We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surf Coast Victoria - photography walk”

Surf Coast Walks - Day Tours
Ranked #6 of 17 things to do in Anglesea
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover glorious golden beaches,a basking seal,crashing ocean waves, rock pool sea stars or a breaching whale. There is always something to spot! Or a stunning waterfall in the rainforest. Spot a koala or kookaburra! Feel your senses excited by this beautiful place. Come walking near Torquay, Bell's Beach and Lorne on sections of the Surf Coast Walk. Comfortable walking at its best! Yummy gourmet food and coffee, carry just a day pack and all transport and safety are organised for you. We'll guide you safely on our established tours –half day, full-day or multi-day hikes.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surf Coast Victoria - photography walk”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Camera in hand we begin a guided photographic walk in the beautiful Otway Range in Lorne. Rebecca snaps a fern leaf whilst the morning sun is filtered through the large gums. Each of us try to emulate this photo that certainly has the ‘wow’ factor. Colour, aperture, focus mode: great advice is shared between the small group of photographers. We look for koalas and exquisite shots on the Blanket Leaf Walk, crossing the creek, listening for the yellow breasted robins. In the gully we spy yellow fungi and hear the frogs croak. A gourmet lunch is prepared for us and we enjoy the autumnal sunshine. Our photographer guide, Rebecca leads us to the coast at Aireys Inlet and here we take in the magnificence of these grand vistas of ocean and rocky cliff faces and the minutiae of tidal rock pools studded with tiny mussel shells and more exquisite photographic opportunities.
I thoroughly enjoyed my day. Perhaps you too can take a moment to observe nature closely with this team at Surf Coast Walks.

Helpful?
3 Thank MelbourneAcqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina G, Owner at Surf Coast Walks - Day Tours, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed learning more about photography whilst exploring this beautiful coast. Rebecca is certainly a talented photographer and teacher. She is a renowned local artist - photographer and enjoys exploring new places to photograph. This day is less about distance walking and more about finding great photographic moments. Bring your camera and a sense of adventure. We provide the transport, scrummy food, and safety back up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wonthaggi
1 review
“Walking for fun, fittness and education”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Peter(43)

Really recommend this walk. We did the walk from Urquhart’s Bluff at Aireys Inlet along a stunning bit of coast to Eastern View. Even though I was a bit rusty, the walk was ok –not too hard. Because it was low tide we walked along the rock platform and poked around the rock pools –saw some anemones! Incredible how the rocks are formed and the fossils. There’s even an old volcano under the sea. Rebecca, the guide was really good and Surf Coast Walks organised everything –heaps of great food, all the safety stuff and the transport shuttles. I probably wouldn’t of known how the tides worked so that was good. There was one bit where we had to go around the point on the track as the tide was too high there –good to know! Probably would be good to have a continuous track along one section, but we sorted that. Great walk!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina G, Manager at Surf Coast Walks - Day Tours, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
It was a beautiful day for a walk, wasn't it. Glad you enjoyed it. I think that walk in particular is really interesting as it gives you the opportunity to poke around in a rockpool and to spot some fossils. On Monday we found a seal along that section of coast - a really cute young one.
thanks for coming on the walk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Sunshine, Bush Scenery and Wildlife.”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I took a guided walk with my fellow TAFE students and Regina or Surf Coast Walks. The walk was 2 hours long and included a brief overview of the area and some essential bushwalking safety tips before we set off. Staying mostly to the Anglesea area Regina guided us along well made paths through brush and scrub with stunning coastal views. We stopped regularly for water breaks and also to hear about the birdlife and native plant history of the area. The scenery changed on the walk regularly from almost rainforest like surroundings to beach walking and clifftop lookouts. I highly recommend this walk and any other walk with Surf Coast Walks simply becasue they know the area so well and are expertly informed on the flora, fauna and environment of the coast here. I look forward to walking with you again!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank kate d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience, beautiful scenery, knowledgeable guide”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We had a great day, walked from Bell's Beach to Anglesea. Regina was very knowledgeable and easy going, explaining and pointing out flora and fauna including 3 echidnas. There was some hills but nothing too strenuous. The morning tea and lunch was lovely and nothing was too much bother. Highly recommend. I am a local to this area but the other 2 in the group weren't. I learned a lot and was amazed at what I have been living next to for years and not really appreciated.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surf Coast Walks - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Surf Coast Walks - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing