We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barwon Heads
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barwon Heads Caravan Park
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Have camped her a number of times. Easy access to the surf beach and the river beach, great for families with tennis courts, playground and the local footy oval right in the middle of the park.

The toilet block we used was recently renovated and you now need a key ($20 deposit) to access it. The 5 minute shower limit is fine and helps save water. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms_hannahmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

My partner and I stayed in a deluxe cabin in early July. Lovely cabin that had everything u needed, very clean throughout. The only downfall of the cabin was the very firm bed, could be a lot comfier!
The pub right across the road is a bonus :) I would definately recommend this park to all and we will definately be back :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cazncorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Great location for camping and be great in summer but to the bad news very poor customer service the staff and security could exceed in being less descrimative stereotypical against the younger generation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cam158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I stayed in a beachside cabin at this site for 2-3 days and it was fabulous. Lovely cabin, really comfortable and well appointed, super location, quiet, good parking.....everything we needed with excellent shopping close by. The local IGA was excellent for groceries, wine and so on.
Thoughtfulness had been given to disabled folk who may like to stay at the cabin which was really nice to see.
If you want a mini break or long stay by the sea/river then please do try this caravan park.It's fab!

Room Tip: Cabin 533 is super, right on the sea/river front...probably all the cabins are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank limpet3119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

On a "Sea Change' nostalgia trip, dearly wanted to stay in two-bedroom Laura's Cottage. We were encouraged to take "The Boathouse" next door as we needed only one bedroom. Disappointed at first but after day one, no such feeling. A superb view of the river, Bob Jelly Bridge across to Port Deakin and Diver Dan's boat shed, now a wonderful restaurant. The boathouse had everything on hand: a well-equipped kitchenette, compact sitting room with tele, roomy bedroom and a superb bathroom and air-conditioned comfort. Best of all was the front verandah with deck chairs and table for those sun-kissed breakfasts after an early morning walk along the beach or for sipping a Bellarine wine while watching the sunset reflected in the sea. Laura never had it so good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clydebank5354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed the weekend at Barwon Heads caravan park in a 2 bedroom cabin.

The cabin was better appointed that I had expected and was very comfortable. We were attending a wedding at the 13th Hole Resort and the caravan park was a cheap and comfy alternative to the resort, which was less than 15mins drive away.

We only used the main bedroom which had a firm but comfortable bed. The shower was excellent with great water pressure. The kitchen had everything you might need, with a fridge, cooker and plates, cutlery and cooking pots & pans.

The cabin also had a porch out the front so you could watch the AFL football being played on the football field right out the front of the cabins on Saturday.

It was also a perfect spot to relax with a glass of wine and some nibbles after a hard day of sightseeing, especially as you can see the water/bay in the distance.

There was a BBQ on the grassed area outside of the cabin & a picnic table.

Across from the cabin was also a laundry block with washing machines & dryers if you wanted to do any washing.

Opposite the entrance to the caravan park is a pub, which we didn't go into, but look quite nice.

There is an IGA in Barwon Heads itself should you need any groceries and the main street of Barwon Heads has lots of cafes & shops

We flew into Tullamarine and it took around 1 1/2 hours to get to Barwon Heads.

We also visited the 12 apostles, but drove straight to Port Campbell which took about 2 1/2 hours, rather than driving down the Great Ocean Road, which takes longer. This means you miss some of the scenery, but is a good alternative if you are strapped for time like we were.

If you want to explore the other side of the bay, catch the ferry from Queenscliffe (about 15-20mins drive from Barwon Heads) to Sorrento. Cost was $69 for the car and 1 passenger and took about 45mins to get across the bay to the other side.

We drove back to Tullamarine by getting the ferry to Sorrento and then driving up the coast. It was an amazing drive, the scenery is absolutely stunning on that side of the bay and you can see all the beach huts along the multitude of beaches on that side.

.

Room Tip: Visit the 12 Apostles if you have time, it's well worth the drive. It takes about 2 1/2 hours if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Dekoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed in 1br boathouse which was just beautiful, great views with everything you need on hand. Thought we'd died and gone to heaven after camping for 10 days UNTIL we went to bed! The bed had the hardest most uncomfortable mattress ever. You would hope that the bed would be comfortable for the amount of money that the boathouses cost- not a hard thing to get right! Just love the position and views but PLEASE fix the beds. Would love to come back but the bed in our camper is more comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barwon Heads
0.4 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
6.5 mi away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
117 reviews
7.1 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Riverside Ocean Grove
Riverside Ocean Grove
#1 of 2 in Ocean Grove
59 reviews
5.0 mi away
Big4 Bellarine Holiday Park
Big4 Bellarine Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Marcus Hill
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seahaven Village
Seahaven Village
#2 of 3 in Barwon Heads
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barwon Heads Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwon Heads Caravan Park

Address: Ewing Blyth Drive, Barwon Heads, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3227, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Barwon Heads
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Barwon Heads
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barwon Heads Caravan Park is located on the picturesque banks of the Barwon River, where the river meets the sea. Every site is within a short walk of the water’s edge. Enjoy a leisurely stroll around the Bluff Lookout to 13th Beach. Fish from the jetty or beaches, rock pool ramble around the base of the Bluff at low tide, swim in the river estuary or meander across the bridge to the beautiful surf beaches at Ocean Grove. We have Beach Houses, Boat Houses and powered sites with absolute water frontage, cabins and powered sites with beautiful views out across the park with the ocean in the distance, budget cabins or unpowered bush camping sites, there’s something to suit everyone. Being just a short stroll to the Barwon Heads township, with an ever-increasing range of restaurants, cafés and shops, there’s no need to drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barwon Heads Caravan Park Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing