We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't Imagine Anything Better!”
Review of The Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Garden Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Monterey B&B and Inns
Waynesboro, Virginia
1 review
“Couldn't Imagine Anything Better!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My family needed a place to celebrate our parents 65th wedding anniversary. What a blessing when we discovered The Garden Inn at Bee Rock just 20 miles from where our folks live. It was an easy trip for them, and a wonderful spot for the 18 of us coming in from 4 different states. We booked the Inn for two days and we were treated to elegant lodging and wonderful food. The accommodations, views, hiking trails, and grounds were amazing! The owners, Mike and Mirtha, helped with the planning so no detail was missed. In addition, their flexibility and hospitality made everyone feel at home. I knew the family was pleased when the question was asked during our final breakfast, "When can we return to The Garden Inn for our next family gathering?" What a wonderful and memorable family gathering.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side have incredible views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
76
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Blissful retreat describes this B&B! The surroundings cozy, decor elegant and tasteful, rooms inviting, in-room fireplace with high flames and beautiful, the view breathtaking, bed/pillows comfortable, sheets/comforter soft and fluffy, water pressure/hot water in abundance, breakfast delicious, coffee outstanding, nature inspiring, quiet serenity, innkeepers Mike & Mirtha very pleasant and accommodating, overall experience valuable and restful. I will certainly be back and in fact, have already booked my next reservation! Thanks for a GREAT STAY!

Room Tip: Upstairs room with incredible view and fireplace was wonderful, but ALL of their rooms are just as l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyRNTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This place is amazing. As they say on their website it is less than 5 minutes from the interstate but feels like you are completely in the country side. It is a beautiful and peaceful place. The owners are beyond gracious and helpful. They spoil you with the hospitality, wonderful breakfast, and tasty evening desserts (homemade pies and cakes!). The inn itself has a breathtaking view and is impossible to describe, it is so unique. On top of that there are wonderful little walks all around the Inn. Though there are many beautiful state parks nearby, don't neglect what is right there on the property. The rooms are cozy and immaculate. The best B&B we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was the first time I have ever stayed in a Bed and Breakfast. My girlfriend has stayed at B&B's before and she found this country mountain jewel for us to stay in while on our TN journey. We were running late for arrival, so we called and Mike and Mirtha to let them know we would not be there for at least an hour. They said " no problem, we will see you when you get here". I am a landscape designer, and I most definitely noticed how immaculate the grounds were landscaped and maintained.
Upon approaching the front door, Mike graciously opened the door and greeted us. He and Mirtha asked us what time we wanted coffee ready in the morning, asked if we had any dietary restrictions for breakfast, and then provided us with wine glasses to sit on the balcony and enjoy the spectacular vista and unwind.
Mike is a coffee connoisseur. He really "talked up" the excellent blend of coffee he offered and he did not disappoint. Mirtha made the most incredible breakfast beginning with fresh cut fruit, orange juice and then served us omelets, sausage and French toast with our choice of maple syrup and homemade blackberry preserves. We cannot say enough good about The Garden Inn.
Make sure to see the water feature on the bottom floor...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flfitguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bon Aqua, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My wife & I spent our 32nd anniversary weekend at this bed & breakfast. We were very pleased & enjoyed our stay here. Scenery is fantastic (see pictures). Food was delicious while being nutritious. Owners & staff were friendly & helpful in all ways. Rooms are clean & comfortable and each one has something special about it. Would gladly come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I have stayed at the inn twice now and hope to go back. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is that, as other reviewers have mentioned, the TV is tiny; also, the jacuzzi, while lovely, is just a little small for two people. Honestly, though, those are extremely small quibbles, because you know when you stay here that you're coming for the phenomenal, one-of-a-kind view. It doesn't get much better than that! The bed was super-comfortable and the entire place was very clean. We loved Mike, the proprietor. He is so friendly and helpful with recommendations. (We always eat at Mauricio's when we are in or around Cookeville and are never disappointed.) The breakfast is solid and served in an orderly fashion. I wholeheartedly recommend the Garden Inn to travelers of all sorts and can't wait to return myself!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HwaetWeGardena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The Garden Inn was the best Bed and Breakfast of the 15+ inns where we have stayed from Florida to Maine! Tastefully decorated, spotless, comfortable, quiet! Being sensitive to odors, I was thrilled with the pure clean air rather than a perfumed scent of candles. It was a joy to awaken to the aroma of coffee brewing! Breakfast tasted delicious! The keepers were wonderful! The grounds and view are spectacular!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey
9.2 mi away
Travelodge Cookeville
Travelodge Cookeville
#9 of 18 in Cookeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
12.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#2 of 18 in Cookeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 12 in Crossville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
16.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Crossville
12.0 mi away
Best Western Thunderbird Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Inn

Property: The Garden Inn
Address: 1400 Bee Rock Rd, Monterey, TN 38574-3253
Region: United States > Tennessee > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of a Cumberland Plateau bluff, enjoy a romantic stay with a fantastic view of the valley below. Relax on 15 magnificent mountain acres with hiking trails & picturesque foliage. Our guests tell us they wish their home was as clean as our Inn. We specialize in corporate, church & family retreats and Traditional & Destination Style Weddings. Let us host your exclusive use event! Just five minutes off I-40 BUT a whole world away... At The Garden Inn, breakfast IS the second half of our name! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your The Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing