We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the comforts of home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rose Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose Cottage
Ranked #11 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Mornington Peninsula
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I, with our 13 year old son, booked one night at The Rose Cottage, and when we saw the place we wanted to stay another night. Unfortunately for us, due to its popularity it was sold out. The port and chocolates on arrival made us feel totally at home. The gardens and interior decor provide guests with hours of interest making it clear that the owners have invested a great deal of time to make you feel as though you are a part of the 1800's - right down to the beautiful crockery and cutlery used for a delicious cooked breakfast.

As others have said, the location is within an easy walking distance of the main street which is very convenient if you just want to stroll the shops and local sights. We certainly recommend The Rose Cottage.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boadecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Rose Cottage has been operating as a B&B for over 20 years apparently, and the friendly owners know exactly what they are doing and provide a very good level of service. It's personal, but not intrusive.
Rose cottage is located near the main drag - but well placed in a quiet side street, so avoids any noise. The house has four guest rooms, each with its own en-suite and decorated with a slightly different Victorian era "theme." Breakfast is extremely generous, served around a large communal table, where you chat to other guests. In winter the lounge room has a wood fire roaring, although the house also has very effective central heating. Beds are big and comfortable.
The Victoriana mentioned by other reviewers might not be to everyone's liking - I find it a bit TOO cluttered - but the furnishings are clearly the owners passion and sort of become the trademark of the place. I've stayed twice and would happily do so again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

My Wife and I satyed 2 nights in this wonderful little B&B just off the main street in Beechworth. The house is decorated very much in the Victorian style and it was interesting just walking through and looking.

We stayed in the Ivory room which was very clean with excellent attention to detail. I am a big unit (6'4") but I found the wrought iron bed to be very comfortable, as did my wife - so comfortable we both nearly slept in past breakfast. The ensuite was spotless and well appointed.

Breakfast was excellent. My only complaint would be that even at lunchtime I was too full to try the pies Beechworth is famous for. Tony and Lyn were perfect hosts, Tony welcomed us when we arrived and showed us around but then retreated and left us to our own devices. He was also very helpful in answering questions and directing us to points of interest around the district.

The rooms were very quiet. There were other guests staying when we were there but the only time we saw or (more importantly) heard them was at breakfast.

I have no hesitation recommending The Rose Cottage and would definitely stay there again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RELTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

Fabulous location and quaint accommodation. The Christmas decorations inside and out were outstanding. A pleasure to visit. Breakfast very well done too.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank froggyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

Stayed just one night in the Tudor Rose Room. It featured dusty pink tones and a spa bath in the en suite. We weren't tempted by the spa but found the small side private verandah just the place for an afternoon gin and tonic. The location is perfect and the street really did quieten down once darkness fell.

Enjoyed a home cooked breakfast the next day and chatted with the other guests. We would stay at The Rose Cottage in future and recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

Beautiful B&B in a pretty setting, just one street back from shops and restaurants Everything about this house was excellent including the yummy breakfasts .. thoroughly recommend it!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

This charming cottage B&B claims to be Beechworth's original bed and breakfast and has been run by it's owners for the past 24 years. The 1800s building is located a street down from the main street so is quiet but within easy walking distance of everything you'd like to see in this Goldrush town.

There are four rooms within the B&B, each has its own ensuite, one of which has a spa, and is decorated individually with rose themes. The rooms have iron beds (mine was one of those really high ones you want to take a running leap at!!), tvs, dvd players and small room heaters. My room (cant for the life of me remember the name of it) had a sitting area in an alcove which was fantastic.

As well as the in room heaters there was central heating which made the room feel like an oven as soon as I walked in and I thought it would be like that all night and totally unbearable despite being the middle of winter. Fortunately it wasnt on long and the temperature settled very quickly.

The living room was cosy and had dvds to choose from and a lovely fire to curl up in front of.

The breakfast room was one large table around which all the guests sat at their chosen time. This was a great way to do things so that you got to know the other people staying there as well as having someone to chat to if you were on your own like I was. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful - cereal and a cooked breakfast.

The B&B offers a rate for a single which I appreciated.

Parking is out the front.

  • Liked — charming, excellent service
  • Disliked — the heat of the room as soon as i stepped into it
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrawBlether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.9 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Priory
The Old Priory
#12 of 14 in Beechworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Cottage

Property: The Rose Cottage
Address: 42 Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rose Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing