We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unique and Interesting Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We loved this place. It was very rustic, yet extremely clean. The bed was very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again. The food at the restaurant next door was also excellent, and it was a very interesting place to browse and shop.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thanks! We appreciate your comments, and the staff will get your review for their review.
Thanks,
The Smoke House Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

What a great surprise to stumble on this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. They also have free standing cabins and a great restaurant. Grounds have activities, pool and pond. It really is a destination hotel. The restaurant and gift shop reminded me of a Cracker Barrel on steroids. This place was awesome.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We get compared to Cracker Barrel often, and many folks say that CB may have gotten their idea from us. Anyway, we appreciate your comments and we always appreciate your business. Please stop in on your way thru, or come up for a family getaway!
Thanks!
The Smoke House Gang
Since 1960

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The beauty of the mountains coupled with clean, up-dated rooms that still reflect the charm & beauty of a mountain-top Lodge. Excellent staff, facilities on site, clean rooms.....just a great place! And pet friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marjorie A. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thanks for your comments on our remodeling, we are still working on it and knocking out more and more everyday. We are getting many comments from customers about this renovation, and we are glad to be getting it done. We want the Smoke House to be Nostalgic and Vintage, but worth what we charge too. A great, relaxing experience is what we aim to achieve with all our customers.
Thanks!
The Smoke House Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at this facility on 24 April 2014 which was well-aware I am a Physician, hence sleep was essential. Beginning at approximately 10PM that evening, I was repeatedly awakened from a sound sleep by the room directly overhead which I later learned to be a sports team. Three calls were made to the Front Desk with the last call speaking at length with the Supervisor as there was no Manager On-Duty. The noise problems finally ended around midnight which was of little use as I arose at 0430 hours for a 12 hour drive to the next destination. At Check-Out, there were no notations in the room record for the disturbances.

The Best Western Survey was completed but is not posted to date by Best Western. A personal e-mail reply from Jim Oliver, Owner, was received on 30 April. In Summary, an apology was issued with a 20% discount on a future stay. Mr. Oliver, however, failed to resolve the current matter, i.e. I had minimal sleep of very poor quality which made the lengthy automobile drive quite difficult. While he did offer a future stay discount, this is a "tying contract" and fails to resolve the current problem. One of several solutions is a full refund of moneys paid for his Staff's repetitive failures to resolve an ongoing problem.

I paid for a room in which to sleep. I did not receive what I purchased.

Room Tip: Top floor only. The walls and floors are paper thin, hence industrial ear plugs are advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank requedieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Yes, athletic teams are sometimes hard to keep quiet, and the kids do stay up later hours than adults. We did our best in trying to resolve the issue to quiet down the adolescents, the coach finally conceded and made his visit to the room for us. From my information, the front desk offered to move you to a different room, but you declined. The room is used for more purposes than just sleep and other services were used, but a full refund at check out would have been given had you requested it then. We apologize for your inconvenience and hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent 1 night at the Smokehouse Lodge in order to attend the Cornbread Festival. Luckily we choose the Smokehouse. Our ground floor double room was clean and good for the $99 rate. The only complaint is that we easily heard the guests upstairs when they walked. I would request a second floor room next time. Our Saturday night dinner of brisket & steak was delicious.A highlight was the live music while we ate dinner. The cabins look nice and I would stay there if we were having an extended stay or group of people. It was too early in the season for the pool, but its a good size with a sunning deck. The basketball & tennis court could use some TLC, but you can still use.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank NinaP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Your comments are appreciated, and will be passed on to the staff. We are still doing vast improvements to the whole property, including the noise on the second floor, and the recreation facilities. We appreciate your business and hope on your next trip to the Cornbread Festival that you'll stay with us again.
Thanks!
The Smoke House Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel. It's location is approximately half way home from our Florida residence. They take pets. There is a restaurant attached that is similar to a cracker Barrel. Have never used the pool but lack of a refrigerator is a bit of an inconvenience. Rooms are clean but one time drawer was broken and this time bathroom door didn't work properly. I would look else where if it was more than over night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Heidi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thanks for your comments, we have listened. New doors & hardware are being installed as we speak, and all new guest room furniture is starting to arrive the first week of June. We are doing complete upgrades in all guest rooms, the outside of the Lodge, the Lobby, the walkways, landscaping, doors, door locks, and the whole facility. We've been working on this for two years and are just about finished. Next time you visit, you will see the vast improvements we have already made.
Come see us again!
The Smoke House Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Everyone should stay here, it was great!! It is in a pretty town, the hotel was nice looking. The staff was helpful, the rooms were great and clean. The restaurant was nice with good food. If you ever are in the area you should really stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We certainly appreciate your comments, and your business. Thank you for your review and we will pass this on to the staff.
Come See Us again!
The Smoke House Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
3.9 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
494 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
197 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
391 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 17 in Manchester
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Address: 850 W Main St, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356-7027 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range: £49 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Vintage Nostalgic Authentic Since 1960, 80 miles SE of Nashville - 40 miles NW of Chattanooga Interstate 24 Exit 134. Still owned and operated by the Oliver family. Recent renovation to all rooms and the property. The Lodge has 80 rooms, 21 cabins featuring 1,2, 3 BR cabins; full kitchens Jacuzzis Fireplaces. Indoor meeting facilities up to 160, outdoor pavilion seating 150, 20 acres of outdoor activities. Restaurant features authentic Smoked Meats Ribs Brisket Chicken Full Menu from $2 to $18, sandwiches sides dinners & large Buffet, fresh salad bar, homemade stew, skillet cornbread and bread pudding; locally grown foods. Breakfast Lunch Dinner Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Fri & Sat. Live Singer/Songwriter Music Friday and Saturday nights. Huge Old Trading Post General Store Gift shop. Area festivals and attractions Bonnaroo Festival River Bend Chattanooga Corn Bread Festival Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival Beersheba Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing