We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“conviviality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Freeman on Ford B&B
Ranked #2 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stumbled on this place by accident and we're so glad we did. Apart from it being impeccably serviced, we were so grateful for the social atmosphere that our hosts created. We actually got to interact with other human beings at the convivial breakfast table, or on the terrace overlooking the pool. We were spoilt with food and drinks. We will be coming back in autumn for the open fire and more good ol hospitality.

Room Tip: go for the front rooms overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

Loved our stay at Freeman on Ford. Every girl needs a bit of luxury now and then. Rooms were beautiful and the breakfast divine. Heidi is a superb host. Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Heidi and Jim are truly amazing hosts! The Freeman on Ford is one of the best accommodations we have stayed in. The breakfasts are amazing and we felt at home. We intend on visiting the Freeman again and would highly recommend to all!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieLilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Heidi and Jim are tremendous hosts and made our stay most enjoyable and homely. The Accomodation is absolute first class and no expense has been spared. We would definitely recommend freeman on ford as the best bed and breakfast Accomodation in Victoria!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigandgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We had an amazing 2 nights at the Freeman on Ford. The old bank building is restored and maintained with the respect that it is entitled. Hosts, Heidi and Jim have recently completed an extension mixing modern with the old. Beautiful large bedrooms, magnificent marble bathrooms all overlooking a stunning courtyard with inground pool and lush green gardens.

If you appreciate the "finer" things in life, or just deserve a very special treat, you can not
go past the Freeman on Ford. My husband and I will be going back again.
Maree D.

Room Tip: A room over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maree d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

What fabulous hosts...Heidi & Jim welcomed us as if we were old friends & immediately made us feel at home. We, along with our mates, indulged in divine afternoon teas, port & chocolates, wicked breakfasts, all in the most beautifully restored surroundings.
Our room had everything we could wish for, plus so many special touches...flowers in the bathroom, fine china cups & saucers, books, magazines...
Heidi & Jim recommended places to see/restaurants/ wineries & made bookings for us.
Our weekend was very special & we look forward to returning one day.
Jan & John

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We have just enjoyed an absolutely wonderful weekend (2 nights) with very special friends (two other couples) staying at Freeman on Ford, a stunning and lovingly restored B & B in Beechworth, Vctoria. Our hosts, Heidi Freeman and Jim Didolis, made us all feel so welcome and we quickly developed a warm relationship as if we have known them for a very long time rather than having just met. Our room was warm and comfortable and the decor beautiful with much attention to detail. The extra little touches such as nibblies with our wine before leaving for dinner and on arrival "home" port and chocolates were waiting for us. We enjoyed a delightful breakfast each morning with endless cups of tea and coffee. We were treated to delicious afternoon tea with freshly cooked cake and slices. This beautiful accommodation is located in the town with easy access to the shops and the famous Beechworth Bakery. We enjoyed our stay very much and hopefully will return one day. Rhonda and Ian.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.8 mi away
The George Kerferd
The George Kerferd
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#1 of 14 in Beechworth
565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeman on Ford B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeman on Ford B&B

Address: 97 Ford St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range: £142 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Freeman on Ford B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the top B&B in Australia in TripAdvisor’s Travellers’ Choice 2013 awards, Freeman on Ford is Beechworth's only 5 Star accredited B&B - and it has held this accreditation since 2005. Freeman on Ford has also won national HMAA awards for Excellence in 2010 and 2011 and is Eco Friendly Accredited. Here you can choose from two options in luxury accommodation - Victorian era rooms upstairs or 1930's style rooms overlooking the private swimming pool downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Freeman on Ford B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing