We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pound Cake”

High Point Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Monteagle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Built inside a 1929 mansion that presumably once was financed by Al Capone, the restaurant serves a menu of traditional gourmet dishes including Brie en Croute, Blackened Salmon Oscar and Black Thai Duck. The mansion that houses the restaurant was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1997 and still features the original escape hatches and underground tunnels that were used by Capone to transfer liquor during the Prohibition Era. In 2001, High Point received the "Best Gourmet Meal in Tennessee" award from "Tennessee" magazine.
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We went to this restaurant on Valentines Day with 6 of our friends. It is a beautiful historical place with a really cool ambience. The food is really good but what keeps us coming back is the pound cake. No kidding.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leigh Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie F, Manager at High Point Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

That is a classic favorite from our customers! Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our anniversary dinner here; it was very good. We started with an appetizer of cajun shrimp, shared the Capone seafood platter of lobster, salmon, scallops and shrimp and finished the meal with key lime pie and bananas foster- all excellent. The building has a great history and our waitor was happy to tell us all about it.
I recommend this restaurant for special occasions and it's a great place to bring out of state guests.

Thank roncourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie F, Manager at High Point Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thanks for the kind words! Happy to hear you loved your time with us! Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We made reservations for a Weds evening. If I based my review on our initial greeting from the "Hostess", it would be much lower. I had 3 direct interactions with this woman & one indirect interaction(where she was loudly bashing a regular customer as cheap. Southern hospitality apparently is not in this woman's repretroir. Fortunately, the young lady who served us, made up for the lack of welcome from the Hostess. The food was quite good. Dessert was excellent- try the grilled pound cake- you won't regret it. It would be nice if the staff played up the Capone connection. There wasn't even a mention of it during our visit. We will be back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Racingbully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie F, Manager at High Point Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thanks so much for letting us know about your experience. We appreciate your business & hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Old historical house delightfully updated. The open kitchen is near the back where the parking lot is located and it’s extremely impressive. There are indoor tables on 2 levels and outdoor tables as well. I had the BLT Salad with Gorgonzola and ranch dressing. It was wonderful, as were the dinner rolls. We all had either the filet or the ribeye. Each was perfection. Perfection. Perfection. The baked potatoes were great too. I wouldn’t change a thing. The Al Capone history and the 1930’s music and fixtures make this place interesting. We will definitely return.

2  Thank Coff33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie F, Manager at High Point Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thank you for your review!! We appreciate your business & hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

This restaurant had come highly recommended by friends and we were encouraged by all the positive reviews. The best way for me to approach this review is the Good, Bad, and Ugly system. The Good: the drive to the restaurant from is breathtaking, probably from any direction. The outside of the restaurant is old and quaint. You have the option of inside dining or patio dining. We'll choose the patio if we return. Service moves quickly (more on that later). The food is good. Not great, but good. Prices are up there a little but not so much that it hits the "bad" category. At least everything is not a la carte. The salmon was very tasty and perfectly grilled, if maybe a little heavy on the sauce. Maybe the best good? The salads. We had the BLT salad and it was delicious. The bad: If you choose to sit inside, they will likely seat you in the smaller, more claustophobic room first. Though the waitstaff will be at your table in mere seconds, you get the feeling of being rushed throughout the meal. The wine was okay but my beer was flat. (The bar seems to be an afterthought, not necessarily a bad thing, but worth mention.) The menu has quite a range but nearly everything appears to be sauced up the same. I'll admit that many will find the food to be superior but we had just returned from a trip to an area known for really good restaurants and that colored our trip a bit. The Ugly: Our scallops appetizer (about $15 bucks) was four very thin (and gritty/sandy) scallops. Not sure where they get them but they were skinny. One unisex bathroom downstairs that is usually occupied. No member of the staff seemed like they wanted to be there and, in fact, seemed constantly preoccupied. It appears that there is a pretty high goal to turn the tables as quickly as possible. And, finally, you could smell the Red Snapper special that evening from a hundred yards. Perhaps that's par for the course with snapper. We didn't want it to overwhelm our senses, however, as we tried to eat our meals. There are other restaurants in the area we'll try before we give this one another chance. There's always the chance we were there on an "off night."

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TnMan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie F, Manager at High Point Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We will make a note of all suggestions and hope that you will return and be pleased with your meal and dining experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed High Point Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to High Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing