We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we'd stayed at another motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Reviewed 9 May 2013

1st room - as soon as we walked in saw mattress sagging in middle & the bed was still made up.
2nd room - bed looked OK, but when turned back covers looked like sheets had not been changed only remade. When I went to bed I had to get back up & put on socks, jeans, & a long sleeve shirt b/c I started breaking out in hives from contact with the sheets (fortunately I had my pillow w/ me). Also this is one of the worst motels I have ever stayed at re: noise. The only plus was the staff who were very nice. But, if you want a comfortable nights sleep - go to another motel. The owner(s) need to invest in new mattresses and quality sheets at the very least.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Red_Punkin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAVI G, General Manager at Super 8 - Monteagle TN, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

First let me apologize that we did not meet your expectations. And, we thank you for your efforts to bring some items to our attention.
All our Beds are Brand New and Beauty rest beds. Since the opening of the hotel, we hear tons of compliments about the beds on daily basis. Despite that, we have asked the Housekeeping staff in-charge to inspect each and every bed in the entire Hotel. All beds are changed daily and linen laundered without fail. To our knowledge in 20 mile radius from our hotel, no other hotel offers the beauty rest beds.
Recently, we heard at another hotel, a guest reported that the hotel room had fleas. Upon the hotel manager asking a few simple questions of the guest, it was discovered that their child was playing in the grass with a dog in the park and with his socks on. Hotel has never had such incident and room was occupied previous day with no complaint. We suggest that you recollect and note about your whereabouts during that day where you may have possibly picked up something that caused your personal issues.
We are the very first Super Innov8 in America and strive for our best on daily basis. Our Guests generally are thrilled with our rooms, our extended complimentary breakfast and our friendly staff.
We appreciate your comments about the very nice staff.
We are an exterior corridor hotel and offer rooms on parking lot side for easy access of baggage to rooms or on the garden side for the light sleepers.
We invite you to come and stay with us again. I am sure you will have a pleasant stay like our other guests.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 - Monteagle TN
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 May 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Gladys R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Somewhat leery of the Super8 brand after past unpleasant experiences, we nonetheless booked a weekend stay (to attend a wedding) at the Monteagle Super8 after reading on the web-site that it had been recently renovated. I will give credit where credit is due and say that the staff (both desk and housekeeping) were very pleasant and professional, the room was clean, and even somewhat stylish (for a budget motel). However, the king bed was cursed with one of the most uncomfortable, lumpy, squishy mattress I think I've ever had the misfortune of attempting to sleep upon. Also, the room smelled overpoweringly of some sort of perfumed cleaner. The white bedspread was stained. The shower head only came up to my shoulders, so I had to duck in order to shampoo. But perhaps the most irritating thing was the AC/heater unit, which woke us every time it cycled on (even though I had set the fan to run continuously). There was a buzzy resonance every time it kicked in, and it was impossible to sleep through it. We left utterly exhausted after two sleepless nights. (As an aside, the property's two beverage vending machines were out of bottled water, and one had no cola.) I don't know if the other budget-minded properties nearby are any better, but I would not recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAVI G, General Manager at Super 8 - Monteagle TN, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

First let me say thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business .
Second, please accept our apology that we did not meet your expectations.

I am also sorry to hear that you did not have good experience with another Super 8 before.

Thank you for your compliments for the staff and housekeeping. And thank you for compliments for noted items.

We offer one of the most comfortable brands in the hospitality industry, Simmons BeautyRest beds. To our knowledge no other hotel in 20 mile radius offer such superior beds. On a daily basis we get great compliments about our beds.

We do use air freshener daily and never have had any complaints since the opening of our hotel. But, we will do additional survey with our guests to ensure others are not off put by the product we use.

We will give additional training to staff to check for stains etc.

Our Air conditioners are state of art, quiet brand new units. Lack of sleep can make everything seem worse.

Soda Machines like at most hotels are loaded by vendors on their routes weekly. There are weeks when the sodas are sold out quicker than other weeks. We have a Subway on one side and 24 hour Waffle House on the other side. Also a Piggly Wiggly grocery store across the street.

We also have a 24 hour desk. We suggest in future if you have any issue whatsoever to please reach us simply by dialing zero from your room and our staff stands ready to assist you.
I regret that you did not inform us about any of this during your stay.

Even though Super 8 is a budget brand, we are America's very first Super8 Innov8 and offer much better quality product and service. All our guests are well pleased staying at a budget price and receiving a mid price hotel rooms.

Again, we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We invite you to come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
0.3 mi away
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
40 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 17 in Manchester
276 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
388 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 - Monteagle TN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - Monteagle TN

Address: 713 W Main St, Monteagle, TN 37356-7020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range: £52 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 - Monteagle TN 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 - Monteagle TN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing