We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freeman on Ford B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Freeman on Ford B&B
Ranked #1 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I were only to spend one night at Freeman on Ford as we were returning to Sydney from Melbourne but wished to break the journey in Beechworth which had been recommended to us.
Heidi was a most gracious host from the moment we rang to arrange the booking until the moment we left. She showed us around the property on arrival and made a recommendation and booking for our dinner at a beautiful restaurant just across the road. Our room was modern, fashionable and well appointed. We would have like to enjoy a leisurely breakfast but it was eat and run. Heidi
arranged to have our breakfast cooked outside normal times and it was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble.
On our next visit to Freeman on Ford we will be certain to allow more time to enjoy the hospitality more.
Fred B

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Fred, it is my pleasure and thank you for your warm comments. It is always gratifying to meet lovely and easy going people. I was only sorry that your wife had a bad cold. Sincere wishes, H & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
326
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My partner and I recently spent two nights in Beechworth at this lovely B & B. The owners have lovingly restored an old bank and the dwelling behind it, giving lots of attention to detail. The accommodation is varied depending on your choice of Victorian or modern. We were very comfortable in one of the upstairs Victorian rooms and also highly recommend the afternoon teas and the breakfasts. This was a lovely place in autumn with the trees wearing their beautiful colours, but we can imagine a summer break here would be super as one could use the beautiful pool and its surrounds. Heidi and Jim, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wizbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Another stay that exceeded all expectations. Heidi and Jim put on a complete experience that never fails to impress. Freeman on Ford is a must if you want the perfect retreat in such a beautiful setting, with the old convent having been restored with such detail it is a true delight to stay. Freeman on Ford makes any stay at Beechworth memorable.....we will indeed return to this incredible location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I took my husband to the wonderfully indulgent Freeman on Ford for his birthday last weekend. Heidi made our stay absolutely perfect in every way from the gorgeous and decadent Victorian room to the beautiful afternoon tea, and of course the 'prepared with love breakfast'. The luxurious Freeman on Ford is perfectly situated and we spent our time in Beechworth enjoying the lovely shops, wonderful food and watching the stunning autumn leaves fluttering to the ground. Of course Heidi's fine attention to detail makes a stay in this elegant property a divine experience. We look forward to returning very soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights enjoying the luxury of Freeman on Ford. Located on a gorgeous tree-lined street and close to everything you need to make your stay perfect. A large beautifully fitted out bedroom with all the comforts of home and a huge and well equipped bathroom which will satisfy the most fastidious guest. Walking distance to gorgeous restaurants, bars and shops. Heidi and Jim are such endearing hosts, very helpful and informative, nothing is any trouble. The breakfast is divine and very generous. Overall a wonderful and relaxing stay which puts Freeman on Ford up there among the best I have ever stayed at.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Renee1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
R, it was a pleasure meeting you. You inspired me with your fitness and we hope to meet again. Thank you for your very generous praise and we are so pleased you enjoyed Beechworth. xx H &J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was our first visit to Freeman on Ford - something I have been wanting to do for a very long time and I was not disappointed. The rooms are luxurious, scrupulously clean and warm and the best thing is that the bed is comfortable!!! And the doona - so thick and warm!! We wanted for nothing - Heidi provided a scrumptious afternoon tea and breakfast the next morning was delicious and to order!! They have definitely thought of everything you will need and more. We were sorry we only had one night but will definitely treat ourselves again. We found Heidi and Jim to be friendly - very happy to stop and have a chat with us - and they put us on the right track for places to see.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the building get the morning sun and have beautiful deciduous trees right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you Heather & S, for such wonderful praise. It was fun having you both..you are great conversationalists and we look forward to seeing you both again. Best wishes, H and J xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was my third visit to Freeman on Ford and once again I was delighted with both the accommodation and warm hospitality. It was wonderful to experience the new room (wow, if you can, treat yourself to these) and as always, Heidi and Jim were wonderful hosts. And that bed ... luxurious. I cannot recommend Freeman on Ford highly enough - and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Kellie, Thank you and it was great seeing the four beautiful ladies! Great to have you back for the third time...it only gets better. Thanks for your loyalty and helping to organise such a great time. xx H and J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.8 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeman on Ford B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeman on Ford B&B

Property: Freeman on Ford B&B
Address: 97 Ford St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the top B&B in Australia in TripAdvisor’s Travellers’ Choice 2013 awards, Freeman on Ford is Beechworth's only 5 Star accredited B&B - and it has held this accreditation since 2005. Freeman on Ford has also won national HMAA awards for Excellence in 2010 and 2011 and is Eco Friendly Accredited. Here you can choose from two options in luxury accommodation - Victorian era rooms upstairs or 1930's style rooms overlooking the private swimming pool downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Freeman on Ford B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing