We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional experience every time”
Review of The Edgeworth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Edgeworth Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Monteagle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We travel a good bit and have come to appreciate fine food, great beds, quiet sleep, and intelligent conversation with other guests. Hard to beat Edgeworth on all counts--we have stayed there more than a dozen times in the last five years. The staff from Cynthia's at Edgeworth (its restaurant) serve varied meals that are a delight, prepared and supervised by a highly trained chef whose specialty dinner events draw diners other than guests, from many miles away. One of the last Chautauquas; secure grounds offering good walks through cottaqe neighborhoods and over footbridges spanning grassy ravines, and plenty of tennis courts. Fireplace, books everywhere, iron stove heating cider in the winter--a delight in all seasons. If you book during the eight-week summer season there is a gate fee giving you access to nightly movies, lectures, classes, and other interesting events on the grounds.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter than the ground level rooms adjoining the center hall where people gather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

This place takes rustic and out of date to a new low level. No TV in room, not even a clock. No WIFI in our room. Could only get WIFI occasionally if stood by the kitchen. Temp control for our room was in adjoining guest room. If that room had been occupied we would have had no control over temp.Room was small/cramped as was bathroom.

Find someplace else to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Found property on internet. Web-page looks MUCH nicer than facility. Old, shabby, run down and musty. They are located within a retreat, for which we were going to be charged $16 each just to enter the gate, in addition to the room rate of $211 per night. The retreat is called "the Assembly." It may be a wonderful experience, but for travelers wishing overnight facilities for a family visit to Sewanee, it would be very nice to know of the "gate fee" when booking the room. We were informed only on arrival of the fee since "assembly is in session." Owner was actually a pleasant lady, who tried to negotiate to pay half, then all of the gate fee, but when we saw our room we decided to take our chances elsewhere. I have been promised a refund check in the mail. If you are looking for a retreat with facilities similar to a rustic church camp, then this is the place for you. Price point should come in significantly below current rates, perhaps $45 to 60 per night.
Just across street is a very nice facility called Monteagle Inn. Stay there instead.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank bjm35645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

The inn was such a relaxing paradise...we were the only guests that evening---and it was so quaint and quiet---We were treated like royalty..the service could not have been better...our bed was beyond comfortable....our breakfast perfect!!!! We cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikvikBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Elegant and Relaxing
We were there on business/leisure. Rooms have there own unique personality. Excellent food! All meals were fantastic. The staff is nice and very attentive. The chef was also accommodating to our diet needs. She gave us choices. They all actually care. We even got serenaded by an adorable, talented lady that waited on us..which was an unexpected delight. We loved all the artwork displayed there. It doesn't have all the modern conveniences but all of the above made up for that. We have stayed at other B&B's.. this one is Good!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nashvegasbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

While traveling to Chattanooga on business, my husband and I were directed by an associate to stay in Monteagle for a day and evening to experience a Bread and Breakfast inn and the quaint community of Monteagle. When we arrived at the Monteagle Inn, we were advised rooms were unfortunately unavailable due to construction and they kindly referred us to another local B and B, the Edgeworth Inn.

A totally different experience, but charming just the same! The innkeeper was so gracious though it was the dead of winter yet. She went to great lengths to ensure our every need was met and to accommodate our sudden and unexpected arrival. We received great personal service from all the staff, and especially good introductions and arrangements for dining in local restaurants and seeing the best local sights.

The Edgeworth Inn is charming, the accommodations comfortable and the community filled with great history! We highly recommend this stopover to anyone traveling though Tennessee, to take a step back in time and experience the south of of the early 20th century and this unique inn at the Historic Monteagle Chautauqua.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemphisGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I was rather disappointed with my stay starting with the moment I arrived at the property and was scolded by the owner for not confirming, though I had their email confirmation from 3 weeks before in hand. Yes, there had been a bit of snow a few days prior, but the roads were passable, even if the walk and steps to the property had not been cleared and were treacherous, especially with no exterior lights at 6:15pm arrival. Owner seemed to have forgotten the reservation as room was not ready, clean, nor heated. The least one can ask for in an historic property is that the floors be clean; instead, I dared not touch the floor littered with dead bugs, hair, and bits of trash when I woke in the night to search for more clothes to put on since the room was so cold. The bath mats were so dirty I kept my shoes on, preferring to shower at next stop. Ancient mattress and plumbing to match the 1896 property with sloping floors. Nice bright white towels yet no tv, radio, phone, clock nor even map of labyrinthine charming community. Nice breakfast and friendly manager/housekeeper/cook. Junky ambiance, full trashcans, old newspapers and coupon mags.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nashreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
5 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
675 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
0.8 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#4 of 6 in Monteagle
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgeworth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgeworth Inn

Address: 19 Wilkins Ave, Historic Monteagle Chautauqua, Monteagle, TN 37356-0340
Region: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monteagle
Price Range: £179 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgeworth Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edgeworth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing