We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
QT Bondi(Bondi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
217
167
60
44
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
167
60
44
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish and chipscontinental breakfastbeautiful locationwedding receptionsouth headharbour vieworder at the bargreat spotferry from circular quaygreat roomking bedstayed for nightsstaff were lovelyyogurtsaturday nightmid weekmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
457 - 462 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

As a local, we have shared this venue with many overseas visitors. The location & views are iconic. Yet sadly this establishment is not the same since its change of ownership. The renovations are lovely, but less casual & more hoity-toity. The service is shocking. We recently dined there for lunch & had to ask twice for the music volume to be lowered - we were not enjoying the experience at all. One positive: nice lunch menu & the food never disappoints. But enamel dinnerware? Umm. Not sure we will be rushing back anytime soon.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank SAinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Firstly I am a local and not only have I stayed here on multiple occasions, I also frequent the other areas of this property such as the pub, the outdoor bar, etc.
I have written about the hotel rooms before and want to keep it to the other areas.
1. They have an ATM on site that is just out the side door in a very dark portico at the top of the stairs and no lighting what so ever. The dumbest and most dangerous area for this and right at the top of the stairs (again no lighting or no bulb in the light)
2. The toilets that service both bar areas has 3 stalls and three wash basins. One basins tap ware is literally falling out of the sink. This area (the womens but have heard the same is true of the mens) is never serviced, will you find no toilet paper, no soap, no paper towel and a hand dryer that does nothing. Not only this but throughout the evening it gets filthier and yet no one ever goes to check on them or service them.
3. The food.........pretty bad and the service worse.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaila F, Manager at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are constantly improving our venue and it is only with honest and valuable guest feedback that we are able to do so.
Regarding our ATM, this is usually lit by the Public Bar when these doors are open. I have passed on your concerns regarding this and we are currently looking into some additional lighting there.
The cleanliness of the bathrooms has also been addressed internally and we now have staff cleaning and checking the bathrooms every half hour at a minimum. We are also having new soap dispensers and paper holders installed this week. There is also an additional bathroom inside our Sunset Room that you may not have been aware of as well as another in the hotel reception area.
I apologise that you were not impressed by the food or service and would welcome some more specific feedback on this so it can be addressed with our team. Being a casual dining venue of our size, we are not serviced like a restaurant, however we still expect that all customer interactions are friendly and polite so I apologize if this was not the case.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Harbour View Room (111) ridiculous at $350 a night. An absolute waste of our traveling time. Nice room BUT:

ROOM EXTREMELY NOISY FROM ADJOINING Bar and Eating areas.

HARBOUR VIEW was obstructed by roof of Bar.

NO PRIVACY, unable to open curtains as people in Bar can see into room.

Falsely advertised. Staff disinterested. Shame the designers didn't think about double glazing!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Empire-eating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaila F, Manager at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the noise you experienced. Room 111 is a lovely Grand Harbour Suite with a large deck with dining table. It is, however, since the refurbishment more obstructed by the top deck and very close to this outdoor dining area. We are very conscious how we allocate this room on weekends in future. It is a fabulous room for those who wish to be part of the action and entertain on the balcony overlooking the harbour, however , it can experience noise fro the Beach Club.

We agree that the double glazing option is a good idea and we are looking into this.

We value your feedback and thank you once again for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

You need to choose your room carefully. First floor harbour view rooms are just above the bar and outdoor eating areas, which are very noisy.
We had a very late night prior to arriving so were looking forward to some rest which would have been impossible at this floor level. We were offered a change of room to a park view room with twin beds. This turned out to be a car park view. Not very happy about this at all. We canceled the accommodation and went to Q Station instead.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ClassicMX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaila F, Manager at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise. As you are probably aware the Watson Bay Boutique Hotel underwent some major refurbishment late last year in our dining areas (not accommodation). The result has been that the venue has become a hugely popular dining venue. Whilst this is highly desirable it has on occasion brought with it some noise complaints. As the business is relatively new it has encountered some teething problems especially related to noise which we are working to resolve. Please rest assured that we have made improvements to systems and room allocations which is alleviating these problems.

For other guest wishing to stay at the hotel it should be noted that Saturday and Sunday are the busiest days of the week and those most likely to encounter busy periods. This does however create a very vibrant, lively and enjoyable atmosphere on most occasions. For those seeking tranquillity we recommend our Watson King room overlooking Roberston Park. Please note that the Harbor View Rooms are more prone to noise as they overlook the Beach Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I arranged to meet family here, but when we arrived the tables were dirty. We sat down but the smell of gasoline from the barbecue was awful, so we moved and asked for a cloth to clean the tables and chairs. The price of drinks is unbelievable.. $85 for a bottle of Cloudy Bay! The food was nearly inedible, over priced again and the worst meal I have had on this trip to Australia. I looked for someone to complain to but all the staff are very young and busy. I think that as the place is a tourist trap no one cares whether people return as there is always another ferry full of passengers and tourists, I would never go there again, and suggest you avoid this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews