We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Leonards
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, very clean, nice dinner (optional).
BUT-if you are a light sleeper- make sure you take an upgrade to a quiet room, not one facing the Pacific Highway, a main arterial route.

Room Tip: As above, don't choose one facing the main arterial road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NZBrigitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hello Brigitte,

Thanks for taking the time out to leave a review.

It's wonderful to read that you found the team friendly and the Hotel clean. These are two areas that we inject much time and effort into.

I hope to welcome you back to Hotel Urban St Leonards soon.

Cheers,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    167
    47
    14
    4
See reviews for
54
94
32
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Simple business hotel well located if you have business on the north shore. Close to St Leonards Station and nearby restaurants and bars. Had a good clean room with a comfortable bed and the restaurant serves good meals.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hello DennisM2,

Thanks for leaving a lovely review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wonderful modern hotel with a unique style. Perfectly placed for business in North Sydney, and walking distance from St Leonards station. Food is good, and the place is immaculate. The television is a bit old, and the quality is bad (why hotels insist on using these horrible analog video distribution systems is beyond me), but that doesn't really detract from the experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDP_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hello MichaelDP_TA,

Thanks for the 5 star review - what a lovely way to start a new week.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Have a lovely day!

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The two most basic things to get right when booking a hotel room is to get the price per night right, and also the length of stay correct.

It feels very very amateurish when you get the length of stay wrong, forget to update the room key and follow that up by trying to charge a higher fee at checkout. Really?

Nothing stands out about this hotel.
Like others have mentioned, consider coming if you're on business, otherwise pay more and have an experience - the hotel is also part of your holiday!

Room Tip: You have to pay for wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realrayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello Realrayman,

I'm sorry that you experienced so many issues surrounding the extension of your stay with us.

Our standard is for every guest to receive an amended confirmation letter stating each nightly rate and for the key card to be updated at this time. We will be sure to run through this procedure with the team to ensure that this does not reoccur again.

I do hope that the issue with your room rate was resolved. If not, please email your details to stay@hotelurbanstleonards.com.au and I will resolve it immediately.

Thanks for your feedback. It's comments such as these that assist us in identifying areas that require refining and development within our business.

Kind regards,



Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

For business or pleasure on the north side of Sydney this hotel is pretty good. It has all the essentials.

It's roughly 1km walk down to the train station, which is close to North Shore hospital. Or you can call for a taxi (don't count on getting one outside - we did fluke one on a Monday morning but waited for 1/2 hour over the weekend and not one taxi went past).

The rooms are standard size and have all the basics. It's obviously been renovated recently, and the bathrooms have lino on the floor rather than tiles (sounds weird, but actually looks ok).

The hotel description says boutique 4.5 star - it's probably more like a 4 (and not really what I'd call boutique - but some may). The staff were friendly and efficient.

The cafe / restaurant had good food and coffee but the service was slow - every time we ordered we had to wait quite a while for our meals. The staff were nice about it though.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the highway were reasonably quiet for such a busy road, and view was better at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello AustraliaPaz,

Thanks for taking the time out to leave a review.

It's great to hear that you found us value for money. Yes, taxis can be a little challenging in Sydney particularly surrounding peak periods sorry that it impacted on your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Urban St Leonards in the future.

Kind regards,


Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Simple business hotel with clean, tidy but small rooms. It's on Pacific Highway in a pretty poor location with little to no restaurants or bars within walking distance. Due to the location, the value is actually quite good. If you had a car and were to use this spot for a vacation, it wouldn't be too bad.

It's perfect for a 1 night business stay over, especially if the meetings will be on the North side of Sydney (North Sydney, St. Leonards).

It's about a 7 to 10 minute walk to the train station.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to be the same. Don't think anything has a view. Maybe try to stay away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcMenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello Markmenz,

Thanks for taking the time out to leave a review.

For next time: our sweet urban rooms offer 180 degrees views out over the Lane Cove Waterways. They also have a spa bath, coffee maker and are more spacious than our Urban King rooms.

Thanks again.

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Mixed feelings about this place. The staff is nice and the room was in good working condition. The style of the room is a little too modern for my taste. Most disappointing is that my room faced a building right behind the hotel. And I mean right behind not across the street so that's all I could see. Didn't want to have the shades open as a result. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was fairly quiet.

A pet peeve of mine these days is paying for wifi which you have to do here.

The location was convenient for work and about a 15 minute walk to the train. There are not a lot of food options nearby other than the restaurant hotel. There are also no attractions within walking distance so I would never choose to stay here other than for work.

The hotel restaurant was fine but nothing special and like most food options in Sydney was no bargain.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello MdKirkpatrick,

Thanks for leaving a review.

I'm sorry that you felt that you couldn't open your curtains & didn't like the modern design of the rooms. I have placed a note on your profile to ensure that you are allocated a room on the other side of the Hotel on your next stay with us.

Have a lovely day!

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Leonards
1.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Sydney
1.8 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
1.5 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#5 of 9 in North Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Twin Towers Inn
2.0 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban St Leonards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban St Leonards

Property: Hotel Urban St Leonards
Address: 194 Pacific Hwy, St Leonards, North Sydney, New South Wales 2065, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney > St Leonards
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Urban St Leonards 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban St Leonards. More than a hotel…Not your typical Sydney hotel – experience so much more than just a good night’s sleep! More comfort, more indulgence, more taste and more inspiration. Hotel Urban St Leonards is a special place with a focus on chic relaxation. At Urban we’re serious about helping you unwind, so we’ve designed a hotel space dedicated to your relaxation and gorgeous guest rooms which offer comfort so luxurious, it’s the next best thing to sleeping at home. Set on the abundantly leafy North Shore you’ll start to understand what defines Urban when you step into this inviting space, which is as relaxed and cosy as it is modern and effortlessly stylish. You’ll enjoy 100 ultra-comfy designer guest rooms, welcoming lobby and alluring Sure Café, professional putting green for golfing enthusiasts, and beautiful conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Urban St Leonards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards North Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing