We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay!”
Review of Anglesea Rivergums

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anglesea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anglesea Rivergums
Ranked #2 of 3 Anglesea B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at the cottage for 2 nights in February and loved everything going about our stay. We had booked directly with Joan, who was so friendly and helpful, and when we arrived she gave us directions to the cottage, which is accessed by another road to the rear of Joan and Peters property. The cottage was so well appointed, wooden floors, a full kitchen, a table and chairs, settee and such a comfy bed. Joan had even provided shampoo, cleanser, shower gel and other toiletries. There were 2 seats to sit outside the cottage with views over the very pretty garden. We loved watching the cockatoos at night. Joan had left lots of brochures on things to do in the area. My husband played golf at the Anglesea Golf club, along with the kangaroos on the golf course, and we had a good meal at the golf club the night before. The beach at Anglesea is gorgeous, and we had a wonderful time, thanks very much Joan

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derbylady_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had the pleasure of spending one night here as we drove the Great Ocean Road. We stayed in the Garden View suite. It was very well appointed with a full kitchen, comfortable bed and very clean. Upon check-in, Peter (our host) gave us some restaurant recommendations. We ate at the Golf Club and watched the kangaroos on the golf course during our meal. When we left, we inadvertently left our carry on bag behind and didn't realize it until we got to the airport. Joan and Peter went above and beyond by getting our bag to the post office. Because it contained breakables, they wrapped each item and secured a box. It arrived at our hotel in Brisbane the next day! I offered to pay Joan for the inconvenience but she would take no compensation. This was truly service above and beyond. I highly recommend this B&B if you're looking for a place along the Great Ocean Road. Our travel companions stayed in the river view suite and that accommodation was lovely also. Anglesea is a cute seaside town and quieter than the more crowded Lauren. The town and this B&B are well worth a stop.

Room Tip: Either the Garden View or River View Suites are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VacationLover001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Very nice, we stayed in the cottage which had a shared garden and small kitchen. The rates are very good compared with other places along the Great Ocean Road.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We turned up on their doorstep looking for lodging for the night on our bikes. They were most accommodating and Joan helped us out with some wonderful locations to visit while on the Great Ocean road.

The room was lovely overlooking the river. It had everything you could want in it. Joan even managed to find me a gluten free breakfast option!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwizikle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We spent one night at Rivergums while driving the Great Ocean Road, arriving in late afternoon. Peter was working in the garden, and bid us welcome, then turned us over to Joan, our hostess. She showed us into the front suite, overlooking the river, and we found ourselves in one of the most delightful, well-equipped and comfortable rooms we've experienced in our travels. Although it was perfectly equipped for preparing light meals, we chose instead to eat our meals nearby, and Joan took the time to outline the various opltions within a very short walk, which took us a few steps along the river bank, and up through some pretty woods into a well-appointed shopping area with several options for meals. The value was incredible too. For accommodation only, the price of the suite was $105 - worth every penny.

Oh, and by the way, Joan reminded us to be sure to stop by the golf course before leaving town in the morning and we would be sure to see the kangaroos who live there. We did, and there were loads of them!

Way to go, Joan and Peter!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank osf1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anglesea hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
BIG4 Anglesea Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Anglesea Backpackers
Anglesea Backpackers
#3 of 4 in Anglesea
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anglesea Family Caravan Park
Show Prices

Been to Anglesea Rivergums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglesea Rivergums

Address: 10 Bingley Pde, Anglesea, Victoria 3230, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Anglesea
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Anglesea
Price Range: £65 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two self-contained accommodation types of a high standard and moderate fee, with or without breakfast. Quietly secluded, the front suite overlooks the tranquil Anglesea river and has light meal preparation facilities. Our second accommodation is a cottage with a full kitchen etc. We are close to the shopping centre parks,and beach. Each suite has a Queen sized and single bed. Enquiries welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing