We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When you just need somewhere to sleep” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barwon Heads Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barwon Heads
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barwon Heads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Barwon Heads B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“When you just need somewhere to sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were in Barwon Heads for a golf tournament at 13th Beach and just needed somewhere to sleep as we spent all day at the golf course. Keep in mind that this is just a pub. You probably won't find better for $110/night. It is ideally located, everything is close by and an easy walk to the main street or the water front. Our room was clean, tidy and fresh. It was serviced everyday after we reminded them on the second day that we were staying more than one night! The room had an ensuite (small) tea/coffee making facilities with dishes so you could do your own muesli for breakfast etc. The bed was reasonably comfortable. The TV was fine but did not have Fox so we could not watch golf, cricket etc. (Fox was available in the pub downstairs but it was too noisy and uncomfortable to sit and watch TV for very long.) As others have mentioned, you can get a lot of noise in the rooms especially on Friday (band until midnight) and Saturday (DJ until 2:00am) nights but we knew about this beforehand and we did still manage to get to sleep. The pub does a lot of business in its dining/bar area. The food is good but expensive. You pay restaurant prices for food and wine but have to put up with a lot of noise etc. There are other (but not that many) places to eat in Barwon Heads and we would recommend Annie's Provodores (on Hitchcock Ave) for good quality food and ambience at a reasonable price and At The Heads Restaurant (aka Diver Dan's place) on the water.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_C_Senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    42
    19
    10
    13
See reviews for
20
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We spent a few hours on a very hot afternoon. Our group was one of many settling in for good food and great aiconditioning for a few hours. The service was friendly and was table servicxe as it was a busy day. Nobody bothered us being there for a few hours. Great gluten free food options too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AALtravelbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I know that accommodation is not the core business of this hotel - and this shows through when you stay here.

We stayed overnight during a family event in town. To their credit, the management warned us of the likelihood of noise from the pub downstairs when the booking was made. It was good of them to do that.

The room itself was very ordinary. Small bed, small room, small bathroom. There were tea and coffee facilities, a small TV, and not much else. It's old, simple, pub-like accom - but without prices to match!! The whole place reeks of underdevelopment - the accommodation certainly hasn't kept up with the times.

The worst thing about staying here is that, once the pub closes, there's no-one around to ask questions. For example, we found out first thing in the morning that there were no towels in the room. A simple housekeeping mistake - but made worse by the fact that there's no-one there first thing in the morning to help out! There's no reception area, no telephone numbers to call. You're on your own! So unfortunately I can't tell you what the shower is like!!

The rooms are armed only with a fan to battle the heat - but all night you're aware of the noise of air-conditioners - but it's air-con for the pub, not for your room! We had no problem with pub noise from downstairs - but the noise of the aircon drove us nuts. I can only imagine what it'd be like there on a hot night. Stuck in a small room, with only a fan, being kept awake by the noise of air-conditioning you can't enjoy!!

In short, if in Barwon Heads for any length of time, hire a holiday house. The Barwon Heads Hotel is good for a night, if that. It's pub accommodation and nothing more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingPeteShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barwon Heads hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
404 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I appreciate that this is just a pub however with the prices charged I believe one should expect better. Lunch was a quick one on a week day and all we wanted was a couple of glasses of wine and two entrees.
We started with the dips and apart from the fact the quantities where very small the quality was poor with the French Onion obviously from a pack. It was served with some rocket etc that was so wilted it must have been embarrassing for the chef to even use it.
The other entree we shared was oysters natural that had been badly shucked as there was many many pieces of shell remaining in them.
The staff were friendly and prompt but let down by the kitchen. Sitting outside is pleasant on a fine day and the dining room also looked nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stopped at the barwon heads hotel on Sunday for lunch. We sat on an outside table as the weather was beautiful. Service was good as soon as we were seated we were asked if we required drinks and the girls were back within 10 minutes to take our order. I had the Thai fish patties very tasty and highly recommended. My partner had the chicken Parma in which he enjoyed. Excellent value for money. Highly recomend

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayleneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a fairly large group of team members from the Masters Games. We arrived with short notice! and were well catered for. Excellent food and service. Meals were well presented, from a comprehensive menu, and were delicious. Good value, friendly atmosphere, and stunning views of the river.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hakuna710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latrobe valley australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The room was pleasant warm and clean with a nice ensuite bathroom and a good view of the river .Dinner was included and this was excellent . The staff were friendly and the service good , excellent value for money highly recommended

Room Tip: try the lamb cutlets on the dinner menu
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barwon Heads
2.1 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
6.6 mi away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
9.3 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seahaven Village
Seahaven Village
#2 of 3 in Barwon Heads
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boat Ramp Motel
Boat Ramp Motel
#2 of 2 in Ocean Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
7.1 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barwon Heads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwon Heads Hotel

Property: Barwon Heads Hotel
Address: 1 Bridge Road, Barwon Heads, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3227, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Barwon Heads
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Barwon Heads
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Barwon Heads Hotel Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing