We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

No complaints. The wife and I stayed in one of the cabins recently, and found them clean and comfortable. Good, old-fashioned Southern friendliness. The deer that wandered over each night from the woods was an added treat, and added to the rustic experience.
The restaurant was very good; the pulled pork was as delicious as I've had anywhere.
We will visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDGArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We appreciate your review and response. Thank you for your business and I will pass this on to our staff. Hope you will come back and visit us often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    124
    73
    65
    58
See reviews for
158
161
31
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family on trip from Florida to illinois.motel was clean,staff was friendly and helpful.resteraunt next door was good .a real southern country atmosphere.been through here many times but first time stopping.would stay again and will definetly eat at the resteraunt next time through.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nedly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hey, thank you Nedley. We appreciate your comments. Do try our restaurant next trip, we've been serving food since 1960, when our dad, Jim Oliver, started it. We're proud of our family recipes and food preparation. Making many upgrades to the Lodge too, you need to see these when you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very nice place and clean, in the rooms and the property. Friendly staff, very accommodating, staff was notified about toilet in the am upon departure...don't know if toilet was fixed. But the bathroom had toilet easily get stopped up, and there was black mold and ceiling falling apart in the shower area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thanks for your comments Sean, in fact we are doing updates right now in all rooms and outside. Now that the weather is getting better we can move on with these items and get it all done. Come back and see what we are doing. Will Pass your comments on to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

If you're thinking of a romantic weekend in a rustic cabin PLEASE avoid this place. When we entered the cabins we immediately noticed that the mattress on the bed caved in the middle. Overlooking that, I began starting the fire for the romantic getaway I had planned with my lovely wife to escape our home of 6 kids. Sleeping on the floor cuddle with my wife wouldn't be so bad. I'm an experienced camper but I had been warned by a friend that the wood at the cabins wood not burn. So with that notice I brought my own starter wood to get the night blazing. So I asked my beautiful bride to open the wine and get the jacuzzi tub ready as I prepared the fire. After burning through all of my seasoned pine starter wood, I realized that the reason they ask you if you need a start log at check in is because the wood for the fireplace is specifically purchased so that it will NOT burn and you must buy the starter log from the desk; which by the way, will not light the wood at the cabin.

After spending about 45 minutes trying to start the fire, my wife shrieks at the condition of the jacuzzi. The tub was extremely nasty with what appears to have a spilled drink all around the edges. After inspection, it appeared that the room had not been cleaned and only the bed was made without changing the sheets.

That was the last straw. After ruining what was setup to be a night of romance the finale was the extremely poor service at the desk and the slow response to make decisions. They refused to refund our money with the offer of another night stay. Who would want to stay there?

Don't go here, unless you want to waste a perfectly good date night!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph_F337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
This is the second time you have made these same comments and you are an obvious scam artist. You are just trying to get something for nothing. Sorry you are this kind of person.
Please find yourself another place to pick on, and another place to stay.
Thanks, But No Thanks!
The Smoke House Gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monteagle hotels

Sewanee, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

The two bedroom cabin has been neglected for quite some time. Stayed here two days. Missing air filter, dirty kitchen, locks don't work, daylight shining through the walls, torn meshing on the porch, wifi never worked, furniture old and broken... Get the picture? The one upside is that the actual beds themselves were comfy.

Attention to detail is not their strong suit. Overall old, dirty, and just not a pleasant place to stay. Don't fall for the restaurant either. Overpriced, small portions, and not very good. There are plenty of places to eat like Pearls, Papa Ron's, and Modern Dave's.

This place is a ripoff for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your response, so sorry for the problems you encountered. These problems you mentioned in your response seem to be overstated somewhat. We have new beds in all cabins, new leather sofas, and many updates. We'd be glad to give you some refund if these cabins did not measure up to what you paid and your expectations. Call Jessica or Amber at 800-489-2091 for details about the refund and to discuss any other issues you think we need to know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer Glen, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here as a layover on our way home to Chicago and enroot to the Jack Daniels Distillery. The rooms are basic with a country log cabin aura about them. They were spacious and clean. I will stay here again when in the area. 1 suggestion is that you check the other local hotels prices in the area because the desk clerks are programed to price high until you bring up AAA , AARP or other local hotel prices and then they go down. This saved us considerable money off what we really ended up paying. It's a cheap shot the hotel industry seems to be using lately and its not just this place. The staff was friendly and helpful and it's located close to the interstate. The restaurant next door is great. Country Cookin at its finest and I highly recommend that. They work in conjunction with the hotel because the hotel does not provide any free continental breakfasts, but show your room key and you get 10% off. The food was great so it was worth the discount. We paid 75 buck tax included for the rom and that was equal to similar places within a mile. Its family owned for 50 years and they seem to keep up with that tradition... If you have time definitely go to the Jack Daniels Distillery.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppzster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for your comments and for your business. Next time, if you have time to stay a while, try one of our 21 Cabins we have out back, rock on the porch, have a hot tub soak, and just plain relax. All Motels have rack rates, but they don't all give AAA or AARP discounts, good thing you are member, we honor those club members with discounts. Come see us again on your next trip over the mountain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were thankful to rent a non-smoking room for the weekend, very convenient location to Sewanee. We had low expectations and, yet, were underwhelmed. Floors were filthy, my bare feet were black after walking on the floor. Do not stay in a downstairs unit, as little or no sound insulation from upstairs unit means every step taken by above unit is heard below, and the floors creak, too. Our door would not lock, but it stuck so bad, that we figured a burglar would believe it to be locked, so we just put a shoulder to the door to open and close. Water has hot, linens were clean. No upholstered chair for sitting - a very basic room suitable for sleeping and bathing only. Renting a cabin would probably cure most of the problems (except for filthy floors, I would suspect). We expected little, and boy did we get it.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a downstairs room - VERY noisy from movement above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for your comments. The black on the floors was probably tracked in from the parking lot outside, not due to uncleanliness by our staff. We had been doing some work to the parking lot and it did cause us some problems with dirty floors. Other problems you referred to have been addressed and put under control with new door locks, new doors, and new flooring and padding upstairs in all rooms. Come back and see the changes we have made, and we think you will be very impressed with the new upgrades since your last stay.
Thanks!
The Smoke House Gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
4.0 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 17 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Property: The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Address: 850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than your typical roadside motel, the World Famous Smoke House gives you more for your money. Since 1960 the Oliver family has been serving folks traveling over Monteagle Mountain; located just 300 yards off I-24 at Exit 134, 80 miles SE of Nashville, and 40 miles NW of Chattanooga. Still owned and operated by the Oliver family. Just recently completed a $2,000,000 renovation to all rooms and the property. The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins offers a variety of lodging accommodations for a one night stay as well as vacation getaways, family reunions, and meeting facilities. The Lodge has 80 rooms featuring King and Queen Beds, 21 cabins featuring one bed room cabins, two bed room, and a cabin with 6 king and queen beds, plus fold out couches. Most cabins have full kitchen facilities, Jacuzzi Tubs, Fireplaces, porches, leather sofas, all linens and kitchen cookware are provided by the Smoke House. Meeting facilities include conference facility up to 250 seats, outdoor covered shed seating 150, the Log Cabin Chapel seating 70, the Big Family Cabin seating 50, and over 20 acres of campus for a variety of outdoor activities. The Restaurant features its world famous Smoked Meats such as Pork Ribs, Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork Shoulder, Country Ham, Honey Baked Ham, and the largest selection of BBQ Sauces, Hot Sauces, Vinegars, Jams, Pickles, and Toppings you'll find anywhere. Full Menu from $2 to $18, large Buffet with hot vegetables, casseroles, and choice of meats, large fresh salad bar, homemade vegetable-beef stew, skillet cornbread and skillet bread pudding. Featuring fresh produce from local farmers in all the menu items and salad bar. Serving Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner; Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Friday and Saturday. Live Singer/Songwriter Music every Friday and Saturday night starting at 7PM to 10PM, featuring a main act first, and a Songwriter Round of playing for the second act. Music features Blues, Country, Pop, Jazz, Bluegrass, and soft rock; solo, duos, and groups. The Trading Post Old General Store is a place you could spend the whole day looking around. Homemade candy, fried pies, Fudge, Ice Cream, Smoke House BBQ Sauces, Rubs, Hot sauces, Jams, Honey, Pickles, Antiques, 40 flavors of Glass Bottled Soft Drinks, Local Crafts, Old Country Store Merchantile Artifacts, Moonshine Still Exhibit area, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. A convenient place to stay for many area festivals and attractions. Bonnaroo Music Festival, River Bend Music Festival, Corn Bread Festival, Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival, Beersheba Arts and Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park, Russel Cave National Monument, Sewanee Summer Music Festival, All Saints Festival of Lessons and Carrols, Tims Ford Lake, Nickajack Lake, Tennessee River, Tennessee Aquarium, The Discovery Museum, Chattanooga, Lookout Mountain, Country Music Association Fan Fair Nashville, Thunder on the Rock, the Collins River, the Elk River, University of the South Sewanee, Saint Andrews - Sewanee School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing