We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in the dollhouse”
Review of The Rose Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose Cottage
Ranked #12 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A night in the dollhouse”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

An impromptu stop over during our usual one day drive between Melbourne and Sydney brought us upon the Rose Cottage. Having not been able to secure a place in a number of other booked out venues, we saw this listed in the local Tourist Guide, but it is a gem. What appears to be a home nesselled behind a wonderful VIctorian-style garden is actually a very cosy guesthouse with so much to see.

We stayed in the Cameo Rose room, one of only 4 rooms in the house, which had so much on the walls and duchess that we were still noticing things as we were leaving the next morning. Teddy bears, dolls, vintage Pear's Soap framed pictures, paintings of children with cats, dogs, dolls, potpourri, marble sinks and copper pipe showers; you'd be mistaken in thinking that you'd stepped back in time, if not for the television and clock radio.

We were gifted with two free drink vouchers for the Hibernian Hotel across the road, which offered nine different variations of Chicken Parmi (Thursday and Sunday night at time of writing, for only $14.95), which was an easy solution to dinner in an unfamiliar town. The shared lounge area was complete with books, magazines and a roaring fire, which was a pleasent surprise on the brisk evening. The breakfast the next morning was a nice change to the traditional cook-yourself previsions, and was just the thing to start the day of our return drive.

At only $135, it was a very nice experience that we wouldn't hesitate to repeat when we are in town next.

Room Tip: Contrary to first opinions, the dolls do not come to live in the night, nothing to be worried about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

we stayed two nights......lovely and quiet.....very comfy bed......lovely breakfast......everything clean......nice antiques/collectables around the house........teddies and dolls in many places around the house.....our hosts were friendly .........(.check out the stars in beechworth at night........the milky way is so clear!!..).............. thanks for the stay!! :)

Room Tip: we stayed in Cameo Rose Room which is the last room and would be quieter........lovely little sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maz670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have stayed at Rose Cottage many times
It is absolutely delightful - very good location, filled with antiques, lovely gardens, wonderful full breakfast.
Tony and Lynn are great hosts
I would highly recommend staying at Rose Cottage
Fay Chamoun

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parischantelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We overnighted in Beechworth on our way elsewhere. I rang mid-afternoon to see if they had room and we ended up in the spa room for the regular price, just with the request not to use the spa in the large attached bathroom. The front garden is full of roses and other flowers; the back garden, overlooked by the breakfast room, is also lovely. It is very Victorian (as someone else says) and a real experience. Our room was very comfortable, the cooked breakfast was generous and tasty and The Rose Cottage is extremely well located close to the centre of town. We are likely to return to Beechworth sometime to look around more, and will certainly consider Rose Cottage.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flight2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The photos posted by others in TA give you some idea of what to expect, but the reality is still pretty overwhelming - in a nice way. Totally over the top Victorian-themed rooms laden with bric-a-brac and various collectibles. Fluffy lace-trimmed pillows on the bed (with a Teddy to look after them), everywhere you look something else to discover. A treat.

Breakfast served by the hosts was delicious and exactly as asked for, taken at a communal dining table with other guests, all of whom had something to say about the decorations in their rooms.

A walk in the cottage garden is a delight - lots of work has been obviously put into making the whole place a bit magical. Sit on the veranda outside your room and take it in.

The main cottage with four rooms is just a short stroll from the centre of Beechworth, so the location can't really be bettered either. All in all, a good address to keep in mind for our next visit to Beechworth.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGumnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I recently stayed at Rose Cottage whilst on a business trip. I was tired of motel style accommodation, so thought that I'd try a B&B instead. During my two weeks on the road, this was by far my most memorable and most enjoyable of my stays. The property is extremely well located in Beechworth in one of the main streets, yet is very quiet. The rooms are gorgeous, spotless and spacious - was a real treat to have a little sitting room attached to the bedroom overlooking the beautiful garden. Tony and Lyn were just wonderful and went out of their way to help with a fax that I needed to receive and send. Breakfast was also delicious - so much better than motel style room service. The room was also very reasonably priced. I would not hesitate to recommend Rose Cottage to anyone and if I return to Beechworth again for business or leisure in the future, would not even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I chose to stay here based on Tripadvisor reviews and so glad we did. It was exactly what we needed: walking distance to town centre, cosy and warm, clean and a full belly of breakfast each time. We stayed 2 nights during the week and felt very much at home. Tony was lovely and inviting and breakfast was no fuss and delcious. Best scrambled eggs I have eaten :-) Cost was also reasonable and I highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in front room (Ivory) which had a little court area outside to sit (or have a smoke).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Priory
The Old Priory
#11 of 14 in Beechworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Cottage

Property: The Rose Cottage
Address: 42 Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rose Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing