We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Night Away”
Review of The Edgeworth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgeworth Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Monteagle B&B and Inns
Wheaton, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Night Away”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here on our first anniversary. Staying at this place reminded me of "The Newhart Show." Super quaint ("cute" as my wife says) with lots of book shelves and books to read, and lots of character. Really cool fireplaces in several rooms, and lots of interesting history behind the place. The porch swing and rockers on the porch were some of our favorites... the wraparound porch is huge with lots of places to sit and relax. We had a small discrepancy with our room but Dede the innkeeper was really quick to help us out. It's hidden on a very unique property that kind of feels like Mayberry of the Andy Griffith show. Never been anywhere like this, and it's not far from South Cumberland Gap State Park where we went to check out Greeter Falls (beautiful!!).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    11
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
17
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shorewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I discovered The Edgeworth Inn, this past weekend, while taking our son to college at Sewanee. The historic home has a welcoming wrap-around porch (complete with rocking chairs) and is nestled in a hilly and wooded area with other charming "cabins" owned by families who vacation there. Our room was roomy and comfortable with a private bath. The food was delicious and they could accommodate our ever changing schedule. It is a beautiful home with common areas for everyone to use and enjoy. If you like porches, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GretchenES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I was at an event at the Edgeworth Inn for the Mountain Goat Trail Alliance and the food was incredible. The building was rustic and almost put you back in time. There is no way I would stay there because it is SUPER expensive, and I live 6 miles away, but as far as the food goes, it's top notch!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, AL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We loved the inn. Not like the typical B&B - had tons of privacy and didn't feel like my kids were being frowned upon. So much fun to peruse all the old books stacked everywhere. We had booked a room with two double beds (2 adults & 2 kids), but the proprietor even told us we could use another room in addition free of charge. My kids loved it also, and didn't even miss TV or video games once!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

With our son at St. Andrew's School in nearby Sewanee, we were looking for a comfortable place to stay for four days during commencement. We were surprised by a beautiful southern home in the historic Monteagle Chautauqua, a nice room, a large front porch, and enjoyable breakfast on the porch. A relaxing stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cvs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I found the Edgeworth Inn by accident. I was planning my wedding at Sewanee and needed a place to hold a simple wedding dinner. We wanted a quiet, intimate affair with our family after the ceremony at the Memorial Cross. I checked with a few places, but nothing was really fitting us. On a whim, I called the Edgeworth Inn. The owner was so accommodating and gracious. Within 20 minutes, we had all of the details worked out. She made it so easy on me.

On the actual day, I was so ecstatic. Everything was just perfect. Everyone enjoyed sitting on the beautiful front porch in comfort until my husband and I arrived. The table settings were gorgeous. The food was divine. The staff was friendly and catered to our every need. The classic cliche is that the bride never gets to eat at the reception. When the staff saw me distracted, they stopped to make sure that I got a chance to sit down and eat. The quiet, quaint setting was so perfect for our party and it will remain one of my fondest memories of the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I travel frequently on business and usually do not stay in B&B's but found the Edgeworth Inn while visiting Sewanee with my son. This is an old-fashioned rooming house situated in a resort community of vintage cottages about 1/4 mile from the highway exit and light-years away from the highway hotel experience. The Inn is a designated historic structure with limitations that are to be expected: The rooms are not uniform -- some have bathrooms en suite and some do not. The plumbing and HVAC are old. There is no elevator. On the other hand, the beds are ridiculously comfortable, the food is great and the proprietor goes the extra mile to accomodate her guests. As it happened, my son enrolled at Sewanee and I've returned 4 times since our initial visit. Call well in advance on college weekends.

Room Tip: Call ahead and aske for Dede.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
1.1 mi away
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
5.0 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#4 of 6 in Monteagle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
19.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Manchester
Comfort Suites Manchester
#3 of 17 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgeworth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgeworth Inn

Property: The Edgeworth Inn
Address: 19 Wilkins Ave, Historic Monteagle Chautauqua, Monteagle, TN 37356-0340
Region: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgeworth Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Edgeworth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing