy really at all.

Towels were changed everyday which is a bit of a waste as I had hung it up prepared to use it again.

Mini bar is an okay price not too high.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi Amelia S,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel.

It's great to hear you tried the breakfast at Sure Cafe and had some Little Fridge treats in the peace and quiet of your room.

We hope to see you at our hotel again one day!

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel over the weekend for two nights and I found it really good value for money. The rooms are reasonably sized, the bathroom is a bit small but it serves the purpose. Staff are prompt and courteous. I had parking included in the price and it was available in the underground garage when I arrived. I advised staff that there was a broken bottle in the garage and they cleaned it up straight away and thanked me for telling them.

What I found very appealing is that I had slippers in the room that say SLOW DOWN and I thought this was a really good way of reminding the hotel guests to chillax.

Coffee and food are good in the hotel restaurant and even though this hotel is on the Pacific Highway, the setting is nice and nature like (mind you, you still hear the cars).

St Leondards train station is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel and so is Coles, restaurants, and coffee shops.

All in all, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for one that is not facing the Pacific Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi Happy M,

What a lovely review!

Reading over your comments about staff, food, location, room and all the Urban perks (we love those slippers too!)… It sounds like we ticked quite a few boxes with you which is so nice for us. I'll make sure I pass your comments on to the various departments who contributed to making your stay so enjoyable.

Look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

When I first arrived the hotel for check in.. The receptionist was on the phone and waited for a while before I can actually check in.. During the whole check in process ( including the waiting time while receptionist was on the phone ) there was no eye contact from the receptionist .. Perhaps the receptionist was busy at that time but then that was not a good first impression of the hotel. I got assigned a room in a ground floor. The room with bad mobile reception ⋯phone always has no signals in the room .. Which is kinda disappointed because I can not even make a proper phone call in my room.. However the bed is really comfortable .. I had a good sleep. In genera the room is clean as well.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FlozZil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi FlozZil,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

I’m disappointed to hear that you didn’t receive an acknowledgment from our Receptionist whilst you were waiting – this is customer service 101! I will be sure to brief the team to ensure that it doesn’t happen again.

Apologies about your lack of phone Reception too. I’d be interested to know what carrier you are using as there seems to be a bit of a drop out zone in this area for certain carriers. If you could send me an email at stay@hotelurbanstleonards.com.au I would be grateful.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your sleep in a comfy Urban Snorer bed in a nice clean room – thanks again for your comments!

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

stayed for a course that was associated with the hospital so the location was perfect. very close to the train station and many places to eat s well as a coles for cheap odds and ends and fruit. The room was resonably sized and clean the bed was very comfortable and despite being on the main road and in a room facing the main road there was nom problems with traffic noise
The gym was adequate and clean
I only ate breakfast at the restaurant however whilst simple the quality was good and the price reasonable
The staff were helpful and they promptly brought up robes as they were not present in the room on arrival
The parking under the hotel was secure and handy and we were able to leave the car after checkout

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Hi Gerard S,

Thanks for your nice review!

It sounds like you enjoyed quite a few of our Urban perks, which is always lovely feedback for us. We definitely agree with you about our location and I'm pleased to hear our lovely staff quickly brought some Tie Me Up Tightly robes for you wrap yourselves into during your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kakadu National Park, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel has potential but is very tired, it obviously has had mini "facelifts" but the rooms just didn't have that co-ordinated feel. Didn't try any of the food & beverage outlets, but I did think it was a bit off putting when a member of the housekeeping staff got into a lift fulled with guests and started grooming his hair in the mirror.
There are no "service" lifts so most of the time you are sharing the lift with either the mini bar, housekeepers or any other member of staff.
The quirkness of this hotel is wearing off and it needs a revamp.....

Room Tip: If you boook a room try not to get a west facing room as they are like an oven when you get back in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Tsosti,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We don't often receive comments about our rooms looking tired, so I will look into which room you stayed in as it sounds like some maintenance is required. I also take it from your review that a bit too much maintenance was going on with that staff member and his hairdo! We do love to look as good as we can for our guests, but agree this is something that should happen out of sight and I will have a chat to the team.

What a shame you didn't get a chance to try Sure Café! We get great comments on the tasty fare served in the café, along with the meals served in rooms.

Thanks again for your honest comments and we hope we have the chance to welcome you at our hotel again.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was our second stay at the Urban as our daughter required two operations at Royal North Shore Private. The hospital is only a five minute walk from the hotel. We parked our car at the hotel and just walked every where.
The room is just your average hotel room but the bed was very comfortable. We had a room on the third floor overlooking the Pacific Highway but the traffic noise did not disturb us. We had breakfast one morning in the cafe and the service was efficient and the food very nice. My husband got several take away coffees and said it was the best in the area.
Fortunately my daughter was discharged a day earlier than expected and even though we did not give the hotel 24 hours notice, they did not charge us for the extra day which was very much appreciated.
If you need accommodation near the Royal North Shore hospitals, I would highly recommend the Urban Hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dajsNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Hi dajsNewcastle,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Even if we do say so ourselves, we think our Urban Snorer beds are pretty amazing! It's great to hear your husband took advantage of the delicious coffee from Sure Café and that you both enjoyed your breakfast along with the service.

We look forward to welcoming you at our hotel again next visit.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Leonards
1.8 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
1.8 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 9 in North Sydney
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Twin Towers Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
838 reviews
1.4 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn North Shore
Comfort Inn North Shore
#1 of 2 in Lane Cove
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban St Leonards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban St Leonards

Property: Hotel Urban St Leonards
Address: 194 Pacific Hwy, St Leonards, North Sydney, New South Wales 2065, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney > St Leonards
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Urban St Leonards 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban St Leonards. More than a hotel…Not your typical Sydney hotel – experience so much more than just a good night’s sleep! More comfort, more indulgence, more taste and more inspiration. Hotel Urban St Leonards is a special place with a focus on chic relaxation. At Urban we’re serious about helping you unwind, so we’ve designed a hotel space dedicated to your relaxation and gorgeous guest rooms which offer comfort so luxurious, it’s the next best thing to sleeping at home. Set on the abundantly leafy North Shore you’ll start to understand what defines Urban when you step into this inviting space, which is as relaxed and cosy as it is modern and effortlessly stylish. You’ll enjoy 100 ultra-comfy designer guest rooms, welcoming lobby and alluring Sure Café, professional putting green for golfing enthusiasts, and beautiful conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Urban St Leonards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards North Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing