We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two night getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Freeman on Ford B&B
Ranked #1 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

heidi and jim were excellent hosts. nothing was too much trouble, from the excellent breakfasts to afternoon tea. the room we stayed in was full of period features and spotlessly clean.
we are planning to stay again next year because we loved it so much.
Ken and Deb

Room Tip: we were shown all the rooms and they were all equally beautiful
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear K and D, thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us. It was lovely meeting you both and we are so glad that you stayed and I hope to send you details when I can re your family. xx H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Freeman on Ford B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Thank you to Heidi and Jim for a wonderful couple of days in Beechworth. Both were very warm, welcoming, professional and knowledgeable about the area and its history. The B&B has been lovingly restored but has all the mod cons (including wifi) and off street parking. Our upstairs room was quiet, had a brand new & spotless ensuite and very comfortable queen sized bed. Classic decor but not a spec of dust to be seen. The breakfast and afternoon tea were great. We'll definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear A & K, thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again. Sorry it has taken a while to respond; I had replied back earlier, but must have forgotten to press "submit".!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Heidi provides a very personal experience and the property exudes an exclusive and intimate atmosphere. I had the privilege of staying at Freeman on Ford for one night recently during a warm and balmy few days in Beechworth.

Heidi suggested the room on the Pool Terrace. Given the balmy evening and the alluring pool outside the door I could not have wanted a better place to rest for the night.

The Pool is large and I used it before dinner, before bed and before breakfast. What a treat.

Heidi was there behind the scenes anticipating my needs and attending to them seamlessly without ever intruding. Her professionalism in this regard is of the highest standing.

This property provides an experience well beyond a star rating system. It is unique. I look forward to the next opportunity to stay at Freeman on Ford in the very near future.

Room Tip: The Room on the Pool Terrace is my favourite. It is next to the Pool and isolated from all other Ro...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRTripAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

I am so glad B that you used the pool 3 times during your one night stay ! That is fantastic. It is certainly a draw card. Your praise about the personal service and unobtrusive hosting, is very appreciated. It was my pleasure meeting such a gentleman. Kind regards, Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I cannot imagine a better place than Freeman on Ford to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary and to experience Beechworth and its surrounds. We travelled from interstate and we were not disappointed. Not only is the accommodation luxurious and so very comfortable (we stayed in the silver room), but Heidi and Jim are the perfect hosts. Their warmth, helpfulness and depth of local knowledge all combined to make our stay one of the very best. Heidi very thoughtfully had a bottle of sparking wine in our refrigerator for our celebration as well as a hand-crafted card and gift. What a lovely start to our stay to share the wine on the terrace overlooking the pool. Nothing is too much trouble; five stars don't seem enough for the wonderful stay we had at Freeman on Ford.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are generously sized with beautiful marble bathrooms and overlook the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDR_248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear C & B, What wonderful guests you both were and it was delightful having you both. We were honoured that you celebrated such a wonderful milestone with us. It was very gratifying to know that you appreciated this lovely part of the world.. Thank you for sharing such a special time with us. Love H You came so far...from Queensland and it was the least we could do to help make your time memorable. Love to you all and we wish you every happiness you deserve. xx H and J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were so overwhelmed with the attention to detail that was given to every aspect of our stay. The level of service was outstanding and the surrounds gorgeous. We stayed in the gold room and enjoyed the luxurious yet comfortable accommodations. Heidi & Jim made our stay in Beechworth extra special with amazing gourmet breakfasts and afternoon teas and port & chocolates on the veranda over looking the inviting pool as a after dinner treat. The Freeman on Ford is in the heart of the town in very close proximity to shops, restaurants and museums yet feels in a time of its own when you step in the front doors. Could not have asked for a better place to stay or better hosts.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

It was wonderful to meet such enthusiastic guests such as J and V....they ventured everywhere from tours around town both night and day and were always smiling and cheerful..It was really uplifting to be near you both and you made our job so easy as you were so friendly. Thank you :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My 2014 visit to Australia was for business and leisure but I couldn't visit the lovely continent without a trip to Beechworth.
From arriving to departure I was made very welcome and felt very much at home. Heidi and Jim have invested a lot of their lives into Freeman on Ford and as a visitor, I got to enjoy their results. It's fantastic.
Beechworth is a lovely town with great history. It is set in a beautiful part of Victoria and a highlight of my visit resulted from my comment "I haven't seen a kangaroo.....!"
Jim and Heidi then organised for my loss to be remedied and one evening we went to the edge of town and witnessed kangaroos grazing and drinking at a water hole. It was brilliant.
Nothing seems to be too difficult when visiting this truly lovely establishment. This was my third visit and I hope one day to go back for more. Truly 5-star or better..!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Bob, thank you for "shouting" us dinner and being such great company. I am glad I deducted your generous gesture from the bill without you knowing...ha, ha, tricked you! But wasn't it a great time had by all!? Thanks for traveling so far to see our wonderful town and I am sure we will do it again. Love to you. Stay positive. You have overcome huge setbacks; well done & God bless xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a wonderful time we had. Your attention to detail Heidi is impeccable. Breakfast amazing, afternoon tea overlooking the pool (life does not get better then that). Massage and beauty treatments in your room by the amazing Bec. (Don't forget to book her). We stayed in the beautiful silver room overlooking the pool, couldn't have been more perfect. Dear Heidi your home is amazing (so are you)and thank you for sharing it with us and making our anniversary so memorable .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lisabrett65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Manager at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Lisa and Brett, It was great celebrating together and I am so glad you had such a memorable time. It was also wonderful to see how relaxed you both were and thank you for the wine! Love H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.8 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Graces Beechworth
The Graces Beechworth
#6 of 14 in Beechworth
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeman on Ford B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeman on Ford B&B

Address: 97 Ford St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range: £150 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Freeman on Ford B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the top B&B in Australia in TripAdvisor’s Travellers’ Choice 2013 awards, Freeman on Ford is Beechworth's only 5 Star accredited B&B - and it has held this accreditation since 2005. Freeman on Ford has also won national HMAA awards for Excellence in 2010 and 2011 and is Eco Friendly Accredited. Here you can choose from two options in luxury accommodation - Victorian era rooms upstairs or 1930's style rooms overlooking the private swimming pool downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Freeman on Ford B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing