We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now THIS is one fabulous B& B!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Garden Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Monterey B&B and Inns
Indiana
1 review
“Now THIS is one fabulous B& B!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

You feel right at home from the minute you get there. Greeted at the front door, chat a bit about the amenities and then shown to your room - no paperwork or check-in business. Our room was beautiful, with locally handmade furniture, great pillows and beautiful view. After a long day of driving, we were tempted to skip dinner and stay in, but their recommendation of an intimate Italian restaurant was intriguing and we were not disappointed with the delicious dinner and super service. Mike had gourmet desserts waiting for us back at the Inn - the Chocolate Decadence was to die for. After more yummy gourmet dishes at breakfast the next morning, I curled up with a book on the sofa while my husband took a nature walk out to Bee Rock. All-in-all a lovely stopover we highly recommend. The staff could not have been more accommodating at this beautiful Inn tucked back in the woods. Picturesque.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
75
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nashville, tn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

It is located on a rock plateau with immediately access to a 5 minute walk with stunning views. The room was very clean and had a fantastic whirlpool. The breakfast was great & Mike was very accommodating with his suggestions for local fare. I would definitely recommend it! The only reason it got 4/5 on rooms is I wish there was a room with a King bed.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattie8613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville, nc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

We arrived early in the afternoon in a downpour and had planned to meet friends for a picnic outdoors before checking in. Since it was raining we checked in and asked if we could sit and visit our friends in the common room. This was acomodated with friendliness and offerings of snacks and beverages.
The Inn was very clean and very beautiful, both inside and out. There was a feeling of peacefulness. The weather was raw and cold, but the Inn felt like a warm and inviting home. We had personal attention and service, from shopping for special dietary concerns for breakfast to making extra strong coffee in the morning. Every effort was made to make our stay personable and pleasurable.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stayingcalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emthomasjr
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

Other than the need to update the A/V equipment, the property is immaculate. This is the only reason why I gave it a 4/5 on rooms, because the rooms are otherwise beautiful. The plateau view is indescribable and the property waterfall and pond are beautiful. We stayed in the Sunflower room, and the view from the room was great, the in-room fireplace as-advertised, and the room pristine. The value is outstanding. It is very easy to get to, literally minutes off the highway, but the secluded setting is as advertised. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emthomasjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Tn
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

What a fantastic place to stay, excellent hopspitallity, beautiful accomidations and a very relaxing atmosphere. Mike made our entire stay very enjoyable. We are looking forward to returning later this fall as the leaves begin their change.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmjmobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, TN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

We came to The Garden Inn on our wedding night, and were running a little late (having come straight from our reception). We were immediately escorted to our room with very little "fuss" and were very impressed with it's cleanliness and beauty. We will definitely take a weekend to come back and have more time to enjoy this fabulous place. Thank You.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Tx
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

We had a wonderful time with Mike and his great staff. Before arrival Mike mapquested our family reunion down the road to help with directions and offered assistance with restaurants. When we arrived it was so nice to have fresh homemade cookies and a spotless room and bathroom. Each breakfast was superior and my 10 year old enjoyed the gourmet breakfast too. The dessert each night was a delight and we never missed a night without stopping on the balcony and having dessert. It was also a pleasant surprise that each night our beds had been made and the bathroom was fresh with clean towels. The B & B is lovely, warm and welcoming. We plan to come back and wouldn't dream of going any place else. After our great 3 night stay it made it difficult to stop at a regular hotel on the way home to Texas.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmomshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey
9.2 mi away
Travelodge Cookeville
Travelodge Cookeville
#9 of 18 in Cookeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
12.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#2 of 18 in Cookeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 12 in Crossville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
16.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Crossville
12.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Inn

Property: The Garden Inn
Address: 1400 Bee Rock Road, Monterey, TN 38574
Region: United States > Tennessee > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of a Cumberland Plateau bluff, enjoy a romantic stay with a fantastic view of the valley below. Relax on 15 magnificent mountain acres with hiking trails & picturesque foliage. Our guests tell us they wish their home was as clean as our Inn. We specialize in corporate, church & family retreats and Traditional & Destination Style Weddings. Let us host your exclusive use event! Just five minutes off I-40 BUT a whole world away... At The Garden Inn, breakfast IS the second half of our name! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing