We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Freeman on Ford B&B
Ranked #2 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had always wanted to visit Beechworth and experience the local atmosphere in accommodation that was central, private and 'très chic' - we found it at Freeman on Ford. We stayed in the Petite White Suite beside the pool which gave us our own special entry and exit to the accommodation, while also enjoying the benefit of waking up and heading out to the pool or spa to enjoy the sunshine. Heidi and Jim were perfect hosts. There when you needed them, but also affording guests a level of privacy. I especially loved my easter egg on Sunday morning - thanks guys - the greatest weekend away!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at Freemand on Ford for one lovely night on the 24th of March. The property is beautifully restored and the owners' attention to detail is spot on. We had a Victorian room upstairs, which was large and had a very nice en suite. The property has a beautiful pool area but it was too chilly to use it on this occasion. We enjoyed talking to the friendly owners and hearing of their journey in restoring the magnificent former bank to its current glory and really enjoyed every moment we stayed there. Breakfast was fabulous- lots of choices and my husband won't stop raving about Jim's omelette! My scrambled eggs and smoked salmon were also very good and gluten free options were no problem for us. Overall, a magnificent property, sensitively restored and immaculately presented by friendly and thoughtful people. Highly recommend for a luxury trip to beautiful Beechworth.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the property are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I would definately recommend Freeman on Ford, it was a wonderful unique experience. We were made to feel right at home. Every detail has been thought of with the decor and facilities. We had a realxing weekend with afternoon tea by the pool and beautiful breakfast both mornings.
Cannot wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My girlfriend and I travelled to a number of places in NSW and VIC during Christmas last year and we stayed in 7 different accommodations in the trip. I would like to take this opportunity to recommend Freeman on Ford.

Freeman on Ford is much more than an accommodation and breakfast. It gives you a unique experience because of the building's history and characteristics, the new owners' careful design of the guest rooms and selection of the furniture that match the whole theme, the personalised service, and the mouthwatering afternoon tea and breakfast.

The unique features of Freeman on Ford that give me long lasting memories include: (1) warm welcome by Heidi and Jim helping us with parking and luggage, proactively giving tips for tourism and briefing us about every aspect of our stay, (2) gourmet afternoon tea on arrival, including homemade cheese cake with berries served in the spacious and elegant living room over-looking the pool, (3) two bed settings for day and night - before we went back from dinner, the bed was made to the setting suitable for us to go to sleep directly without arranging the pillows and quilts by ourselves, (4) classic and luxury furniture and linens rarely seen in other 5 five accommodations, and (5) customised breakfast served in a formal dinning room with the opportunity to socialise with other guests in the morning - you have a lot of options to order your favourate cooked breakfast items.

The only downsides are that you are not allowed to take photographs as stated in the terms and conditions, so I don't have photos to share here, and you may find it difficult to find Freeman on Ford for the first time (for one hand our GPS led us to another place and for the other the trees in front of the building have grown blocking the building so you can't clearly see the building from the car, and it took us a while to finally get to Freeman on Ford). I would suggest them update the photo on their website's home page so that other first-time clients can find the building easily.

Overall, I would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I was traveling for business and stayed at Freeman on Ford. The accommodation is as good as any five star city hotel but with personalized service. Every detail has been thought of - from the outdoor pool toilet and pool bar, to the Sheridan white towels, the perfect pillows and pillow menu right down to a sink plumbed into the closet for water for kettle / drinking. I stayed in the petite white room which is out back near the pool. Gorgeous room and I liked that I had my own space. Amenities were immaculate, central heating/cooling in the room, robes , slippers, tea/ coffee making facilities , good TV and even an electric blanket!! The morning breakfast was lovely, Jim makes a great omlette and quality of food was excellent. Heidi and Jim made me feel welcome and are so hospitable but they still gave me my own privacy and space. Would definitely recommend Freeman on Ford and its worth spending a bit more to stay here if you like the finer things in life.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Freeman on Ford during our trip to the picturesque town of Beechworth. Our hosts, Heidi and Jim, are obviously very passionate about their business and made us feel very much at home. They went out of their way to ensure that we had a very relaxing time which, sitting by the pool with a glass of bubbly, was not very hard to do. We would certainly stay again at Freeman on Ford and we can highly recommend it for delightful accommodation if you are thinking about visiting Beechworth and its surrounding area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Thank you so very much Heidi and Jim for a fabulous experience. Your hospitality was above and beyond the norm, and we thoroughly enjoyed all the history and treasures that Freeman on Ford has to offer. We look forward to a return visit :) Vanessa & Glenn Crowhurst

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.8 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#1 of 14 in Beechworth
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeman on Ford B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeman on Ford B&B

Address: 97 Ford St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range: £152 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Freeman on Ford B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the top B&B in Australia in TripAdvisor’s Travellers’ Choice 2013 awards, Freeman on Ford is Beechworth's only 5 Star accredited B&B - and it has held this accreditation since 2005. Freeman on Ford has also won national HMAA awards for Excellence in 2010 and 2011 and is Eco Friendly Accredited. Here you can choose from two options in luxury accommodation - Victorian era rooms upstairs or 1930's style rooms overlooking the private swimming pool downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Freeman on Ford B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing