We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center
Ranked #1 of 3 Monteagle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This was a fabulous find - one of the best B&B's I have ever visited. Everything was lovely, ie the room, the common areas, the breakfast room, the grounds, etc. The decor is charming Italian style with oil and watercolor paintings on all the walls, colorful ceramic dinner ware, and tasteful decorations. The host and staff are very friendly and welcoming, and the food is truly gourmet. It is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the ever-available coffee, tea, and homemade cookies. I highly recommend this wonderful place and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    14
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
73
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
219 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Interesting area...be sure to visit Univ of South. Spotless, comfortable, welcoming...loved the outdoor balconies. Great breakfast, sweet and savory offered...wonderful coffee.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alleycat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We have enjoyed staying at Monteagle Inn on several occasions. Our most recent stay was on the 4th of July--2011. As always, the Inn is the perfect place to escape, relax ,and enjoy the beautiful Mediterranean ambiance. The art, pottery, gardens, and patio transport you to Europe and the mountain breeze on the lovely porch is always a delight. The sumptuous breakfasts are delicious and the luxurious linens make for a wonderful night's sleep. Jim and Lee and their staff are the most gracious hosts and always go out of their way to see that their guests are enjoying themselves. They have given such care and attention to every detail of the Inn----and now on weekends there is Tallulah's Wine Lounge where they offer an extensive choice of excellent wines to savor. We wish them much continued and well-deserved success and we're eagerly anticipating our next stay with them!

William and Carol - Hendersonville, TN

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

From arrival to departure, Jim, Lee, and staff were attentive and helpful. Beautiful Inn, gracious, fine decor and furnishings plus gourmet foods and wines made a memorable experience for us. We combined business with pleasure and enjoyed exploring every nook and cranny in the landscaping and gardens. Left my meds, and the same day we departed, Lee called to tell me that they would be mailing the package to me that same day. That was also impressive. AND THE BEDROOMS! These thoughtful professionals have provided items we would never have thought of! The linens are exquisite. We felt pampered from beginning to end..beautiful view from the balcony too. Can't wait to go back and sip wine on the front porch swing, and have morning coffee in the rockers on the veranda....in a word...EXCEPTIONAL! Thanks Jim and Lee!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary in June. The owners went above and beyond to make it work with our schedule. The room was nicely appointed, the staff extremely friendly, and the breakfast was incredible. They even sent us home with fresh vegetables from their garden. I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to stay up on the mountain.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleTNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Had reservation at the Edgeworth Inn across street. Found facilities at Edgeworth to be substandard. Went without reservation to Monteagle Inn and found very nice facilities and staff, especially Jim, the owner. Clean, quiet, nice wine selection, good breakfast, very concerned and courteous service. Would definitely stay there again if in area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjm35645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The Inn and grounds are absolutely beautiful. We felt so comfortable and relaxed during our stay. The breakfast was delicious with many options for those with restrictive diets. The first night we were so taken with the Inn that we decided to stay in and share a fruit and cheese plate and a bottle of wine. The living room offers many sitting areas so you can find your own little spot or join in with other guests.

We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeroToAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
0.9 mi away
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
4.8 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
363 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
37 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center

Property: Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center
Address: 204 W Main St, Monteagle, TN 37356-3037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center provides the perfect escape you need. Relax and discover the peace you had nearly forgotten. Surround yourself in our luxury and hospitality. Mediterranean atmosphere, paintings & colors envelope you. Sit in a rocker on the front porch with a hot cup of specialty coffee or a glass of wine or maybe relax in one of our restful hammocks. Expansive flower, herb and vegetable gardens beckon you to wander and enjoy the kaleidoscope of colors and fragrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteagle Inn And Retreat Center
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Hotel Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing